We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of The Square House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Square House
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a really good place to stay. The rooms are attractive and very well appointed. Everything is provided for a comfortable stay. Kathy is very friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. We stayed with our seven year old and she went out of her way to make sure he had the things he wanted. The breakfast was delicious - good quality food, very well cooked. There was also a variety of fresh and stewed fruit. I would definitely recommend it here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vamoose1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
30
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Plush and restful, a relaxing interlude in a busy week. If you are in the area and need a stop-over, look no further. Everything in generous proportions, from the large room, the large comfy bed, the spacious shower room with power or drencher shower, the well equipped tea / coffe making facility (fresh milk provided), to the breakfast which is a work of art. I have not met its equal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timsnelgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is our second stay in less than a month and it is a fabulous!. Kathy is so warm and friendly with lots of knowledge of the area and things to do. The breakfast is delicious with beautiful organic ingredients and lovely fruit with lots of choice. The rooms are spotlessly clean, very comfortable and tastefully decorated with everything you could want and a lovely ensuite and ability to make fresh tea and coffee with delicious homemade biscuits. There is also a beautiful lounge area with an open log fire. If you are in the area this is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I stayed at The Square House for a week while on a business trip in the area and have been impressed with the high standards by which Katy runs her B&B. The house itself has some interesting history to it which you can read about on the website, the rooms are very comfortable, warm, tastefully decorated and spotless. Breakfast was delicious, with a lot of the produce locally sourced or home made. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FStroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

This rivals some 4 star hotels I have stayed at.

The level of service is very high.

Rooms are of a high standard.

You get a great warm welcome.

I will defiantly stay here again.

I strongly recommend to anyone passing or visiting locally to staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IT1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I recently stayed at the Square House for two nights. Kathy was very welcoming and friendly and I immediately felt at home. The house, built in the late 1800's, has been very nicely refurbished and the rooms are tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and there are cosy open fires in both the lounge and the dining room. Breakfast was lovely with cereal, fruit and 'full english' all on offer. Kathy was also very interesting to talk to with lots of good advice about the local area, which has much history to explore and several tourist attractions within easy reach. I really enjoyed my stay there and won't hesitate to go back. If you are looking for a good B& B this is it . . . look no further.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_Legg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My sister and I spent a couple of nights here and it couldn't have been better. Kathy is friendly, welcoming and interesting to talk to. The house is wonderfully airy and tastefully decorated in a simple style. Breakfast was delicious - do try Kathy's homemade fruit compote, yummy! Beds are really comfortable. There is so much to see and explore in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Petherton
3.7 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
248 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
364 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
New Farm Restaurant
New Farm Restaurant
#2 of 2 in South Petherton
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Brewers Arms
#1 of 1 in South Petherton
14 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Beeches B&B
The Beeches B&B
#3 of 12 in Ilminster
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square House

Property: The Square House
Address: 18 Palmer Street, South Petherton TA13 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > South Petherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Petherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Square House is a recently renovated Georgian Hamstone property in the centre of the village of South Petherton in South Somerset, just off the main A303 route to and from the West Country. It comprises 3 double/twin rooms all with en-suite facilities. The rooms have been refurbished to a high quality finish and include full WiFi access, TV, hospitality tray, etc. All rooms are available for single occupancy if required. There are storage facilities for bicycles and and a purpose built off-street car park. The guest lounge has a working fireplace and a large selection of reading material as well as DVDs. The guest dining room overlooks the garden which will produce some of the food for the table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Square House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square House South Petherton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing