We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Towock Restaurant and Bungalows
Reviewed 9 January 2013

It was the best place we stayed in Vanuatu!

We really enjoyed staying at Towoc Bungalows. Janet is perfect host, helpful and attentive.
Bungalows are traditional and airy, made of wood and coconut leaves. Very simple - but you will have all needed! We enjoyed every minute of staying at Towoc Bungalows

The bathroom and toilet are located in a separate hut - which is absolutely fine
We felt such a harmony with nature. Located on a beautiful beach, only 2 minutes to popular Champagne beach (access is free for Towoc guests).

We also loved dining at Towoc Restaurant. We had fish with coconut sauce and it was delicious

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oladrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

The two bungalows are located right next to a very nice sandy beach on a ground with a lot of palm trees. Snorkelling is excellent around the half island towards Champagne Beach. This is a quiet and peacful place to relax. No supermarkets, no internet. 3 or 4 days should be more than enough. Single incl. breakfast costs 2500VT. If you are not scuba diving and don't want to stay in Luganville you can take the bus from Peter (the owner) who leaves from Luganville downtown around 3pm. Peter's bus is easy to spot as it is marked with Towoc Bungalows. He runs from Towoc Bungalows to Luganville at 7am and runs his bus service in downtown until he returns back to Towoc at 3pm. The fare should be 400VT one way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airbus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Janeth and Peter and family run these lovely bungalows fronting Towoc Beach, around the corner from Champagne Beach. The bungalows are airy and comfortable. The facilities are fairly basic: shared toilet and shower hut with bucket wash and flush, but these are kept beautifully clean. An attractive garden runs from the bungalows down to Towoc Beach, where there is good swimming and wooden seats in the shade for gazing out to sea.

Guests at Towoc have free use of Champagne Beach, as Peter’s family are the kastom owners. We also enjoyed swimming at Towoc beach out the front of our bungalow, and at Lonnoc Beach (can walk through the water from Towoc beach).

Janeth and family made us feel very welcome at Towoc. We attended church service with the family followed by a visit to the local blue hole for a refreshing swim. Towoc Bungalows are prefect for people wanting a relaxing stay in well-maintained locally run bungalows.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SampsonSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Towoc Bungalows are locally owned and operated and if you're looking for an authentic niVanuatu experience in an idyllic location, this is hard to beat. We saw the new year (2012) in here, and even if money was no object, there is nowhere else we would rather have been.

There are two single room bungalows built in traditional materials: coral and woven bamboo walls with natangora palm thatched roofs. They're decorated with brightly patterned calicos and fresh flowers, and each bed has a mosquito net. One bungalow sleeps 4 (one double and two single beds) while the other sleeps 3 (one double and one single). Linen and towels are supplied. There is a separate island-style ablution block or "smolhaos" consisting of two bucket toilets and a bucket shower, absolutely immaculate. A generator provides electricity for a couple of hours in the evening and fresh water is collected from a spring on the beach.

The hub is is a small restaurant with a bar area. Meals are simple and hearty, made from fresh local ingredients and served up in generous portions. Our hostess and cook, Jeaneth, coped admirably with the unexpected revelation that we were vegetarians. We have it on good authority that the organic Santo beef is sublime.

The bungalows are set in a large grassy paddock dotted with coconut palms and populated by the occasional herd of cattle, dogs, pigs and chickens. It's edged by a shady coral and white sand beach the provides safe swimming. The world-renowned Champagne Beach is a five minute stroll down the road and as Jeaneth's father-in-law owns it, guests at Towoc Bungalows don't have to pay the 2000 vatu (USD 22) entry fee.

But the thing we appreciated most was the wonderful, caring service we received from Jeaneth. We were welcomed to the bungalows in true niVanuatu fashion as though we were family. New Year's eve was spent sharing "storian" and we left feeling as the though we had made a new friend.

Towoc Bungalows are situated about an hour's slow drive north of Luganville on Santo's newly sealed east coast road. You can arrange to have Jeaneth's husband fetch you from the airport in a truck at a cost of 5000 vatu (USD 55). We paid 4000 vatu (USD 45) a night for our bungalow.

Please be aware that this property is not suitable for travellers looking for high-end resort style accommodation. It would suit people who enjoy camping and wilderness experiences and would be great for families with young children.

Room Tip: There are two bungalows situated one behind the other. Try for the front one which has the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank hc1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pilucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
0.0 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.0 mi away
Village de Santo Resort
Village de Santo Resort
#4 of 10 in Luganville
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towock Restaurant and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towock Restaurant and Bungalows

Address: Champagne Beach Area, Luganville, Espiritu Santo 000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Luganville
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Towock Restaurant and Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Towock Restaurant and Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towock Restaurant And Bungalows Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing