We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Square House
Nearby Hotels
The George Hotel(Crewkerne)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
US$163
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haselbury Mill(Haselbury Plucknett)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Arms(North Perrott)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanes Hotel(West Coker)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonshire Arms(Langport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ilminster(Horton Cross)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
67
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspretty villageb bcharming owneryogurtcomfortable loungethe barnperfect staystayed for two nightsfull englisharchiesomersetwestiebreakfastcleanlinesspub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Fabulous, quiet B&B in the lovely Somerset village of South Petherton.
The Square House has everything you need for a weekend stay in the country....3 lovely clean and tastefully decorated en-suite rooms,cosy sitting room and a sunny breakfast room.
Kathy and Archie the dog are the perfect hosts and will make you a breakfast that believe me, will last you the day!
We will be back!!

Room Tip: All lovely rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Why would anyone want to spend more money to stay at a hotel when there are pearls like this B&B. Fantastic value for money for a double room with en suite bathroom, a sitting room with a real fire and an award winning breakfast. Kathy made us feel very welcome and explained where we could get a good local meal. Used the Square House whilst installing a sound system in a local church and would thoroughly recommend the experience for those resting between work or taking a holiday. Thanks to Kathy for providing good quality towels, quality biscuits with the in room drinks and offering an aperitif on arrival. Quiet location and thick curtains to ensure a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Saw a double and a twin room, both were spacious and well appointed. Double room had two windows looking out onto the village.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Coming down for a family friends 90th birthday, we looked for a B & B near the location. As always, Tripadvisor was the first place we went to for advice.

We were met by Kathy and shown the residents lounge and dining room before being shown to our bedroom. In the dining room are liqueurs which Kathy made available as a nightcap.

The room was immaculately clean (as was the whole B & B) with an en-suite. Everything for the comfort of the guests was thought of, even to providing fresh milk in a flask for the tea/coffee.

There was a private convenient car park with easy access to the building. It is a quiet location and a good nights sleep is guaranteed.

Kathy is totally organic and the quality and standard of her breakfast reflected that.(she has an award, and justifiably so for her breakfasts). We have never seen such a selection of fruits, cereals, jams, compotes, marmalades in any B & B that we have been to before. The cooked breakfast is pre-ordered the night before and served piping hot in the morning. The breakfasts are some of the best we have had. The bread/toast is home baked from a nearby baker.

In the hurry to leave home, I had forgotten my razor and shaving cream so asked Kathy where there was a shop I could buy one. Look no further said Kathy and produces a disposable razor and shaving cream for me. What a service.

As we said earlier, you would be pushed to find a better B & B and a more considerate owner. Well done Kathy. You are a star and we will be back to see you again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kernowlad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Greeted by such a friendly and welcoming host, Kathy made us feel at home at once. The twin bedded bedroom (we were in Lambrook room) and lovely spacious en suite bathroom suited us just fine. There was fresh milk with the tea and coffee making equipment and biscuits and bottled water in the room as well as a range of toiletries in the bathroom. In fact it was more like an hotel in amenities. The cleanliness could not be faulted any respect. It has its own car park so even though in a small village parking is not a problem. I too as other reviewers have done must comment on the breakfast. The range of exquisite fresh fruit, cereals and even the cooked food was as good as I have seen anywhere - it was cooked to order and there was even home made bread. If ever you stay anywhere near this village this is the place to head for. It cost £160.00 for two nights (ie £40 each per night) and it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Three nights in a B and B may seem a long time but here the time passed very quickly.
Kathy has a created a clean and modern look to what is a very fine old house. The bedrooms are comfortable, well appointed and light. The breakfast room and the lounge are equally cosy and well furnished.
Kathy was exceptionally helpful in providing information on local walks, local hostelries and on attractions to visit - very patient and very interested in us as her customers.
The breakfast, which we had previously read about from the other reviews, really was exceptional. A range of fruit and home-made fruit compotes supplemented the cereals and yoghurt really well. The toast was made from organic bread made locally and the cooked breakfast was made with locally sourced quality ingredients and freshly made to order.
We can not recommend this B and B highly enough and will be certain to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOGtravellerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews