We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place nice location and really friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyster Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oyster Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place nice location and really friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed on Oyster Island for 7 night's in October 2013 and it was great. We had a deluxe bungalow and it was really nice. The bungalow was so nice with direct access to the water and the sound of the water lapping during the night was just lovely. John the chef in the restaurant was keen to please and the meals were all really nice. The snorkelling around the front of the island was good and snorkelling off the point of the adjacent island was also very good. It was nice just walking around the island and we hired kayak's and paddled to the nearest blue hole , definitely worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    97
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
199
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I celebrated 25 years together with a week on Oyster Island and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.
From the moment we arrived we found the staff to be friendly and helpful and did not feel that we were being given any more interaction or information than we were happy with.
Whilst the continental breakfast was basic it was more than adequate to start the day and the fresh fruit salad more than compensated for the basic cereal options! The food was generally of a high standard and definitely better value for money than the other resort we visited just up the road on one evening, purely for a comparison.
Our accommodation was excellent and we were very comfortable and had a wonderful week of warm and predominantly sunny, dry weather. The one afternoon when we had a torrential downpour it didn't "dampen" our enjoyment at all and it was still warm enough to swim at Midway beach.
The only cautionary note would be that with strong southerly breeze and torrential rain we did find that the water fairly flowed in under the doors and we fixed this by rolling our towel up and 'plugging the gap!' Obviously we then had to use hand towels to shower with... as walking to reception in the deluge wasn't really an option.
In summary, the location is idyllic, food excellent and generally piping hot, staff pleasant and personable and whilst this is not a cheap destination we would not hesitate to recommend for anyone who has always wondered just what paradise might really look like??

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had four nights at Oyster Island Resort in the deluxe bungalows and thought it was paradise. The rooms were fantastic, clean and spacious. The deck with hammock overlooking the water was so relaxing. There is so much you can do, or you can just chill and relax. Wonderful meals at the restaurant and friendly staff. The kayak to Matevulu blue hole is a must, wonderful to swim there. Also did Riri river blue hole by dugout canoe, and it was also incredible. The island is lovely to walk around and explore, good snorkelling at midway beach.
The resort also organised a 2hr fishing, 2hr snorkelling trip for us with Fabrice from Island Fishing Santo which we thoroughly recommend. We would definitely recommend Oyster Island Resort and hope to be back one day..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamingAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My family (myself, my husband, and 2 kids 14yo & 11yo) stayed at Oyster Island Resort for 5 nights in Sept 2013. We found the resort to be of an excellent standard, and after reading some of the other reviews on trip advisor, we were more than happy with the overall experience. One of the highlights of the trip was the quality of the food at Oyster Island. My son is a particularly fussy eater and I was worried that the restaurant would not have many meals that were suitable for him. In fact, I found just the opposite. The food was very child friendly, and the size of the meals were enormous (which meant we often ordered 1 meal between 2 people). Depending on the number of people in the restaurant, the staff were sometimes operating on 'island time', but I found that the quality and size of the meals more than overcompensated for the extra time we waited for our meals (compared with typical waiting times in Australia). I would definitely recommend the 'Santo Beef', as it really is as good as people say, and I am sure that my steak was the best I've ever had.

The rooms were beautiful, and the open air bathroom awesome (deluxe bungalow #8). Some of the furnishings are not quite as nice as I'd seen on the website, but were perfectly acceptable and the hammock was a definite 'fav' spot for the whole family. The bungalows and restaurant have recently been re-lacquered and have bought out the beautiful timber used in their construction. The wifi was playing up while we were there and my mobile phone reception, dodgy at best, so we were essentially cut off from everything which was not a really big deal to us as we were in paradise and had so many other things to see and do.

Some of the tours that I would recommend include a kayaking trip to the blue holes (which took us quite a bit longer then the 45mins each way that is suggested) and is quite physically demanding, especially if you are going against the tides. Don't forget to take snorkles, food & water and your mosquito spray (although there were not that many mozzies when we were there). The Matevule Blue Hole was stunning and a lifetime experience, but there is very little there except the blue hole and a few small picnic table/areas. Also, smaller children/ non-swimmers do not have any shallow areas to swim. There is only one small step/rock area where everyone can enter the water.

We also went to Champagne Bay and highly recommend this, but food venues are very limited and I would not recommend the cafe/ hut at Lonnoc. We paid about $50 AUD for our lunch, which took 1hr and 15mins and was cold. The food was not child friendly at all.

The final highlight of our trip was our Horseriding adventure with Megan from Santo Horsriding Adventures at Lope Lope Lodge. She was very supportive of my daughter who had never been riding before and all the horses were extremely well behaved and the tracks were stunning and varied (past villages, up a hill to a veiwing spot of the whole area, down through rainforest and finally out onto the beach and a small blue whole). She even stopped to take photos for us so that we could all be in the photo together :)

My final piece of advice is to make sure that you do take reef shoes as you will definitely need them for swimming at most of the beaches on the island. The beach in front of the reception/ restaurant is fine, but outside the bungalows there is quite a bit of coral which can be sharp on your feet. All in all, I would give Oyster Island 4.9 stars and look forward to coming back again in the near future. Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: The deluxe bungalows are definitely worth the extra money if you can afford it :) The numbers go fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed in a Frangipani bungalow for 8 nights recently. It was such a peaceful, relaxing stay. The bungalows are right at the water's edge and offer beautiful views to wake up to each morning. It was so relaxing just to sit on the balcony and watch the world go by.

All the staff are very friendly and welcoming and work hard to make your stay enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble.

We enjoyed walking around the island, swimming and snorkelling. Reef shoes are a must as there is lots of sharp, broken coral around but you can borrow some reef shoes from the hotel. The snorkelling is awesome at mid-way beach. We also took a day trip to Port Orly Beach and one of the Blue Holes whilst there - these trips can be arranged by the hotel. The hotel's waterfall trip is a lot of fun but not for the faint hearted. I thought from the description that it was just a calm, gentle float down river through the tropical rain forest but be warned there were rapids over some very sharp rocks which weren't easy to negotiate in the shallow water. I have to confess they did scare me and I think there is the potential to really hurt yourself. It is probably not a problem in the wetter part of the year though when the water would be deeper. That said, I did enjoy it and would recommend the trip.

On a couple of evenings there was entertainment (water dancing and a local band). This was enjoyable but the only thing I would slightly criticize the hotel for. The hotel welcome people who are mooring their yachts in the harbour to this. Whilst this is fine it makes these evenings very busy (not what we really wanted - we had booked Oyster Island because it was so small and therefore seemed to offer a quiet retreat from everyday life) On the first evening the water dancing hotel guests' tables were not reserved. We decided that we would skip the entertainment and order our food/grab a table as there were so many people there we would have been waiting a very long time for a table or food had we all waited till the end of the entertainment (food is cooked to order). On the 2nd night (barbecue night) they did reserve tables for the guests but as these were inside (and the yacht people were on tables outside) we couldn't see the entertainment from where we were seated. I think it would be a good touch to ask guests where they want their tables reserved before taking yacht orders. But that said this isn't a huge thing it is very hard to say anything negative about such a beautiful resort!

I would just like to thank all the staff for a very enjoyable stay. It is a shame it wasn't a longer one. We were very sorry to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUBBLES00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed in a frangipani unit for 4 nights. This is a superb little resort to get away to, with friendly staff who always want to help. The food was good, and the room was comfortable. The snorkelling around the island was unforgettable - and there are numerous activities the resort can arrange for you. I'd very happily go back here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dg2061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Oyster Island Resort in August and found it to be absolutely delightful. This is a small resort about a half hour’s drive from Luganville airport and set on its own small island amid beautifully maintained gardens. A little private ferry connects you to the mainland in minutes. We had a very comfortable deluxe bungalow with an open-air bathroom and a big balcony that extended over the water. When the tide is in it feels like you are on a boat. There’s nothing like the lapping of water to encourage a good night’s sleep! We were in Bungalow 8 and found the bed to be firm but perfectly comfortable. We certainly had no trouble sleeping. The room was well appointed including decent lighting for reading and a fridge and tea making facilities. When we ran out of something we just asked for it to be replaced and it was, cheerfully and quickly. We had two upright chairs and a hammock on the balcony - a lounge would have been a nice addition. Of course we had a few mosquitos and a resident gecko – it’s the tropics after-all. The mosquito coils provided by the resort were very effective but it’s a good idea to carry some insect repellent in the tropics. The resort has a lovely restaurant and bar with an extensive menu and some quite decent wines. We mostly found the meals to be very good but on one or two occasions we think maybe the head chef was having a day off and things went a little awry. We mainly pottered around the island, plenty of walking trails and little beaches to explore (mainly coral underfoot though so bring beach shoes). And we also enjoyed some interesting excursions to other parts of Espiritu Santo, organized seamlessly by the staff. It must be said that it is the staff that make this place. They were all very friendly and attentive to our needs from the moment we arrived. Nothing was ever too much trouble. All the staff deserve high praise for the great job they are doing, but we’d like to give Aaron and Christina a special mention. We found Oyster Island to be a beautiful, comfortable but low-key resort, a great place to unwind and enjoy the charm and hospitality of Vanuatu and its people.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luganville hotels
4.4 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#7 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Lodge
Turtle Bay Lodge
#1 of 14 in Luganville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Island Resort

Property: Oyster Island Resort
Address: PO Box 183, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a private 25 hectare island just 2 minutes crossing from the mainland. Oyster Island Resort resides within a Marine Reserve, abundant in marine and wild life. Sandy beaches, tropical rainforest, coral reefs and war plane wrecks make for fantastic snorkelling. Bungalows line the waters edge, each with private decks or patio's, enjoying stunning views out over the calm lagoon waters. Family Vila allow room for parents and children to enjoy the large grounds and gardens and are set off the water for safety. Skilled Chefs serve the very best of local and western cuisine from our waterfront restaurant. Only 20 minutes from the airport and township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Oyster Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Island Hotel Luganville
Oyster Island Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing