We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barrier Beach House
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

In summary, we had a wonderfully relaxed time and the first time 8 nights felt like 3 weeks away!
Barrier Beach House is stunningly beautiful, enhanced even further by it's terrific Australian hosts Shane and Shendall.
A central house with extensive decking is surrounded by 3 fares. The house has a cocktail bar, comfy seats and day beds, plenty of books, mags and views to inspire you every minute there. The landscaping is magazine perfect due to Shane's (a landscaper) touch, and the inside home decor also magazine worthy with Shendall's attention to detail.
The hosts will ensure you have a terrific time and will coordinate anything you need - a hire care, a restaurant booking, a massage in your room, a tour...you name it, they will truly gladly organise it.
They do not have a restaurant, so their lovely kitchen staff will only prepare food for guests.
For lunch, they have an assortment of baguettes and other simple lunch menu items. Just perfect, fresh and delicious. Cocktails available during all waking hours. The optional dinner menu has one choice per night, advised in advance by a board in the central room.
They were truly home cooked meals, delicious organic ingredients freshly prepared. I'm vegetarian, but my partner enjoyed outstanding organic beef, pork, chicken or fish freshly caught by Shane. They were not too sure how to cook vegetarian meals, but a few ideas I mentioned were quick to appear on my plate for the next meal - how is that for attention and service!
The fare’s are well equipped and cleaned, all with direct views of the beach.
The beach is beautiful, with white sand and very clear warm water. Several coral reefs are a short swim away and you are guaranteed to see colourful tropical fish. You can use their snorkelling equipment or double kayak free of charge.
Fans in the room are just right to sleep cool and flyscreens on every window means no mosquito nets!
I loved this place and would recommend it to couples wishing to get away or those in need of true relaxation time.
Santo is a beautiful destination with a handful of adventure activities. We did the Mount Hope River Adventure tour – a must, Champagne Beach – cannot be missed, Port Orly – can be missed. Locals are very relaxed happy people. We felt very safe.

Room Tip: Fare 3 does not get WIFI, but Shane was about to fix this with the purchase of a signal booster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
191
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at Barrier Beach House for our honeymoon in December and would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Vanuatu. Santo is so pristine, remarkably untouched, and has plenty to offer. Although we didn't stay in Port Vila, everyone we spoke to said Santo was by far the better island to go to - way less touristy and much better snorkelling!

Barrier Beach House only has 3 bungalows, we stayed in the one set back a tad from the beach. The room was plenty cool enough even in the middle of summer. It was comfortable and always very clean. It makes for a perfect base to see Santo. Although it was great place to stay as a couple, next time I think we'll take a few friends a just book the out the other two bungalows.

The best thing we did was hire the car for a day to go exploring. Visiting Port Olry, Champagne beach, and the blue holes is a must! And even though these are the main attractions in Santo, we generally had these places to ourselves.

The managers Shendel and Shane were fantastic. They were very hospitable and keen to make sure you get the most out of your stay. They have that classic down to earth Australian hospitality that makes you feel like you've been friends for years after 5 mins.

We didn't go with any expectations for great food, but we were pleasantly surprised! You'd have to pay at least $40 in Sydney to get close to their local beef (Shane cooks a great eye fillet) and seafood was as you'd expect from a pacific island.

If you just want to go to commercial resort and sit in a pool all day, this probably isn't the place for you. But if it is you, stop laying around in pools, get out there and experience a stunning place like Santo! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We arrived at Barrier Beach House (BBH) on 7 January 2013 and stayed for 6 nights.

Having flown from Port Vila, we were met by Shane at the Luganville airport, who drove us back to BBH, which is about a 15 min drive. From the moment we arrived, Shane, Shendel and the girls (Flavia, Sofia & Chen), couldn’t have been more accommodating… whether it was Shane taking us to a local kava bar (make sure you wear shoes), Shen organizing a tour for us (Mount Hope River Float) or hiring a car for the day (Port Olry), nothing was too much trouble.

The Fares themselves are relatively simple, well maintained and ours (Fare 1) is literally metres from the beach. Waking up each morning to the sound of the waves and the sun shining through the slats was just amazing.

As per the other reviews of BBH, the beach itself and surrounding islands are absolutely gorgeous, the location is perfect for everything you want to do on the east coast and Shane and Shendel’s home cooked meals are delicious.

We had an amazing 15 days in Vanuatu and BBH (and Espiritu Santo) was definitely the highlight.

Thanks so much guys and keep it up,

Chris & Jayne.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray_Grey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed a week with my wife for our 20th wedding anniversary. Barrier Beach House is a very special place - with each fare only steps from a picture perfect beach. Days went by in a state of relaxation - we both read more than we had in years- and when we needed to cool down we could in seconds be snorkelling in the surrounding coral about 20 metres off shore. Shane and Shendall were perfect hosts and really made an effort to make us feel comfortable. Special mention on our anniversary night - a table was set up on the beach outside our fare and it was simply perfect. We hired the mini bus with another couple staying at the resort and spent a great day exploring Champayne Beach and Jackies Blue hole. So in summary, if you are looking for a relaxing holiday away from the world - my recommendation is to book Barrier Beach House !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieMikeQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed for two nights at Barrier Beach House and we felt just so relaxed and so greatly taken care by Shendel, Shane and their staff. We were travelling in Vanuatu with our three years old daughter who also loved the beach, the provided toys and mostly the numerous little nemos just so close to the beach! Beach House is definitely a great place to have as a base if you are exploring Santo. Shane gives you all the info and help you need for moving around, including info on nice places to eat nearby and on Santo. They also provide great dinners too! As for the house, well it is spotless, comfortable and in perfect harmony with the paradise that surrounds you. We also loved the large bathroom and the so comfortable beds!! Thanks so much Shendel and Shane for such a perfect place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed for a week from the 1st January, 2013 at the Beach House - as there were eight of us, Shendel suggested the house would be suitable - it accommodated us with ease! The house was a complete package with a mini-bus to drive around in and do our own thing which was a fantastic bonus! The house was extremely comfortable and well set out for our family. Having the mini-bus meant we were able to go into town to buy our groceries from the local supermarket.
The location was excellent with an amazing, beautiful beach right at our door which was great for snorkelling and swimming. Another added bonus was the inclusion of the canoes.
Shane and Shendel were great hosts and arranged lovely dinners and great tours; nothing was ever too much trouble. We really enjoyed the Mount Hope Adventures River Float - this is a must do on a trip to Santo.

Thank you for an amazing family stay that we will never forget, we hope to be able to return in the not too distant future.
We would highly recommend the Beach House for families or groups wishing to enjoy a nice quiet location right on the beach. There are great restaurants nearby including Moyyan and Lope Lope. A visit to the Moyyan Day Spa is also recommended.
Santo and Barrier Beach House - Total Paradise!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleK588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks Nest, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

It is a very rare occurrence in one's life to stumble upon absolute and utter perfection in a holiday destination. I can now say that I have found it! Barrier Beach House is one of those places that takes you in and weaves her magic on you from the moment you walk through the house and look out at the pristine waters just 20 steps away.We stayed as a family of 5 and had 2 of the beautiful fares for 7 nights of bliss. Just 15 minutes form Luganville, Barrier Beach House is everything and more that you have read and seen. Stunning beach, awesome snorkelling, plenty of activities for the adventuresome and all the luxuries required for the quiet moments are all right there.Shane and Shen are amongst the nicest people you will ever be lucky enough to meet.They invite you in with open arms and generously give their time and knowledge to make your stay a memorable one. Shane's steak is legendary and Shen's brownies are "to die for"! "Espirtu Santo" is truly an island paradise worth visiting and Barrier Beach House a unique destination.Take my advice, don't miss out on one of life's pure unadulterated pleasures!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeragrO64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luganville hotels
0.0 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
#5 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Beach House

Property: Barrier Beach House
Address: Lot 11 Barrier Beach | East Coast Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Luganville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
#3 Family Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrier Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrier Beach House offers a luxurious, private and relaxed atmosphere to use as your base for exploring the many delights that Santo has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Barrier Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Beach House Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing