We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barrier Beach House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barrier Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Shendel and Shane were really friendly and welcoming with plenty of local knowledge and advice to getting out and about and the service from the staff was awesome they are all so friendly and helpful , the meals were great , the rooms very spacious and comfy and we had loads of privacy or could go and mingle with the staff and other guests in the dining room when we wanted too, the view is postcard dreamy and beach access perfect for us to wind down into relaxed holiday mode very easily , we really enjoyed our stay and plan to go back again one day.

Room Tip: they all looked good!!!! and all had 3 second access to the beach and dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hi Laura H,

Once again congrats on your wedding and thanks for letting us share the lead up to your special day!! It was so good to see you happy and relaxed before the big day and we were pleased we could help provide you with the perfect spot to unwind.

We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves and would love to have you back again anytime.

Good luck with the many years ahead of wedded bliss!!

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed 7 nights in October and could not fault the resort. It felt like we had our own place with services/ staff. Shane was a wonderful host, always friendly, most accommodating - even to my vegetarian needs (Thank you). The food was really good - no need to go anywhere else. They have Breakfast, lunch and dinner. All fresh and local food. The fare' was so comfortable, spacious, secure and the king bed was excellent (We are fussy!). Views !! WOW. Step right out front of your Fare' and there is the beach and water. I think this is one of the best places to swim. Shane let us use his guest car to drive up the coast and was very helpful on directions, places to see. Picked up from the airport and transfers back by Shane. It was seamless. It made us feel like VIP's. Shane even went above and beyond his duties, finding my lost wedding ring - wonderful ! Thank you, I will tell all good things about Barrier beach House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hi Niki S,

Thanks for writing such a positive review about Barrier Beach House. Unfortunately I didn't get to meet you during your stay but I can see that you were well looked after by Shane and we're both really glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We are very lucky to have such a beautiful place to work and really love seeing all our guests enjoy this little piece of paradise.

We hope you get to come and visit again sometime in the future.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I made our booking for BBH based,almost exclusively, on previous trip advisor reviews. Being a once a year holiday couple, and becoming a little bored with my previous destinations,(Indonesia-Bali, Thailand, Malaysia,etc, etc....) I was looking for the clear blue water of the pacific. I will mention that in all my previous holidays overseas I have been looking for a holiday that will include warm/hot tropical weather, beach, some level of new/international cultural enjoyment, relaxation and rejuvenation...in making my booking with BBH I was deviating slightly from my usual routine...(room service, several restaurants and bar options etc, etc...)
I have never been happier in my choice!
Initial enquires with Shendell had given me confidence in my choice, and on arriving I was overwhelmed by the situation... Aqua water, white sand beach, smiling happy staff and lovely accomodation.
Three fare are currently available with three luxe fare being built as we write this review. All three fare have sea beach/water views, with fare 3 being slightly back from the other two fares and the main house. (Fare 3 a queen size). We stayed in fare 3 and 1 during our stay. All three fares are similar differing only only slightly in view and bed size.
BBH is delightful as it accommodates all types of guest. If your perfect holiday is action and adventure they can help you, if your ideal holiday is rest and relaxation that's cool too! With the latter being our aim we came with high expectations and were not disappointed.
A beautiful,everchanging sea view was our greeting every morning. The cheeky smiles of Sophia or Flavia or Ivana greeted us every morning where we were treated to a lovely breakfast each morning, smiles and giggles were free...Shane or Shen would usually be around for a catch up to see how we were travelling and what our plans for that day might be. Hanging around the house is very convenient with beautiful water and beach right at your feet, coupled with great snorkelling just metres away, lovely beach walks, and reef/coral exploring also an option depending on the tides.
Food?? Excellent. While there is no choice when it comes to dinner, don't let this dissuade you. We ate dinner at BBH every night and were very happy with this. Other guests occasionally tried other options and usually came back early and indicated they should have stayed at BBH. Lunch has a good selection of what you usually want in a tropical setting(salad,sandwhiches,hamburgers and chips etc) If BBH opened to the public for meals they would be full every night.
By the end of stay we felt like we were leaving friends.
Espírito Santo is truly a tropical paradise, and the champagne coast (East) in particular quite beautiful. Every variation of blue/green on display when looking at the water. In our seven day stay it rained twice, typical tropical downpours that gave us ample time to relax in our rooms or the communal lounge.
Champagne beach is a must do! As is the blue hole off oyster island. You won't be disappointed. As mentioned earlier Shane and Shen know the island very well and will help you out whenever they can. They are a wonderful couple who put every guest at ease with their laid back charm. We cannot thank everyone at BBH enough! "Two tuskers please!" We will be back!

Room Tip: All fares are good! Possibly 1 and 2 may get more sea breeze, but 3 is a little more private if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hey Margaret W,

What a fantastic review!! Thanks so much!.

You have pretty much covered everything in this review including our great staff. I love it when I see their names in the review as well. They do such a great job and I love being able to show them that all their hard work is paying off. I'm also glad you mentioned the meals as the girls have really been developing their skills lately and the food they produce is top quality.

They also said to say 'hi'. I think they enjoyed your company as much as you did theirs!!

It was great to have you come and stay with us and we hope we get a visit from you again very soon.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights here in October. Wow what a great place.The beach is one of the best in santo.
The host Shane & Shendel are great people, so friendly. They organized a day trip on the east coast for us even lending my husband an esky with ice for his beer.
The food here was great, we went somewhere else 1 night but must say we should have ate at barrier house.
Barrier beach house was definitely a high light for both of us & we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktm08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hi ktm08,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Very much appreciated. It's a great way for our future guests to see what they can expect at Barrier Beach House and points out some highlights for them. A drive up the East Coast is definitely a must and always made better with an esky full of cold beverages!!

We're really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you back here again soon.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at barrier beach for our honeymoon in October after visiting Port Villa and Tanna and it was absolutely perfect. We don't have one thing that we didn't love about the place. Shane and Shen are the perfect hosts and you feel like you are staying with friends. The staff that work there are so friendly and happy.
The rooms are big and very comfortable with a beautiful view of the water.
Santo is a beautiful island and the cave tour is a must!
We left feeling so relaxed and will be going back for sure!

Oh and the sticky date and brownies are the best!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolamcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Nicolamcrane,

So glad to hear that you had such a good time with us. We absolutely loved having you guys come and stay with us for your Honeymoon and are pleased to hear that you returned home relaxed and rested. Our work here is done!!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best for a wonderful marriage ahead!!

Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a superb place to stay! Absolutely sensational in every respect.....the accommodation lives up to all the fantastic photographs, the location is perfect - secluded yet close enough to get into town if you need to, the food is perfect, and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone interested in a great standard of accommodation in the best location on the island.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jax10082016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Barrier Beach House in October 2013. We wanted a very relaxed, laid back holiday and that's exactly what we got! The fares at Barrier Beach House are right on the beach. We stayed in fare 3 which is supposed to be the "furthest" off the beach, however it was only 10 steps to the beach. Perfect. You easily could fall asleep to the sound of waves lapping on the beach. The ocean is a beautiful clear blue, warm, calm and clean and a delight to swim in! The beach was so peaceful, with hardly anyone around! The sand is white, and photographs you take look like it's somewhere out of a magazine.

The Barrier Beach house has a main house where the dining room, communal deck and lounge area are. Shane was a great host who was always happy to help with any questions and queries we had. He gave us a great guide for a day of driving through Santo to find the best beach spots. His staff Sofia and Flavia were so accommodating and made excellent drinks. The food here could not be faulted. We dined in 4 nights out of 5 and we enjoyed every meal, and were always very very full. Make sure you leave some room for dessert as the chocolate brownie and sticky date pudding were delicious (but rich!). The main house has a variety of board games and magazines which are for anyones use. There are also kayaks and plenty of snorkel gear for the guests to use.

The Fare was large, spacious and comfortable. There is lots of ventilation into the room, we never needed to use air conditioning and mosquito coils are willingly provided. The room was nice and clean, and the bathroom was tidy. There is no TV in the fares, not that you need it there, but if you do like to relax in this way then come prepared. Do remember to say hi to "Missy" the cat if you see her wandering around.

Barrier beach house is a short taxi ride from town, and is a nice relaxing base from which to explore the island. We recommend making a trip to Nanda Blue hole, Velit bay plantation and Champagne beach which is a much see (leave plenty of time for this). Shane organised a driver to take us to these spots. If you enjoy diving then the SS Coolidge is what Santo is famous for. Million dollar point is also a great place to Snorkel.

We enjoyed our stay in Luganville, and would recommend Barrier Beach House to anyone wanting a relaxing, peaceful vacation. We had an amazing time at Barrier Beach and wouldn't hesitate to go back if we get the chance to. Thanks to Shane and his staff for a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: Any of the fares on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihearteurope10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi ihearteurope10,

Thanks for writing such a glowing review about Barrier Beach House. It looks like you made the most of your holiday and enjoyed the best elements of Santo. A tour up the East Coast is a must as you get to see all of the natural beauty of Santo.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your meals at Barrier Beach House. Sophie and Flavia do a fantastic job with cooking and are definitely the best cocktail makers in town!!

And as for Missy, she's currently fast asleep on my desk making it rather difficult to type this response!!!!

We hope to see you back here again soon.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
0.5 mi away
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
66 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#7 of 9 in Luganville
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#5 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
212 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
#5 of 9 in Luganville
67 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 9 in Luganville
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Beach Resort

Address: Lot 11 Barrier Beach | East Coast Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu (Formerly Barrier Beach House)
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luganville
Price Range: £133 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrier Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrier Beach House offers a luxurious, private and relaxed atmosphere to use as your base for exploring the many delights that Santo has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barrier Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Beach Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing