We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrier Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barrier Beach House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
1 review
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights here in October. Wow what a great place.The beach is one of the best in santo.
The host Shane & Shendel are great people, so friendly. They organized a day trip on the east coast for us even lending my husband an esky with ice for his beer.
The food here was great, we went somewhere else 1 night but must say we should have ate at barrier house.
Barrier beach house was definitely a high light for both of us & we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktm08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi ktm08,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Very much appreciated. It's a great way for our future guests to see what they can expect at Barrier Beach House and points out some highlights for them. A drive up the East Coast is definitely a must and always made better with an esky full of cold beverages!!

We're really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you back here again soon.

Cheers,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
185
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at barrier beach for our honeymoon in October after visiting Port Villa and Tanna and it was absolutely perfect. We don't have one thing that we didn't love about the place. Shane and Shen are the perfect hosts and you feel like you are staying with friends. The staff that work there are so friendly and happy.
The rooms are big and very comfortable with a beautiful view of the water.
Santo is a beautiful island and the cave tour is a must!
We left feeling so relaxed and will be going back for sure!

Oh and the sticky date and brownies are the best!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolamcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Nicolamcrane,

So glad to hear that you had such a good time with us. We absolutely loved having you guys come and stay with us for your Honeymoon and are pleased to hear that you returned home relaxed and rested. Our work here is done!!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best for a wonderful marriage ahead!!

Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Barrier Beach House in October 2013. We wanted a very relaxed, laid back holiday and that's exactly what we got! The fares at Barrier Beach House are right on the beach. We stayed in fare 3 which is supposed to be the "furthest" off the beach, however it was only 10 steps to the beach. Perfect. You easily could fall asleep to the sound of waves lapping on the beach. The ocean is a beautiful clear blue, warm, calm and clean and a delight to swim in! The beach was so peaceful, with hardly anyone around! The sand is white, and photographs you take look like it's somewhere out of a magazine.

The Barrier Beach house has a main house where the dining room, communal deck and lounge area are. Shane was a great host who was always happy to help with any questions and queries we had. He gave us a great guide for a day of driving through Santo to find the best beach spots. His staff Sofia and Flavia were so accommodating and made excellent drinks. The food here could not be faulted. We dined in 4 nights out of 5 and we enjoyed every meal, and were always very very full. Make sure you leave some room for dessert as the chocolate brownie and sticky date pudding were delicious (but rich!). The main house has a variety of board games and magazines which are for anyones use. There are also kayaks and plenty of snorkel gear for the guests to use.

The Fare was large, spacious and comfortable. There is lots of ventilation into the room, we never needed to use air conditioning and mosquito coils are willingly provided. The room was nice and clean, and the bathroom was tidy. There is no TV in the fares, not that you need it there, but if you do like to relax in this way then come prepared. Do remember to say hi to "Missy" the cat if you see her wandering around.

Barrier beach house is a short taxi ride from town, and is a nice relaxing base from which to explore the island. We recommend making a trip to Nanda Blue hole, Velit bay plantation and Champagne beach which is a much see (leave plenty of time for this). Shane organised a driver to take us to these spots. If you enjoy diving then the SS Coolidge is what Santo is famous for. Million dollar point is also a great place to Snorkel.

We enjoyed our stay in Luganville, and would recommend Barrier Beach House to anyone wanting a relaxing, peaceful vacation. We had an amazing time at Barrier Beach and wouldn't hesitate to go back if we get the chance to. Thanks to Shane and his staff for a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: Any of the fares on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ihearteurope10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi ihearteurope10,

Thanks for writing such a glowing review about Barrier Beach House. It looks like you made the most of your holiday and enjoyed the best elements of Santo. A tour up the East Coast is a must as you get to see all of the natural beauty of Santo.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your meals at Barrier Beach House. Sophie and Flavia do a fantastic job with cooking and are definitely the best cocktail makers in town!!

And as for Missy, she's currently fast asleep on my desk making it rather difficult to type this response!!!!

We hope to see you back here again soon.

Cheers,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Spent 6 days in Santo staying at the lovely lovely Barrier Beach House. Here we experienced the most casual yet professional, friendly, helpful, down to earth couple, hosting a perfect little totally relaxing place to stay. Wonderful food too! Sweet staff. I have not gone away from somewhere feeling that relaxed, ever! (even considering we stayed very active everyday while there) Very impressed that such a place really exists (both the beach house and Santo). What an amazing island! and what a great choice we made to stay at the Barrier Beach House. Very happy. Just Beautiful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi bchicken,

Thanks for reviewing Barrier Beach House and also for choosing us for your Santo stay. We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves. You certainly made the most of all the activities and got to see the best bits of Santo!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tann
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Location, accomodation and food correspond to the dreamtime of Espiritu Santo. A perfect island setting that met all our expectations. Hopefully this combination of paradise can be maintained in years to come. A great thanks to Shane (Shendell was absent) and the everfriendly staff that cooked excellent meals and sweets that found no competition in any of the other places we tested on Santo. If we ever have the chance to come back to Santo, this will be our choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billtyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi billyson,

Excellent review, thank you so much!!!

It is definitely a special place and will hopefully remain this way for years to come.

We are so glad you enjoyed the meals at Barrier Beach House. Although we only offer a set meal for dinner, by keeping it small it allows us to produce some great quality dishes so we are pleased that you enjoyed them.

We hope to see you again soon someday.

All the best,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Little slice of paradise in Santo, Vanuatu - where the hosts and staff consistently go above and beyond to ensure you're having the best holiday possible. Lovely fare accommodation with sweeping views of the beach. We'll be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Taryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Taryn D,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are keen to come back. There's nothing better in the morning than opening the louvers and watching the sunrise over the water from the comfort of your bed.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Cheers,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We travelled to Espiritu Santo as part of a large family group for a belated celebration of my 40th Birthday, as well as an eagerly anticipated and much deserved break for everyone following a special and eventful 2013 so far.

Three couples stayed at the fares at Barrier Beach House (along with our 3 month baby boy and 16 month old nephew), whilst two additional couples in our group stayed “20 steps in the sand” away at Moyyan next door.

The greatest attribute of Santo is that it is able to perfectly combine the magic components of the ultimate South Pacific destination.

From the paradise of amazing blue oceans (we counted over 50 shades of blue), azure bays, unbelievable blue holes, awe inspiring world class beaches, to the extreme generosity and friendliness of its local people, to being able to stay in very comfortable and relaxing absolute beach-side accommodation without swarms of tourists, and finally to the random magic of adventure which still strongly exists, especially from the surrounding traditional customs, the stories emitting from the scattered World War Two remains and shipwrecks, amazing diving experiences and the never ending ability to simply just turn off the main road and drive down a dusty track to “somewhere else”.

Nowhere else in the South Pacific quite does it like Santo.

It is easy to say that Barrier Beach House made every moment special.

The very remarkable thing is that they allow you to experience the magic of Santo in a secluded memorable place with great support and then offer you even more. I am sure each guest would have different special moments of assistance to reward their stay.

The happiness of the operators and their staff in being part of such a special accommodation facility results in a very enjoyable and rewarding experience for their guests.

The fares are large and very comfortable. Those of us who didn’t partake in the early morning sunrise walks with our new babies commented how this comfort had allowed them to sleep in like never before.

Every moment and scene seemed like a not to be missed photo opportunity.

The beach is a few hops away from each fare and you should embrace yourself for the first glances of its beauty. There are so many available water activities including the ability to snorkel on a number of very high quality house reefs. Yet, there are sun lounges and day beds everywhere to recover from too much ocean with a crisp cold Tusker in hand direct from the kitchen.

The central house and massive deck allowed our large group to share many very memorable and delicious meals without any trouble and with incredible service and dedication. Hopefully, it will not take a lifetime before moments of this quality in such a unique setting will be able to be shared again.

The inevitable twinge of sadness that departures can bring is always a sign that you have stayed somewhere remarkable at a special place with people that care. So the feeling that we all felt the next day upon returning home could only be mitigated by the knowledge that we left Barrier Beach House wanting to experience it all again soon and that it only takes one click of the “Book it Now” button on your computer to return once more.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DeepintotheBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi DeepintotheBlue,

Sorry for my late reply to your review however I actually missed getting to meet you as I was in Australia for the past few weeks. I just wanted to say that we really appreciate you taking the time to review our property and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much. It's the perfect location for a small family get together and we always like to make it feel like this is your house to enjoy. We are just here in the background to help things run smoothly.

Shane said that he loved having you all here and hopes that you'll be back again sometime soon. Hopefully then I can meet you all as well.

All the best,
Shendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luganville hotels
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
#5 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Beach House

Property: Barrier Beach House
Address: Lot 11 Barrier Beach | East Coast Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Luganville
#3 Family Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrier Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrier Beach House offers a luxurious, private and relaxed atmosphere to use as your base for exploring the many delights that Santo has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Barrier Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Beach House Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing