We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, friendly and helpful staff and the best burgers ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oyster Island Resort
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We arrived at Oyster Island with no luggage, courtesy of Air Vanuatu, an no idea when it would arrive. Pip was there to greet us with a smile and an assurance that they would have things sorted out ASAP. They arranged for us to go into town the next morning and by early afternoon we were picking our luggage up from the airport. The good times continued with predominantly good food and it was awesome to wake up to the fish jumping in the lagoon jumping just outside of our bungalow door. We were treated to a lovely oyster feast and the kayak trip to the blue holes is an absolute MUST do. Pip and the staff took us on a interesting and beautiful dive to the reefs off the island and we got to see some cool WW2 wreckage. Grant was an exceptionally friendly host, and besides the gecko poo, we enjoyed our stay immensely. thankyou to all of the staff for making this the best part of our trip to Vanuatu.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank ttzoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed here with our 7 month old son and loved it. The island is beautiful and staff are excellent.

Accommodation - deluxe bungalows are great value, clean, spacious, comfortable and have amazing views. Well worth the upgrade over the standard bungalows, which are older and much smaller. Can't comment on the frangipani rooms. The rooms are quite open, so you get the sounds of ocean breeze and lapping waves all night which is relaxing. We didn't have any issues with mosquitoes or insects, but we kept the doors closed at night time. A fan is located directly over the bed, although this isn't needed most nights. The bed is comfortable. No phone or TV, and minimal furnishings, but this adds to the ambiance.

Island - Takes under an hour to take a very scenic walk around the whole island. Beautiful trees and jungle with some sandy beaches and ocean outlook. Very close to the mainland and easy boat access. About 20 mins drive from the airport and town.

Restaurant - cafe quality, prices and variety. Very nice. Excellent service. The included breakfast is basic but you can order cooked breakfast for additional cost.

Activities - Only kayaking on the island itself, however the activities manager is great. He runs half day tours most days and can arrange other tours. The Millennium Cave tour is fantastic for the adventurous, otherwise the river tour offers a similar experience for the less adventurous. A trip to the nearby blue hole is 2 hours round trip by kayak or slightly less on foot, and worth the visit. There are plenty of other options and you could easily fill a week with tours if you didn't want to lay in the hammock all day.

Snorkelling - Good coral and fish variety (probably similar to most of Vanuatu), although it can be difficult to access good snorkelling spots. There is little to see on the mainland side of the island (where the rooms are), however the water is calm and good for swimming. Several good snorkelling options on the ocean side of the island, although the ocean is often relatively rough, and you have to walk over shallow rocks and dead coral to reach deeper water. Reef shoes required. Inexperienced snorkellers are better off doing a dedicated snorkel tour to a nearby island where the water is calmer and access is easier
If you're just after a swim this is best off the beach in front of the restaurant where the water is deep.

Staff - The new managers are very helpful, as is the activities manager. The staff are extremely friendly, always smiling and saying hello, and were wonderful with our son, often offering to look after him while we ate at the restaurant.

Overall - A great place to lie back, relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travel255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Highly recommend this hotel. my partner and I went here for 5 nights after a business trip. It was just what was needed. If you wanted you could just relax in the hammock overlooking the water. We had one of the stand alone bungalows with a roofless shower. Amazing to shower while looking at the stars.

The rooms were large and well appointed. we had the last in the row so it was quite and very very relaxing. The restauarnt was nice but a little repetitive after 5 nights.
in terms of other things to do, we kayaked to the blue hold and went on a day trip to the town on Santo. Others went north to other beaches but we were happy just to relax.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the larger, bigger bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Wonderful location hotel is very good (plus) Staff and facilities are above most expectations. Restaurant/buffet needs more variety.....overall lovely time away with friends and family...will be back again soon.....wonderful gardens.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Oyster Island resort is fantastic. It is like paradise on earth. Every morning you walk out of your bungalow straight into clear blue waters full of beautiful tropical fish. Then it's breakfast (the breakfast included in the room is delicious and totally adequate to keep you going for the fun you have ahead of you) in the lovely restaurant helped by the really fantastic staff. There is so much to do and the tours are reasonably priced, varied and great fun. The management and staff cannot do enough to help you and give you ideas. And if you want to do nothing then Oyster Island is perfect as well!!! You can just walk round the island, lie on the beach or sit on your hammock all day in peace and tranquility. Food is fantastic and reaonably priced and there's enough variety to keep you going. A great bar and cocktails!! And from time to time great buffets and local traditional entertainment. And it's not too difficult to get into town and go to other places for a change (although why would you want to leave Oyster Island!!) But if you want a quiet night that's okay as well!! Rooms are great a variety of prices which also means there is a nice mixture of guests. We just loved it and by the end we felt almost like we were at home!!! I can't imagine that there is a better resort anywhere in Vanuatu.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koalaemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

this is a popular place - it was fully booked when we were there, but with only 11 bungalows it still feels intimate, never too crowded. We had the deluxe bungalow, which was very nice, spacious, with a good-sized balcony facing the sunset. We went to sleep at night with the curtains wide open so awoke to a lovely view of the inlet from our very comfortable bed. Sound of the waves lapping around us and the occasional fish jumping in the water. There's a rainforest to walk through and good snorkelling on the other side of the island. Food was very good, and not too expensive for the quality, but if staying here more than a few days you might get a bit bored with the menu. I recommend the Mt Hope waterfall/river tour, and also kayaking to the Matevulu blue hole.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsBlueDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We spent the last 4 nights of our honeymoon at Oyster Island, and it was the best way to end our trip. We definitely hope to get back there one day. We spent 2 nights in a frangipani room, which was only $100 per night, cute little water front room with ensuite - perfect for if you're on a tighter budget. Then we spent the last 2 nights in a Deluxe Bamboo Bungalow, which was a bit more pricey, but still not nearly as expensive as a lot of resorts, and was beautiful!!! There were so many activities to keep us busy, but we also enjoyed a lot of relaxation time. The water is so warm, so we would go for a swim out our front door at anytime of the day or night! The staff were so friendly and comfortable to be around. One of our highlights was doing an intro to dive course and then doing a dive to see old WW2 plane wrecks! Kayaking, snorkelling and having a massage on our deck were some other highlights. The restaurant was good, and the Sunday Buffet lunch special was an awesome meal!
The only area we thought needed improvement was the showers. Although the indoor/outdoor shower in our deluxe bungalow was novelty, we could never get a good temperature showere - it was always either really really hot or kinda cold.
Great place, we would recommend it to anyone, whether relaxing and romancing, or adventuring and seeking fun!
Thanks everyone at Oyster Island!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hakuna_matata_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
4.4 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
309 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
9.6 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
122 reviews
11.3 mi away
Aore Island Resort
Aore Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Aore Island
325 reviews
16.4 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Island Resort

Address: PO Box 183, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Luganville
Price Range: £62 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oyster Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a private 25 hectare island just 2 minutes crossing from the mainland. Oyster Island Resort resides within a Marine Reserve, abundant in marine and wild life. Sandy beaches, tropical rainforest, coral reefs and war plane wrecks make for fantastic snorkelling. Bungalows line the waters edge, each with private decks or patio's, enjoying stunning views out over the calm lagoon waters. Family Vila allow room for parents and children to enjoy the large grounds and gardens and are set off the water for safety. Skilled Chefs serve the very best of local and western cuisine from our waterfront restaurant. Only 20 minutes from the airport and township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Oyster Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Island Hotel Luganville
Oyster Island Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing