We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Farm Restaurant Over Stratton Somerset”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Farm Restaurant
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Although slightly off the beaten track New Farm is worth a detour for which you will be well rewarded. The welcome is excellent as is the choice from the menu. The food is well presented although the choice of wine is somewhat limited. The restaurant is in a converted farm building which is very atmospheric. Having known the village for many years it was good to return and be welcomed by Sue who knew my relatives who had run the Post Office and Stores in the village. Well worth a visit and we will return when next in the area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We held a birthday celebration meal for 39 guests at the New Farm Restaurant and it was just perfect. The food was absolutely delicious and looked amazing. It was hot and cooked to perfection despite the large number of meals eaten all at the same time. We used the whole venue and it was very personal. The owners and staff could not have been better and were very attentive. A really special place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crispin_Bond, Owner at New Farm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words, it was a lovely event and we were delighted to be able to cater for your special party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have visited the restaurant often, but never stayed before.
Beautiful room, jacuzzi bath, soft fluffy towels and an amazing selection of teas, coffees and biscuits in the room. (Although we couldn't manage them after the delicious meals enjoyed in the restaurant!)
Excellent service and faultless hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayqueenSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We visited the restaurant on 5th July after a few months gap. It was once again an excellent meal -- we have never been disappointed either for dinner or lunch over a 10 year period.
Sue makes everyone feel at home and Jane and Crispin cook the best food in Somerset.
Well recommended for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This restaurant/b&b is excellent in both categories. It is a few yards from a bit of the Fosse Way which is not a dual carriage way and a delightful touch is an OS 1:25,000 map in the little library. Walk!

My wife had stayed here before and you can read her review. I agree with every word and my own contribution is confined to the exceptional kindness and understanding of the hosts. Circumstances forced us to chop and change our plans and they were very helpful in accommodating our needs.

We left in the happiest of moods and a marvellous cream tea.

Room Tip: Ask. They are all good (more than) just different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I am usually not very happy when it comes to food, but my 4 nights spent at New Farm Restaurant B & B were exceptional. Even the cereal tasted good and I am not very fond of cereal in the morning. I do not know if the good night rests or the owners Jane and Crispin's hospitality who could not do enough for us made that difference, but we certainly had the best time there. The food was exceptional, it really deserves the award they have. We even purchased their frozen meals on the way out which we ate for 2 more days until we ran out and I had to go back to cooking! My husband even brought the room key back, I do not know if it was intentional or an error, he might have wanted to go back there! We have sent the key back of course. But we will always remember our time spent at the place and will definitely go back there again. Thank you Jane and Crispin for looking after us. We will definitely be back to talk to your chickens again ( a favourite pass time of my husband while he was there)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxicross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. The rooms were lovely, very clean, everything worked and ensuite shower room was nice. There were nice touches like the home made biscuits in your room, nice Teapigs teabags The food was exceptional in fact so nice we ate there on both nights. Our hosts were extremely helpful and accommodating. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - it has a real personal touch.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms but all lovely- very pretty and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to New Farm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Farm Restaurant

Address: Over Stratton, South Petherton TA13 5LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > South Petherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Petherton
Price Range: £83 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Farm Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jane & Crispin Bond have tastefully converted this lovely Ham stone building, originally a working farm run by Jane’s family since the late 1800’s, into a delightful restaurant with bed and breakfast. Together with Jane’s sister Sue, we can genuinely say that it is a family run business with a relaxed ambience and a service personal but not intrusive. Local produce is very much at the forefront of our ethos, you will be assured of a friendly Somerset welcome and can look forward to a delicious meal in the restaurant when open. After a restful night in the 4 star rated rooms choose a full English breakfast including locally produced hand cut honey cured bacon and eggs from our own chickens, fish, vegetarian and specific dietary requirements also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your New Farm Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Farm Restaurant South Petherton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing