We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barrier Beach House
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I miss it!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Spent 6 days in Santo staying at the lovely lovely Barrier Beach House. Here we experienced the most casual yet professional, friendly, helpful, down to earth couple, hosting a perfect little totally relaxing place to stay. Wonderful food too! Sweet staff. I have not gone away from somewhere feeling that relaxed, ever! (even considering we stayed very active everyday while there) Very impressed that such a place really exists (both the beach house and Santo). What an amazing island! and what a great choice we made to stay at the Barrier Beach House. Very happy. Just Beautiful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi bchicken,

Thanks for reviewing Barrier Beach House and also for choosing us for your Santo stay. We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves. You certainly made the most of all the activities and got to see the best bits of Santo!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
195
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tann
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Location, accomodation and food correspond to the dreamtime of Espiritu Santo. A perfect island setting that met all our expectations. Hopefully this combination of paradise can be maintained in years to come. A great thanks to Shane (Shendell was absent) and the everfriendly staff that cooked excellent meals and sweets that found no competition in any of the other places we tested on Santo. If we ever have the chance to come back to Santo, this will be our choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billtyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi billyson,

Excellent review, thank you so much!!!

It is definitely a special place and will hopefully remain this way for years to come.

We are so glad you enjoyed the meals at Barrier Beach House. Although we only offer a set meal for dinner, by keeping it small it allows us to produce some great quality dishes so we are pleased that you enjoyed them.

We hope to see you again soon someday.

All the best,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Little slice of paradise in Santo, Vanuatu - where the hosts and staff consistently go above and beyond to ensure you're having the best holiday possible. Lovely fare accommodation with sweeping views of the beach. We'll be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Taryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Taryn D,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are keen to come back. There's nothing better in the morning than opening the louvers and watching the sunrise over the water from the comfort of your bed.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Cheers,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We travelled to Espiritu Santo as part of a large family group for a belated celebration of my 40th Birthday, as well as an eagerly anticipated and much deserved break for everyone following a special and eventful 2013 so far.

Three couples stayed at the fares at Barrier Beach House (along with our 3 month baby boy and 16 month old nephew), whilst two additional couples in our group stayed “20 steps in the sand” away at Moyyan next door.

The greatest attribute of Santo is that it is able to perfectly combine the magic components of the ultimate South Pacific destination.

From the paradise of amazing blue oceans (we counted over 50 shades of blue), azure bays, unbelievable blue holes, awe inspiring world class beaches, to the extreme generosity and friendliness of its local people, to being able to stay in very comfortable and relaxing absolute beach-side accommodation without swarms of tourists, and finally to the random magic of adventure which still strongly exists, especially from the surrounding traditional customs, the stories emitting from the scattered World War Two remains and shipwrecks, amazing diving experiences and the never ending ability to simply just turn off the main road and drive down a dusty track to “somewhere else”.

Nowhere else in the South Pacific quite does it like Santo.

It is easy to say that Barrier Beach House made every moment special.

The very remarkable thing is that they allow you to experience the magic of Santo in a secluded memorable place with great support and then offer you even more. I am sure each guest would have different special moments of assistance to reward their stay.

The happiness of the operators and their staff in being part of such a special accommodation facility results in a very enjoyable and rewarding experience for their guests.

The fares are large and very comfortable. Those of us who didn’t partake in the early morning sunrise walks with our new babies commented how this comfort had allowed them to sleep in like never before.

Every moment and scene seemed like a not to be missed photo opportunity.

The beach is a few hops away from each fare and you should embrace yourself for the first glances of its beauty. There are so many available water activities including the ability to snorkel on a number of very high quality house reefs. Yet, there are sun lounges and day beds everywhere to recover from too much ocean with a crisp cold Tusker in hand direct from the kitchen.

The central house and massive deck allowed our large group to share many very memorable and delicious meals without any trouble and with incredible service and dedication. Hopefully, it will not take a lifetime before moments of this quality in such a unique setting will be able to be shared again.

The inevitable twinge of sadness that departures can bring is always a sign that you have stayed somewhere remarkable at a special place with people that care. So the feeling that we all felt the next day upon returning home could only be mitigated by the knowledge that we left Barrier Beach House wanting to experience it all again soon and that it only takes one click of the “Book it Now” button on your computer to return once more.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DeepintotheBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi DeepintotheBlue,

Sorry for my late reply to your review however I actually missed getting to meet you as I was in Australia for the past few weeks. I just wanted to say that we really appreciate you taking the time to review our property and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much. It's the perfect location for a small family get together and we always like to make it feel like this is your house to enjoy. We are just here in the background to help things run smoothly.

Shane said that he loved having you all here and hopes that you'll be back again sometime soon. Hopefully then I can meet you all as well.

All the best,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Thank you so much Shendel and Shane for an absolutely awesome holiday experince. From the moment we walked in we felt like we were in paradise and we couldn't wipe the smiles from our faces until we had to leave. The rooms were lovely - couldn't believe the views from bed, it was great that everything is so close so we could put the kids in bed and still hear them while we kicked back enjoying the company of the other lovely guests at dinner - dinners were so yummy - much better than at port vila. The beach was sensational and we made the most the fantastic snorkelling, kyaking, windsurfing, swimming, swinging on the tyre, shell collecting etc. Tom loved being my personal tour guide paddling out to the snorkelling spots and dropping the anchor while I checked it out. Thanks for organising the visit to the village to see the wonderful water music ladies and the great waterfall trip which we loved and pointing out all the other sights to visit. We just loved Champagne Beach with that gorgeous turquoise water all to ourselves and the coconut crab at the restuarant on the beach at Port Olray. Was so amazing to see dugongs just 10 metres out from your beach - what a treat. You made us feel so welcome and we will definitely be back to enjoy your piece of paradise again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hi Kirsten,

Thanks for writing such a great review about BBH. It was so enjoyable having your family come and stay with us and i'm pleased that you got to see the Dugongs who are regular visitors to our bay. And seeing your husband and the children enjoying the windsurfer (at the same time!!) was a bonus! I don't know how he kept the sail up with 2 pairs off hands hanging off him.

We're so glad that you were able to all relax and enjoy the best of Santo and hopefully we'll see you back here again very soon.

Cheers,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful five nights at Barrier Beach House. The location of Barrier Beach House is magical, quiet and very relaxing. Beautiful trees sweep right down to the water, and the beach is one of the nicest we saw on Santo (many of the other resorts around Luganville have no beach and are too close to the town, which can be quite smokey from rubbish burning). Other people staying at the same time as us saw dugongs which apparently visit the reef just outside quite regularly, but we unfortunately missed them.

The fares are very comfortable and well sized. The use of local thatching on the roofs and native hardwood timbers makes the accommodation really fitting for the environment as well as being beautiful. The Barrier Beach food was well prepared by the lovely local staff, and Shane cooks a mean local eye fillet steak. Shen's brownie is also not to be missed.

Shane and Shendel were great hosts and provided us with heaps of suggestions as well as booking us all of the activities we were interested in. We also hired the little blue van for a day to drive up the coast for a day (snorkelling at Champagne Beach and eating lobster at Port Orly were amazing). Millenium Cave Tour, diving the Coolige and Million Dollar Point are also quite spectacular.

Barrier Beach House is a truly excellent place to stay and we were very sad to leave. I really hope that Shen and Shane can keep up their very high standards when the three new fares are completed, as the personal service and quiet surrounds of this property make it very special. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swhits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hi Swhits,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us!! We're so glad you had such a great time, you certainly packed in the activities and got to see the best parts of Santo. Just a shame you missed the Dugong. You'll just have to come back again!! Maybe come and check out our new, luxury fares when they are finished - from May 2014!! And I promise we'll still have the famous 'brownie' on the menu for you when you return.

All the best,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I visited Barrier Beach House for the first time in October 2012 and loved it so much we came back again in April 2013.

As the name suggests you are right on the beach and what a beach it is! Facing east, you get lovely sunrises but the trees provide plenty of shade during the hottest parts of the day. Plenty of coral and marine life to explore right at your doorstep.

The accommodation comprise fares (we stayed at Fare No 3 on both visits) made with a mix of traditional materials. Full length louvered shutters on three sides provide privacy and good airflow. Fixtures are simple but stylish and bathroom is large enough (good water pressure).

The main "house" is the hub where you can eat and chill out with a large covered deck, chaises. armchairs to relax in. Food is good with a couple of choices for lunch (a hamburger and Tusker beer please!). Dinner is more like a good home-cooked meal rather than a restuarant but suits the place perfectly

So far so good and I haven't mention the best part - the hosts Shane and Shen. Both from Australia, the couples' casual, easy-going yet attentive style makes you feel like you are staying with friends rather than a hotel. Local staff are always friendly and helpful

A simply wonderful place to stay

Room Tip: Fare 3 is next to Moyan resort but is still private and quiet. Direct views to water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hi Robert L,

What a great review!! Thanks for taking the time to write about your holiday experience for our future guests to see. It's been great having you both stay with us and I'm looking forward to your next visit which I believe is quite soon!!

All the best,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
0.0 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
326 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 10 in Luganville
112 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
11.0 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
201 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Beach House

Property: Barrier Beach House
Address: Lot 11 Barrier Beach | East Coast Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Luganville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
#3 Family Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrier Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrier Beach House offers a luxurious, private and relaxed atmosphere to use as your base for exploring the many delights that Santo has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barrier Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Beach House Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing