We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Holiday Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Avalon Cottage

Living Room with Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room with Dining area
Living Room Fully fitted kitchen with dishwasher
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Living Room with Dining area
Living Room
Fully fitted kitchen with dishwasher
Bedroom with 6' wide superking bed
Bedroom
Shower Room
Shower Room
Front lawn from Living Room/Conservatory
View from Bedroom Window
The Conservatory
Making hay
The village pub built with mellow hamstone (450 yards)
The pub has a lovely garden for those summer evenings
Winter sunrise over East Lambrook (sunsets are just as spectacular)
A local footpath by the brook
RHS Rosemoor Gardens at Torrington
Burrow Farm Gardens near Axminster
Tintinhull (National Trust)
Lytes Cary Manor (National Trust)
Barrington Court (National Trust)
Wells Cathedral from the Bishop's garden
Avalon Cottage from the drive
Avalon Cottage from the front lawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Petherton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
andysue47
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We selected this lovely cottage using TripAdvisor reviews. The cottage did not disappoint. On our arrival, Isabel the owner greeted us and showed us our accommodation for the week. Flowers, wine and biscuits were a very nice welcome gesture. The cottage is immaculately clean, light and airy with well-appointed facilities. The views from the bedroom were picture postcard.

We bought provisions from a supermarket on our way to the cottage, thinking we would cook some of our meals, but found ourselves eating out every night in the local pub, ‘The Rose & Crown.’ The food and hospitality here were fantastic. However, if you do wish to cook, the kitchen has every utensil you may require.

There’s lots to explore in the area, miles and miles of public footpaths, Peter recommended we walk up Burrow Hill and lent us an OS map. The views from Burrow Hill are amazing and it’s worth visiting the Cider & Brandy Distillery opposite.

This area is an ideal base to explore south west England. Still so much of the area we want to see, hoping for a return next year. Thank you Isabel & Peter for making our stay so comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandrbroo...
Sheerness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and restful retreat.”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

lovely holiday cottage in beautiful surroundings. Hosts, Isabel and Peter very helpful, being available yet unobtrusive. Cottage an excellent base for visiting the numerous historic sites around, as well as the better known such as RNAS museum and Haynes motor museum. The antique centres in Crewkerne and Honiton well worth a visit.
We enjoyed a really relaxing week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Not applicable -
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David & C...
Ponteland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A really great cottage in a lovely area”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our second trip to Avalon Cottage and it was equally as good as previously. Isabel and Peter were extremely hospitable and we loved their 'welcome gifts' of wine, biscuits and flowers.
The area has a plethora of places to visit, both private and National Trust, so there was plenty to keep us occupied.
We enjoyed good weather again and would certainly recommend the cottage and this area of Somerset for a relaxing holiday, though if you wanted a little more exercise, there are, as Isabel said, lots of footpaths to walk.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyandCl...
Huissen
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We returned to this lovely cottage again, this time in the summer, and it was a delight. The cottage is still very comfortable and Isabel and Peter are wonderful hosts. The surrouding countryside is even more beautiful this time of year and we enjoyed some gorgeous walks. We also visited the cottage gardens in the village and spent a happy afternoon there. On our walks we also managed to include Provender, a great deli in South Petherton and we had several excellent meals in the Rose and Crown in East Lambrook.
We can't wait to return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the accommodation
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect base for exploring South Somerset”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This well-appointed and well-equipped bungalow on the edge of the small village of East Lambrook provided a comfortable base for exploring the Somerset Levels and sampling its natural history (birds and landscape), economic activities (pottery and glassblowing) and properties (Barrington Court and Hestercombe). The welcome from the owners was warm. Our one visit to eat at the local pub, the Rose and Crown, was very acceptable at the price.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseH19...
Albufeira, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Once again, faultless, warm, comfy and so well equipped.”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is our second visit to Avalon Cottage and once again we were delighted. Spacious and plenty of room to move around, which suits us as my husband has difficulty in walking. We visit family in South Petherton and unfortunately were not able to get to the pub. Will endeavour to come in Spring or Autumn next time. Thank you Isobel and Peter for making us so welcome and for the wine and biscuits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian g
Blyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage in ideal location.”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage is very comfortable,Ideal for two people,with everything you need for your stay.
It is set in a lovely location a five minute walk to the village pub,which serves great meals.
A big thank you to Isobel and Peter for allowing us to use their cottage and also for the welcoming bottle of wine and biscuits.
Will definitely return.
Ian and Angie.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing