We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top location, great service, family friendly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Malvanua Island from the air Free use of kayaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Malvanua Island from the air
Free use of kayaks
Bedrooms have ceiling fans and plenty of screened louvre windows for maximum ventilation.
Your own private beach.
Hammocks, gas BBQ and outside dining table on the deck.
Outside shower so you can rinse off when you come out of the sea.
En suite shower rooms
Turtles nest on the island Nov to Dec, babies hatch mid-late Jan and Feb
We can't guarantee you will see turtles as they nest and hatch at night but they are very cute
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Luganville, Espiritu Santo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise01A...
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top location, great service, family friendly, relaxing holiday destination!”
Reviewed 17 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family had an amazing time at Malvanua Santo is a must see destination. It is remote but still has enough creature comforts to have a great holiday. I'd really recommend a holiday home in preference to a resort. The resorts we saw were quite simple and honestly and understandably meals were reasonably expensive for what was on offer. The supermarket has everything you need for cooking up a storm and sampling the local produce and meats is also a must do experience.

Malvanua Island is owned by Torq and Marianne and they are impeccable hosts. We enjoyed fresh bread regularly from Marianne which we really appreciated and looked forward to. Torq, a Scot, is just a really down to earth man who goes way above and beyond to make sure your stay is great. He does a huge amount of really great work helping the Ni Vanuatuan people.

He met us at the airport, we hopped in his ute ( just in the back tray if you want!) and headed out of town along the east coast of Santo for about 20km, loaded our bags onto a small timber barge which fitted us all very comfortably and motored us across the lagoon to our own home for the week.

Marianne greeted us warmly and had pre stocked our fridge with some items so we could easily BBQ ourselves some dinner and finished off our day of travel with a nice drop of white before retiring to a neat, simple and spacious bedroom with each bedroom having its own bathroom with toilet and shower.

Malvanua has a very homely feel. It's pleasant without being so fancy that you a frightened to let your children touch things! Our family is older, but I remember that feelings of fear that the kids will break some beautiful ornament or dirty a bright white towel with their fishy hands! That isn't the case here. It's comfy and relaxed with a great deck out the front where you spend the majority of your time when you're not out exploring the natural beauty of the island.

Do not stay in the centre of town. I'd strongly imagine you'd be disappointed. The town by Australian standards is really unattractive, basic, rough and on cruise ship days, very, very busy.

The natural beauty is what it's all about on Santo! Fishing was actually quite disappointing. You can't eat what you catch because of a bacterial poisoning risk from the fish. We found it to be very fished out by locals netting and it was too windy to go off shore where fishing is better and the fish are edible. That was the down side.

The rest of the island has so many scenic places to visit and enjoy. Torq drove us places which we were very, very grateful for and we hired a car to take ourselves around on one of the days too. You can paddle 'your' canoe over to Turtle Island and hire a car from there. We paddled to several blue holes (take money with you..there is an entry fee), saw lovely sand and beautifully clear water near Champagne Beach and the surrounding areas. Olry was great to visit too...We preferred the north to the south. It's also a great destination to show your children just how lucky their life is. Life is so simple..no luxury here and even less so in the bush villages. Helps you reassess what is important in life.

You MUST do the horse ride with Megan. It is just such a beautiful trip. Megan is great. Easy going. Very personable. Don't worry if you can't ride. Megan will select a horse suitable to your ability. It's such a unique, picturesque journey. You'll never experience anything quite like this anywhere else in the world. It's not too physically stressful either so it's great for younger or older people.

On the other hand, Millennium Cave tour is a seriously amazing, exhilarating, strenuous, physically challenging experience. I'm not fit (just average and 51!) and this was by far the hardest and most rewarding tour I've ever done. I felt like I was on Survivor:Santo but was fortunate to have a fantastic guide named Simon, who held my hand the entire day. His English was fantastic. He was very knowledgable, chatty and extremely helpful. There is no way I could have done this trip without him. We hiked, visited villages, climbed ladders, boulders, through caves, in gorges, climbed up, down...and had the most wonderful float through crystal clear, cold rivers and sat under waterfalls..spectacular! This wouldn't be good for small children and not older people either. I was really nervous about going and felt like a champion for completing this trip. It was how I'd imagine being in the Amazon..without piranhas! It was just so remarkable.

We went to church here too. We were so warmly welcomed and could follow most of what was happening. Thank you to the congregation. There are lots of churches to choose from as most Ni Vanuatu go to church on Sunday. This is a great spiritual and cultural event to experience.

We loved Malvanua Island Beach House. We were here for a week. It's quite difficult to slow down to island pace when you live a busy life. We played cards and board games, read, took photos and you do have Internet access too! We have travelled extensively and stayed in many different places in all sorts of countries. Torq and Marianne really are exceptional hosts. Location is outstanding. A fantastic holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W
Stewart Island, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Private Paradise.”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Marianne and Torq, the owners are just simply amazing, so helpful before we arrived in emails, and continued on our arrival. Fridge was stocked with goodies and lovely freshly baked bread by Marianne, on arrival. The next day we went shopping and shown the market, for anything else we required. Santo beef is the best we have ever tasted, in fact all the food was organic and tasted so much better than home!
Malvanua is equipped with everything you could possibly want, beautifully clean, full kitchen, lovely beds. Just being able to walk straight from the house to the beach, the beach being on the doorstep was a dream for us, water so clear and warm. I could go on and on, but everything has already been said in previous reviews, we loved our stay, and know we will be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thanks Sandra! Hope to see you both again.
Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sami S
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Your own private island in absolute paradise!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

If you’re after a big chain hotel with kids clubs & swim-up bars or caravan parks filled with people & their noises, then this is not the destination for you - however if you love an organic, wholesome experience in a luxuriously tropical destination, with total privacy - then look no further! This was our 1st time to Vanuatu & WOW - what a fabulous holiday. We stayed 10 nights in July as a family of 4 with 2 girls aged 14 & 11 & found that we slipped into island life a little too easily! We blissfully spent our days swimming, kayaking, exploring the neighbouring islands, spotting coconut crabs on Malvanua, lots of fishing, sunset drinks with a spectacular view, roasting marshmallows by the fire at night & kayaking to the incredibly beautiful Matevulu blue hole where we swam in the brilliant turquoise water. There are also tours you can easily do from Malvanua or hire a car & go explore Santo yourself.
Torquil & Marianne own & live on the other side of the 25acre island paradise and were like magical forest folk you never see unless you need them. They are such beautiful people & gracious hosts that truly helped make our holiday a memorable & thoroughly enjoyable one. Nothing was a hassle for them - including organising the right antibiotics to be flown up from Port Vila to Santo where Torquil picked them up & brought them back to the island for my husband (whom got a tooth infection on the 2nd day - tip - don’t visit the dentist a few days before travelling). Thankfully they worked quickly & we were able to continue enjoying our holiday.
Food & Drink:
Torquil & Marianne made sure there were staples in the fridge for us when we arrived (which included fresh eggs from their ducks, freshly baked bread, some fresh fruit & veggies & Santo beef) & shopped for extra supplies during out stay when we needed them (expect to pay roughly what you do in Australia). Marianne baked us a fresh loaf of bread every 2nd day & picked us delicious fresh herbs from their garden. We brought a lot of packaged food with us to last the stay (cereal, muesli bars, protein bars, microwave popcorn, marshmallows for the fire, jam, vegemite & some EasiYo yogurt sachets as Malvanua is equiped with a super easy yogurt maker) and bought the wonderfully fresh & local organic produce over there. The Santo eye fillet is seriously the best we’ve ever had! The quality is so good it’s exported to Japan. The beef sausages & mince are also top quality and delicious. You can get dairy easily - the milk is UHF but still good. We picked up a bottle of Cointreau & Limoncello duty free upon landing at Port Vila & took these to the island with us. The local Tusker beer is a really easy drinking beer & a case costs around 4750Vatu which Torq picked up for us on one of his shopping trips. You can also kayak over to and eat at the two different resorts close by, but we didn’t so I can’t say what they’re like.
Fishing:
My husband took a tackle box & a 2 piece rod in a pvc pipe with screw top lids (it was counted as part of the luggage so we didn’t have to pay extra but there is a length requirement so just check before departing what this is again & keep in mind if you get a connecting flight to Santo, domestic is slightly different to international sizing) and during our stay he caught 2 decent sized king fish plus a barracuda straight off the beach. He released them though in case of siguetera poisoning.
We celebrated our daughter’s 14th birthday on the island & we’ll all remember it as one of the best. We had a treasure hunt with the small chocolates I had brought with us, followed by a kayak to the blue hole. It takes about 1/2hr to paddle through the bay to the river & about another 30mins until you reach the blue hole. (Tip - you don’t really want to go at least an hour either side of low tide). Torq & Marianne will explain the way (very easy) & you will need to take 500Vatu p/person with you as entrance fee. The water is so blue & clear & fresh, bring snorkelling gear with you, waterproof cameras & bread for the fish.
I would suggest reef shoes for the beach as parts of it can be a little corally & maybe some light wetsuits (springies or wetsuit top) for the blue hole or if you plan on doing the millennium tour (highly recommend) as the water is a little cool in July at these places. Thank you so much Torquil & Marianne for sharing your island gem - our holiday on Malvanua island was truly sensational & we can’t wait to come back! If only there were more destinations like this - but then again that’s what helps make it so special. You are living the dream & we feel so lucky to have been able to as well, even if for only a little while.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The spectacular location and the privacy
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windylad
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A tropical private paradise”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Marianne and Torq have chosen a remarkably beautiful area to build their beach house which is protected from the prevailing trade winds and is private and secure, yet with expansive views across the calm lagoon towards the sunsets. We felt lucky and privileged to be staying for nearly two weeks in such a paradise.

Our hosts made us feel welcome.We appreciated their friendly hospitality.
The high standard of the amenities made our days even more pleasant. We slept well in the comfortable bed and enjoyed our meals at the outside dining table. We were never bothered by insects. The weather was perfect! Swimming off our beach in the warm clear water we were safe from any harm. At last we had found a place where there were no sharks, crocodiles, stingers, snakes or poisonous spiders. It took us a while to get used to the lack of danger.
We had never used kayaks before but it was not long before we were exploring the lagoon and beyond.Shopping in Luganville at the produce market and the numerous trade stores was interesting. We liked the local Tusker beer. Oz wine was available plus a reasonable range of supermarket goods. The fruit and veg is seasonal. In late June citrus fruit was plentiful and of good quality. The avocados were exceptional.
When it was time to leave neither of us wanted to go. We would have been very happy to have stayed longed at this special island.
Marianne and Torq have provided an experience to which we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Finding paradise
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob b
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic - six stars all the way”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I spent 7 nights on Malvanua with our girls (7 and 4) and it was the best decision we could have made. Torq and Marianne are indeed consummate hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. They stocked the fridge with foods and beer to cover us for the evening of arrival, and next morning Torq took us into Luganville to stock up and introduce us to the locals. We had brought breakfast cereals and snack bars with us from Australia as well as favourite coffee and tea. Glad we did as supplies of imported goods are very limited and expensive.
On the island we used the kayaks extensively, exploring the reefs, nearby islands and coves. Our girls spent most of their days in the water in perfect safety and swam with the local wildlife, including sea snakes. Torq arranged horse riding with Megan from Lope Lope Resort (a must) and further trips to Luganville to explore and buy souvenirs. We were so happy with our Robinson Crusoe existence we didn't really feel the need to leave the island too often. A quick kayak to Turtle Bay Resort resulted in a great lunch and meeting new friends.
The house itself is very comfortable with gas cooker, all utensils and crockery ect. and some basics left in the cupboard (oil, salt, rice ect). Cooking was easy. TV with some DVD's and books to read on the shelf covered the evenings after kids were asleep. Most nights we were too exhausted to last past 8.00, but it was no effort to walk to the water and cast a lure in the dark.(Bring a rod and some lures if you like fishing). Marianne supplied lovely fresh bread every couple of days, eggs and anything we happened to run out of at the time.
This was the best week we have had on holiday in a long time and it energised us all and left us wishing we could have stayed longer. 7 nights is NOT enough! Our sincere thanks to Torq and Mariaane. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complete freedom to make your own adventures.
Liked least: A washing machine would be helpful with kids, but it's not very Crusoe is it?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smadeghe
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful. Spectacular. Perfect... Paradise”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved so many things about Malvanua Island Beach House. It was such a peaceful holiday location and truly private (just about the only light visible at night was from a yacht moored across the other side of the lagoon)! In no particular order, we loved snorkelling, the hermit crabs, kayaking in the lagoon and further afield - to the glorious Turtle Island and the Matevulu Blue Hole, turtle spotting, sitting out to eat on the deck, the birds, walking in the jungle behind the house... the list goes on! Swimming was another very popular activity. Our boys (10 and 13) were occasionally in the water at 6am! The water was incredibly clear and warm (what were we thinking with those wetsuits that hung in the cupboard for the duration of our stay???). Snorkelling was pretty good just a stone's throw from the house and even better - dare I say world class - at nearby Turtle Island, easily reached by kayak and a lovely spot for a picnic. The house itself was perfect - the pictures don't do it justice (we loved the roomy ensuite bathrooms, gas stove and big fridge). The hammocks were also very popular with the boys. Sitting out in the garden or swimming at night, watching the stars and the fireflies in the jungle, was breathtaking. Marianne's bread was delicious and the fresh coconuts, fruits and fish were truly mouthwatering. The Santo beef, cooked on the BBQ, was the best ever (according to my husband and our boys... I'm not a meat eater). We enjoyed visits to nearby Turtle Bay and Oyster Bay resorts for lunch (the Sunday buffet at Oyster Bay resort was a sumptuous gourmet spread). We loved the weather - the warm days, light afternoon breezes and occasional overnight storms. We also went horse riding with Megan and that was amazing too - a first riding experience for my husband and boys and she looked after them so well. Another special experience was the Mount Hope waterfall tour. Torq and Marianne are amazing people and were the consummate hosts... nothing was too much trouble and they helped out with topping up our food supplies from time to time (we stayed 8 nights) and arranging activities for us. Frederick (Torq's assistant) is great too - one morning he brought a coconut crab over for us to check out - there is a family of them on the island. He also went fishing with my husband and boys, which they described as better than a charter tour! We all enjoyed ourselves so much that we've re-booked already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and peacefulness of the location
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darby_and...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot; damn hot, but wonderfully relaxing”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a glorious week on Malvanua swimming, snorkeling, kayaking and relaxing. Torquille and Marianne were wonderful hosts who were very generous with their time and transport with trips to Luganville for shopping at the market, drinks at the local wateringhole and handicrafts at the "Mamas" co-op. Their support for Ni-Van womens initiatives is to be applauded.
Marianne supplied us with freshly baked bread, eggs from their chooks and ducks and produce from their garden, whilst Frederick, Torquille's right hand man, took great delight in showing us one of the resident coconut crabs up close and personal.

Whilst the swell and the wind prevented snorkeling on Malvanua, we did paddle out to Turle island where the snorkeing was sensational, as was the sense of solitude.

Malvanua was ideally located for easy kayak trips to the nearby resorts of Turtle Bay and Oyster Island for lunch or drinks, not to mention the stunning Matevulu blue hole.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beauty and solitude of the island
Liked least: unseasonably hot weather and the lack of a breeze
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing