We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barrier Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas(Espiritu Santo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lope Lope Lodge(Espiritu Santo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Espiritu(Luganville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santo(Luganville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beachfront Resort(Luganville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aore Island Resort(Aore Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
591
53
9
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
53
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoyyan housegarden farechampagne beachfloor to ceilingour honeymoonboutique resortclown fishthe managersstand up paddle boardsbeach housethe main houseplunge poolsanto beeflope lopethe water is crystal clearoverlooking the beachmountain bikes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at Barrier Beach for 7 nights to relax, read books and unwind and we could not have picked a more perfect place. Shendel, Shane and the staff are the perfect hosts. We spent our time riding bikes to million dollar point, oyster island and rented a car for the day to travel to Champagne Beach. The roads are very easy to navigate, the locals drive slowly and the only dangers are the chooks, cows or locals on the road. You don't need to go too far from Barrier Beach as the water, snorkelling and canoeing at your door step is perfect. We felt we had the place to ourselves, with only 3 bungalows we literally were the only ones around. A great place and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelicityandDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hi FelicityandDe,

Thanks for posting this great review about Barrier Beach House.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. You were definitely up there with our most active guests yet!! I was almost getting exhausted thinking about all your bike riding etc. But it's definitely a great way to see the sights and also meet the locals of the human and animal variety!!

We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We prefer not to go back to the same destination twice. However Barrier Beach House is the exception to this rule. Location is stunning, and Shendel, Shane, their NiVan employees, and their own car that you hire without any stress at all, made this the most memorable holiday.

Barrier Beach House meals were the best we experienced during 10 days in Vanuatu. Cocktails were serious too! The fares were perfect; large, spotless and screened with amazing sea views. We had fares 2 and 3- perfect for adults in one and teenagers in the other. Shane and Shendel happily arranged beds to suit our needs.The sea directly in front of the fares was a beautiful place to swim, snorkel or kayak. We took our own snorkelling gear but didn't need to as there was plently available.

Shane and Shendel could not have been more helpful in making our stay perfect- right from the ease and honesty with the booking process to our checkout.They recommended and booked tours, sites to visit and arranged transers as required. They even changed the menu one night at our request as we really wanted a local seafood dinner. The girls and male staff were all incredibly polite and kind to us also.

In addition to Barrier Beach House itself we found the people of Espiritu Santo the most welcoming we have visited, and each day was packed with activity. My fear that 2 teenagers (15 & 18) may be bored was incorrect. Hiring their car gave us the flexibility to travel the length of the island (request this when you book). We visited numerous pristine blue swimming holes, went on a river float, swam at the perfect Champagne Beach, snorkelled over Million Dollar Point, and generally explored as much as we could in 5 days.

Next time we shall fly direct from Australia to Espiritu Santo. We can't wait! Thank you so much Barrier Beach House. We look forward to trying horse riding, scuba diving and fishing, next time. However it's important to note you can still have a stunning holiday here without actually scuba diving. Espiritu Santo and Barrier Beach House surpassed all expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpaSeeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hi SpaSeeker13,

Thanks for posting such fantastic feedback of our resort!! It's always great to show the staff that their hard work is paying off.

We're really pleased that you and your family had such a great time. Espiritu Santo is a great place to really unwind, but there is also a lot to offer the more adventurous, including 2 teenagers! I knew you'd all enjoy the Waterfall Float, it's a great tour!

There is so much to see and do here that you almost need to book a few extra 'relax' days to enjoy between the activities.

It was great to have you all stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Shane and Shendel made us feel so relaxed from the moment we arrived and the way they are with their guests is truly unforgettable we felt so comfortable whilst there and the staff are so so lovely and very sweet, the meals were wonderful and generous, the prices were very very reasonable as well.
Our Fare was spacious modern and had plenty of storage for clothing and hanging space, also drawers for bathroom requirements which were large and very practical, we came back to our room on the day of our wedding anniversary to find the girls had written happy anniversary 2013 in little pieces of fern leaves on our bed which must have taken so long to do, it was so thoughtful we will always remember that special moment thank you girls.
Overall the this place could not be faulted I would highly recommend this beautiful place and we felt the most outstanding thing at Barrier Beach House were the genuine hosts who are down to earth helpful people who go above and beyond.
Vicky and Darrin

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hi Vicky and Darrin,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We're extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and I've shown May and Yvana your comments about their little 'fern' message on your bed. They both do a great job so it's good to be able to show them such positive feedback.

It was really great to have you come stay with us and hopefully we'll see you back here soon.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

From the first bite of succulent beef to the final crackle of freshly crumbed prawn, Moyyan House is truly a slice of paradise.

The staff were exceptional---always available but never imposing. You feel like you are all alone here, enjoying the crystal clear waters perfect for swimming i.e. you can stand on the soft sand, dive into acqua wonderlands, and snorkel the surrounding reefs all truly within 12 steps of your wonderfully appointed cabin...any number is fine...being here is what counts...

The food is unparalleled---fresh, seasonal and filled with finger-licking goodness---it brings the word 'organic' to shame---everything is fresh and local---the beef, the chicken, the lobster, the calamari, the coffee, the ice-cream, the coconut...you name it and Claudia, the Head Hostess, is mesmerising with her hospitality...

The Chefs, Doreen, Cecilia and Katherine are masters of their domain---FIFTY STAR QUALITY----and trained by the best! And Doreen (head Chef) freshly baked bread with melted butter is to die for!

As if you couldn't get any better, there is also a heavenly spa with two amazing angels Irene and Valentina, that will rub, knead, twist and crackle every ache, sore, headache, pain in every limb, joint and tissue in your body....you will be lavished---their professionalism is comparable with top spa outfits in the West---the Waterlily products they use are amazing...(all natural and chemical free)...

Last but not least, is the beautiful Head Manager Pam--she will make sure that your every need is catered for even before you know you have it...Gracious and Amazing Woman!

Thank you Moyyan----we have found our paradise!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerenaKatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We only had dinner at Moyyan as the resort we were staying at didn't have a restaurant.We walked feeling like intruders but were welcomed like family. We were provided with a great table and the steak was perfectly cooked. The price was more than reasonable.

We returned the next night and had the same fabulous service and welcome.

We will be staying at Moyyen when we return to Santo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2crownies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews