We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff,great diving”
Review of The Espiritu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Espiritu
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great staff,great diving”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed 7 nights as part of an organised dive trip with my club, found all staff and management to be extremely friendly and polite and well organised. The room was modern and clean, aircon worked a treat, beds were comfy as. The quality of the dive guides (aquamarine) were exceptional in terms of experience and service. I felt very safe knowing my guide had dived the Coolidge for 21 years thanks to Dave, and every mix of nitrox was spot on thanks to Adam.

Being centrally located was also a plus. I will come back here in the future without a second thought and look forward to having a pool next time! I recommend the day tour to the blue holes and champayne beach - quite stunning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagermikester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    57
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
67
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Simon and Raymon have really turned this place into a viable proposition. The rooms a large and comfortably held (2 per room) our 9 guests. The single balcony room upstairs (3rd Floor) wasn't as big but had the advantage of a balcony looking over the main street. Food in the hotel was Ok and service was hurried on the managers behalf. The rooms had great beds, double and single and every morning I woke feeling refreshed after a good nights sleep. Hot water and a small fridge was appreciated after being underwater all day, a cold one and a hot one, Nice! The breakfast area was large enough and looked onto the new swimming pool and cabana (not expected to be completed until September). The pool is going to be 2.2 metres when finished, very nice to cool off in. I have never been treated as well by Hotel management, yes I have had service and yes I have stayed at the best hotels etc. It's just that the brothers could not have done more, they asked, they obliged, they offered and then they just gave more! Amazing and my group have all vowed to return.

Room Tip: There is a double room (! single bed. 1 double) with a small kitchen and two bathrooms with toilets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We (husband and I) stayed at The Espiritu for 7 nights and were extremely happy with our choice. The owners Simon and Ray provided exceptional customer service - warm greetings, interested in our day and providing helpful tips on tours, food etc. On our last day Simon very kindly offered and then transported me and our 5 heavy bags to the local dive shop (to pick up my husband who was running late) and then drove us to the ferry to make sure we didn't miss it. Very generous of his time and he wouldn't accept payment.

Rooms are clean, spacious and serviced daily, bed very comfy, also has flat screen tv and in built DVD player. You can also borrow free DVDs from reception. Good bar fridge and instant hot water. Air con worked well and we also had a balcony to sit and relax on. The provided clothes horse was also great for our swimmers and towels.

Free wifi and you can access it everywhere in the hotel including your room.

Great location - right in town so close to everything you need / want to visit and about 1 block from Alan Power Dives. Also has an onsite dive shop and secure gear room as well. Even though it's on the main street, we found it very quiet, with no street noise coming in.

Breakfast is complimentary and has a nice choice with fresh local fruit, yoghurt and the usual toast, cereal etc. My husband loved the plunger coffee which stayed hot and the freshly made local lime juice is fantastic. They are foresighted to include vegemite at breakfast for us Aussies who can't do without it.

They have lots of information on tours and can book them for you.

Overall great place to stay and would highly recommend The Espiritu.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opotiki, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We have recently stayed at this accomodation. It is located in the centre of Luganville. Shops, markets, restaurants, banks all within walking distance. The property is being renovated, rooms being upgraded, swimming pool being replaced, entertainment area also being upgraded. The staff are friendly and helpful. Simon The Manager couldn't have been more helpful. He had a wealth of knowledge of what there was to do and how. This made for us a very easy and pleasant stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Broadbillcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

another delayed review: stayed at this hotel for a 4nights, the staff were very friendly and helpful, who always gave me a standing ovation everytime i managed to cross the road. :) beautiful people, beautiful place i loved everything about this place :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SungitNBrat2013escapade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel offered terrific value, location and service. Right in the centre of town, it's easy to access restaurants, shops, atms and tour operators. Our room was serviced daily, everything clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed having a balcony, with clothes horse for drying swimming gear etc. TV, DVD player and bar fridge too.
The hot water took some time in arriving, but got there in the end. We were there during the renovations for a new pool and bar area, and also we couldn't enjoy them ourselves, we could see the great potential of these new facilities. Construction did not bother us at all.
As divers, it was great to have Aquamarine onsite (also fantastic). Ocean King restaurant beneath the hotel was the pick of the places we tried.
Simon is a great manager and if we ever return to Santo (hopefully) we would definitely stay again. It's value for money meant that we could treat ourselves to a few other adventures during our stay in addition to the diving. Would highly recommend, especially after August when all the renovations should be finished.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may get a bit of the nightlife noise on a Friday and Saturday night - but we foun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MantaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The rooms were basic but large and cute. The hotel was not extremely clean how ever we had two bathrooms in our family room which is always handy. The breakfast was simple yet nice, the reception modern equipped with a pool table and living area. The hotel was not quiet due to the construction of a pool, but in a few months the pain of the noise will open up customers to the opportunity to enjoy a brand new pool area. The location was right in town, and a separate restaurant was down stairs offering asian cuisine. The service was the best part of the hotel with Simon begin extremely helpful, helping if there were problems, organising taxis and torus for us and even delivering us sandwiches free of charge to the airport when out plane was delayed. Quick and free wi fi was available as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juju2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
5.8 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 10 in Luganville
116 reviews
5.9 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Village de Santo Resort
Village de Santo Resort
#4 of 10 in Luganville
298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aore Island Resort
Aore Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Aore Island
308 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Espiritu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Espiritu

Property: The Espiritu
Address: Main Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo P.O Box 133, Vanuatu (Formerly Apex Garden Hotel)
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luganville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Espiritu 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Espiritu is a boutique hotel and car hire business in Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. We are conveniently located in the heart of town and is only minutes away from cafes, shops and dive operators. Here at The Espiritu, we offer modern and contemporary rooms that reflect a home away from home. We provide accommodation with rooms to suit all travelers – divers, families, couples, groups and even long term stays. Your second home has never been easier to find! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Espiritu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Espiritu Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing