We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Margery Fish's former garden.”

East Lambrook Manor Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Briport
Level Contributor
164 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Margery Fish's former garden.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This garden has undergone a number of changes in the years I have lived locally, but now seems to have settled down with its current owner. I understand that the garden is still laid out to Margery Fish's design with many of the plants there, but there are a number of changes, e.g. a raised bed for snowdrops at the end of the plant sales area.
Plants offered for sale cannot necessarily be found in the garden, but there is a selection that ranges from the mundane to the very unusual.
There is also a cafe/restaurant which I have never used, but the food does look (and smell) okay.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    4
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wear long trousers!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very pretty cottage-style garden and we spent a pleasant couple of hours here. Many of the plants grow over the paths, however, and, as they were wet, we ended up covered in dew and pollen. I was wearing cropped trousers and was worried I'd be stung by one of the many tiny bees which were enjoying the flowers. The cafe only sells hot drinks and cake but there are benches to accommodate a picnic and, if you are sufficiently inspired, you can buy many of the plants and create your own Manor Garden at home!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Lavington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful garden”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited on a sunny day in May and were delighted to find a colourful array of plants in this well set out garden. The different garden areas were thoughtfully laid out and carefully tended. The staff were friendly and welcoming. A thoroughly enjoyable visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely garden.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a lovely garden. It is fairly small but is crammed with a wonderful array of plants. It is set out in a very pleasing manner. There's lots here for the keen gardener to talk about.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vamoose1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Quintessential Cottage Garden. Enjoyment and inspiration.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Hard to say what hasn't already been said about this inspirational garden that continues to delight many years after the demise of its original creator. Current owners have scoured and re-done much-needed work in certain areas (eg I couldn't believe their apple harvests! Before many apple trees were bowed under climbing roses that desperately needed control for both the rose and the tree's sake). Although this cottage garden peaks in spring/early summer, the gardeners also ensure there is much as possible to please in every season. Oh, and the plant sales area is VERY tempting!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Lambrook Manor Gardens also viewed

South Petherton, Somerset
 

Been to East Lambrook Manor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing