We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay at oyster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oyster Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kingscliff, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2nd stay at oyster”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had an amazing stay in May at Oyster..in fact our 2nd stay we stayed 2 weeks the previous year on our honeymoon and went back to celebrate our 1st year of marriage.It was great to see a lot of the same staff still there and as our first time they were just as friendly and helpful 2nd time around.This time we saw so many turtles and went kayaking and actually had a dugong come up next to us roll under the kayak come up looked at us again and shot off.Apparently they never do this so we were so honored for this to happen.We stayed in a deluxe over water bungalow which are beautiful..very peaceful in number 11 which has only bush on one side so quite secluded.The staff are friendly and love to have a chat about our life styles so I suggest anyone visiting to take a little time and ask them about themselves..they are very interesting..We particularly become fond of Aaron and Andrea a couple who work there,and Casper who always has his amazing smile..Jon one of the duty managers is always making sure everything perfect as does Aaron to.Oly and David are just beautiful people they run the resort and nothing is to much trouble for them..you start to feel like family..It's a great place to relax and get away from our hectic lives as everything is Island time so do be prepared that things don't happen at a click of a finger as where all used to...to totally relax this is the place..you can hire a kayak and keep it at your bungalow which is great..and there's a little Island near the green and yellow yacht beware of the billy goat or you mught just get a butt up your butt..

Room Tip: go the deluxe bungalow's or brand new family bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hallo from Oyster Island, thank you for your review and sharing your stay with us. We really enjoying hosting you and one of the highlights is watching our return guests faces as they discover new things, upgraded facilities and our latest bright idea built to enhance your stay with us. We love having you here and look forward to many more anniversary celebrations over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    98
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
200
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed a week on Oyster Island in a group of 23 family and friends in July. It was the perfect place to go with plenty of relaxation and activities such as snorkelling, kayaking, swimming and walking. The staff were amazing, especially organising all of us to do the Mt Hope waterfall experience together. We were in Bungalow 6 which was beautiful. The food was great, especially the seafood. Being such a large group the staff were fantastic in accommodating all our activities and fun nights. Thanks to everyone for helping to make it an experience to remember and right up there with our best ever holidays. Love to go back again one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janemoe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Tank yu tumas for taking the time to share your holiday experience.

We are so pleased you and your family had a great time on Oyster, we were sorry we didn't' get to meet you al! Our staff are still warmly remembering their time with you and all the fun and games you brought to the island. Its really fulfilling see our guests take advantage of all what Oyster Island has to offer and make a really memorable holiday out of it. Please come back anytime, we would love to have you and in the mean time safe travels to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family and I had three over water bungalows for 8 nights in late June. The island is beautiful with wonderful walking tracks and secluded beaches and snorkelling spots.
The staff were wonderful and very friendly and would do anything possible to make your stay enjoyable. The use of kayaks and snorkel equip was handy to go and explore.

The rooms were beautiful, we had the room with the outdoor shower, very cool. They were cleaned daily and with small fridge and ceiling fan, you had all you required.

The food was a bit of a let down, the prices very very much on the high side. $20 AUD for a pizza and $7 for a milkshake. If you are eating there every night, the menu does get a little tired and predictable. Being 30 mins out of town it makes it hard to run down the road for a bite to eat.

The other big issue for me was internet. I realise that Oyster Island is in fact, an island off another island but every time there was even a hit of a breeze the wifi didn't work. 8-9 days for me.

Overall it was a beautiful location for me and my family.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the outdoor shower. #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Oyster island.

We trust your family enjoyed their stay with us and thank you for sharing your suggestions on areas we can focus on for improvement. We take on board your comments re the restaurant menu and are working with our team to ensure nightly specials to support the evening menu.

Our communications on Oyster can be a challenge, due in most to our isolation and our location in a developing nation. The Vanuatu National provider is working through options to stabilise Oysters Wifi connection and we eagerly anticipate a positive outcome for this. Meanwhile we do have a second WIFI system available for guests use, our reception can provide passwords to all in house guests.

Once again thank you for reviewing us and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had a superb 3 days here, wished we had longer. Beautiful spot and freedom to wander the small island. Wonderful snorkelling spots, and we saw a couple of turtles, which was a real treat. Apparently common around there. So relaxing, staff really helpful, and had great tips of what to do if you ask. The Kayak to Matevulu blue hole was fun, rivers so different from home (NZ), and we took an hour or so to just meander up the river and look around. internet connection not great, but it didn't matter. Staff helped us with a couple phone calls for transport, and always someone around to ask if you need anything. Have seen other resorts around Port Vila and Luganville, and have to say this place is special. would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Stayed in the more economical frangipani unit, right next to the restaurant. Some recommend going fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ernz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience, its great to read that you enjoyed Oyster and your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Loved the 5 days I spent here. Came for a rest and that's what I got. Quiet, peaceful and beautiful but with more than enough to keep you busy if you want to. Hibiscus rooms are small and basic but fine for one or two people. The only thing I missed having was a fridge. Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Hope to get back here before too long.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed yourself and got to rest and relax with us. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuarts Point, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My Husband & I spent one glorious month on Oyster Island from Mid-May to Mid-June 2014. We stayed in Deluxe Bungalow 11, the nicest by far & the most private with an open air shower and a roomy deck, it was one month of pure heaven!
We truly left our cares behind us as we settled into Island time with deep tranquil sleeps to the sound of water lapping under our Bungalow, romantic sunsets and exciting days filled with all this little Island and the Large Island of Espiritu Santo have to offer. How can I adequately describe the delights of this tropical paradise; snorkelling the crystal waters for dugongs, turtles, millions of jewelled fish hiding amongst the corals, Canoeing around the jungle islands and exploring the stunning Blue Holes, reef walking for shells and Vu Boarding the magnificent coral surrounding Oyster Island, day trips all over Santo driven by our crazy but lovable taxi driver Mr Louie, Shopping trips in Luganville & buying fresh fruit from the village people at the local Markets, Game fishing with Mathew & Simon in the banana boat and then Fabrice & Bradley in MG for monster Mahi-Mahi (dolphin fish) & Tuna that we brought back for all the staff to enjoy and the myriads of picture perfect deserted Islands to explore with a yummy packed lunch, swimmers & a towel. Bliss! The weather was perfect - it is Vanuatu's winter - water temp is 27 degrees and every day lovely and warm. we both have great tans to show off!
We were the longest staying guests that Oyster Island has ever had and we loved getting to know the amazing people who worked to make our stay a terrific one. What a joy it was to share our time with these warm loving local people of Oyster Island, who worked so hard and made our stay so fantastic. From the superb service and delicious food served every day by the kitchen staff who endeavoured to make each one of our meals memorable, thank you for being the first smiling faces we saw every morning and thanks for all the bread so I could feed my fishies. Thank you to the superb management who run the island with such poise and so smoothly. Thanks to Anna & the Maids who kept our rooms so lovely, thank you girls for always taking the time from your busy day for a chat and a laugh, Thank you to the darlings on reception who arranged all our jaunts with ease and always wanted to make sure that we were enjoying ourselves, thank you to the gardeners who keep the grounds and little beach so beautifully, many thanks to Kippi & the boys who drove us back and forward in the Island's Ferry to the mainland and back (just a bash on the cylinder away) with such cheer, indeed many thanks to all the management & staff who became our great friends and for arranging a baby earthquake in our last hour to say a proper farewell to Oyster Island - we have left a piece of our hearts with you and we will be back with you all soon to claim it back. take care and be safe until we see you all again...
Linda & Steve ILSLEY NSW Australia

Room Tip: Deluxe Bungalow 11 has an outside shower and more privacy than the other Bungalows - ask for a secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Tank yu tumas. It was such a pleasure to have you both and we all enjoyed having you fall into part of our everyday Oyster Island life. We hope to see you both again, take care until then.
The Oyster Island Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you’re looking for paradise then you've found it here! We have been here twice now and the over water Deluxe Bamboo Bungalows are amazing. Bungalow 6 or 7 is our pick. The food is amazing and the staff is first class in every way. The Blue Hole was our favourite place and the 45 min kayak paddle is a great way to get ready for a swim in the crystal clear deep blue water. We also went fishing and caught a nice Tuna which the restaurant back at Oyster prepared for us by making Sashimi and also grilled it was absolutely delicious. I can recommend Oyster Island to all but if you are looking for a 5 star hotel room experience this might not be for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobnWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We really enjoy hosting our return guests and thank you for your support. Looking forward to the next trip, see you both then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luganville hotels
4.4 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
10.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.4 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#2 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
9.6 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Lodge
Turtle Bay Lodge
#1 of 13 in Luganville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Island Resort

Property: Oyster Island Resort
Address: PO Box 183, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a private 25 hectare island just 2 minutes crossing from the mainland. Oyster Island Resort resides within a Marine Reserve, abundant in marine and wild life. Sandy beaches, tropical rainforest, coral reefs and war plane wrecks make for fantastic snorkelling. Bungalows line the waters edge, each with private decks or patio's, enjoying stunning views out over the calm lagoon waters. Family Vila allow room for parents and children to enjoy the large grounds and gardens and are set off the water for safety. Skilled Chefs serve the very best of local and western cuisine from our waterfront restaurant. Only 20 minutes from the airport and township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oyster Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Island Hotel Luganville
Oyster Island Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing