We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Spot of our Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Towock Restaurant and Bungalows
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just returned from a great 2 week trip to Santo - and the three nights spent at Towoc were our favourite. We were in the two new ensuite bungalows (my husband and I in one - 6000vt with breakfast per night - and our adult son next door 3000vt). They were situated in a great position a little removed from the restaurant and right on the beachfront - fresh and clean with a covered verandah at the front. The cold water ensuite was very handy (if not a bit unreliable - an issue the owners will need to sort out - although it didn't bother us on this trip). The bungalows are screened and have mosquito nets but be aware that rats can enter so secure or hang all bags containing food - but they will not bother you otherwise. We loved the chickens, pigs and cattle roaming around and the beach was absolutely gorgeous - the sort of beach with soft sand and the clearest warm water you could imagine. Towok beach was where we mainly swam and snorkelled although Champagne Beach (again beautiful and all to ourselves) was only a few minutes walk away. The next bay in the other direction is Lonnoc Beach and it also looked great - the whole area is wonderful. Janeth and her team looked after us really well. There are no cooking facilities in the bungalows so we ate all meals at the restaurant (we were the only guests during this visit). The included breakfast was substantial and set us up for the day - warm coconut hotcakes which we ate with banana and honey and a tray of tropical fruit plus unlimited tea and coffee. The lunch menu was good with prices from 650vt to 1000vt for lovely dishes, and all evening meals were 1200vt - we felt good value (Wine by the bottle was 2000vt). Truly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return. Many thanks to Janeth and her family and the girls from the hospitality college that helped out. (Note while we rang from Australia to book direct as no email we understand you can contact Janeth via Towoc's Facebook page).

Room Tip: The two ensuite bungalows (close together) are in the perfect location. The original non-ensuite bu...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tripmode33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Towock Restaurant and Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Towoc Bungalows is clean, comfortable, safe and friendly. It is great value for money and Janet will look after you like she is your own mother. All this and it is only 5 minutes walk to Champagne Beach, one of the top rated beaches in the world. If you don't want to walk there you can snorkel there across magnificent pristine coral reef with sea turtles, fluorescent clams and schools of tropical reef fish.
You are very likely to be staying there with only a few other guests, so you virtually have all this to yourself. From your thatched bungalow you can look out the door to Towoc's own beach which is just as pretty as Champagne Beach.
From Towoc you can walk into Hog Harbour and experience life in this region, go to the spectacular blue lagoon and go for an afternoon drive up to Port Olry - all magnificent
This is simply one of the greatest destinations for off the beaten track holidays. Thank you Janet it was wonderful

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbaspinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Judging by previous reviewers, it seems not as cheap as before, 6000 vatu for en-suite, 4500 otherwise per night. Airport pickup on sat was 5000 vt! (got slapped with that unexpected charge at the end, expecting 2000). Food pretty pricey too, think 1200 per dish, but tasty, Janet is a good cook. Water supply unreliable for showering, and cold, but drinkable rain water, we did get travellers diarrhoea, not sure why, maybe cos we tried to drink spring water coming out on beach? Kobe1 cave was nice to see, quite adventurous not for the faint hearted! Only for athletic types! Fridge not always on so if you want cold beers in the evening you may not get that, bit hit and miss on that front. Very scenic however and like the place

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bamboozla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I have been a volunteer in Santo Vanuatu for 15 months & I have stayed at Towoc seven times. It is my favourite place to stay in Santo. The surrounding area of Hog Harbour is simply stunning & being very keen on long distance sea swimming, I just couldn't imagine a better place to swim. The sand is soft & white, the sea a ridiculous blue turqouise & on a low tide the sea floods with fresh aquafied water pouring in from the ground above. To get down on my hands & knees & drink water from the sandline is a unique special treat for me.

My favourite swim is from Towoc Beach to Champagne Beach, about a 2km swim return. Often when I arrive at Champagne Beach (which is free for Towoc guests) I am the only one on the beach, which is special in it self.

The water can be a bit mirky, as the fresh water & sea water combine, but after a long swim it is a delight to swim into the cooling water, that washes over you & refreshes you as you get closer to shore.

Janeth who runs the bungalows & prepares the meals is a great host & very relaxed. Nothing is a bother to her. If you come back late for lunch, she will still cook it for you. If you feel like a fresh green coconut, she will get one of her boys to knock one down.

I also enjoy the unpretentious atmosphere of Towoc. There are chickens, roosters, dogs, pigs, pikininis (children) & sometimes even cows roaming around your bungalow, while you relax outside ... give me this anyday to a "manicured sterile 5 class hotel".

For a single visitor the price is also very reasonable, at 2,500 VT (approx. AUD$25) per night, which also includes a good breakfast.

I can't speak highly enough of Towoc Bungalows & I intend to vist many more times before my 2 year contract is up. Thanks so much to Janeth & her husband Peter, for providing this well priced piece of paradise, to be enjoyed by all

Room Tip: There are two bungalows to choose from. The best one is the one in front, as it has the best uninter...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Think beautiful beach, chickens running around, piglets snuffling about and calves taking their first few wobbly steps outside your bungalow. This locally owned and run accommodation is a lovely way to brush the real Vanuatu. Its basic, but adequate, and totally charming. Janet is a lovely host, great cook, and can organize transport to near by attractions with various family members. Right near chapange beach (free entry if u stay at towoc), good snorkeling, and near by, a stunning blue hole. Our stay here was the highlight of our trip to Vanuatu.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedDirtWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

It was the best place we stayed in Vanuatu!

We really enjoyed staying at Towoc Bungalows. Janet is perfect host, helpful and attentive.
Bungalows are traditional and airy, made of wood and coconut leaves. Very simple - but you will have all needed! We enjoyed every minute of staying at Towoc Bungalows

The bathroom and toilet are located in a separate hut - which is absolutely fine
We felt such a harmony with nature. Located on a beautiful beach, only 2 minutes to popular Champagne beach (access is free for Towoc guests).

We also loved dining at Towoc Restaurant. We had fish with coconut sauce and it was delicious

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oladrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The two bungalows are located right next to a very nice sandy beach on a ground with a lot of palm trees. Snorkelling is excellent around the half island towards Champagne Beach. This is a quiet and peacful place to relax. No supermarkets, no internet. 3 or 4 days should be more than enough. Single incl. breakfast costs 2500VT. If you are not scuba diving and don't want to stay in Luganville you can take the bus from Peter (the owner) who leaves from Luganville downtown around 3pm. Peter's bus is easy to spot as it is marked with Towoc Bungalows. He runs from Towoc Bungalows to Luganville at 7am and runs his bus service in downtown until he returns back to Towoc at 3pm. The fare should be 400VT one way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airbus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
0.0 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lonnoc Beach Bungalows
Lonnoc Beach Bungalows
#13 of 17 in Espiritu Santo
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towock Restaurant and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towock Restaurant and Bungalows

Address: Champagne Beach Area, Luganville, Espiritu Santo 000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Luganville
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Towock Restaurant and Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Towock Restaurant and Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towock Restaurant And Bungalows Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing