We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value travellers hotel - Not so good Thai restaurant!”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent value travellers hotel - Not so good Thai restaurant!”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I take to task the comment of one reviewer who states the Highfield is overated - What were they expecting at the price - the Ritz!!! A review has to be comparable with what's being charged - you wouldn't expect haute cuisine at MacDonalds prices so lets be real here! The Highfield is an excellent value hotel for business people on a budget (that's me when I stay here). So yes - the McDonalds of hotels where it compares very well with Premier Inns and Travel lodges on quality and beats them hands down on value! And generally, all you get with a Travel lodge in the way of food is a Little Chef next door! Rooms are modern, clean with tea making facilities, en suite etc and more importantly - warm despite very cold weather during my stay! there's good parking right outside - important if you worry about your car being broken into! A warm welcome too from the Highfield staff. Sadly the warm welcome didn't extend to the Thai restaurant. Thailand promotes itself as the land of smiles - The Thai waiter clearly wasn't aware of his cultural obligations and maintained a surly demeanour. His defence may have been a lack of command of the English language. Still, a smile would have gone a long way. The Thai restaurant on the night of my stay was a little disappointing - maybe because it was a Sunday chef. I ordered the Thai red curry which was shown as hot dish on the menu - It was a rather bland mild dish with little in the way of aromatic spices and tastes that I would have expected. It was therefore on the pricey side for the quality. Next visit I'll be giving the bar food a try. Yes - I've stayed in better places but not at the prices charged at the Highfield so excellent value for those on a budget but not so sure about the Thai restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold_Worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    108
    37
    20
    7
See reviews for
68
94
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Booked in last min,amazing i go this area so often,but never knew this place was here,ill be stopping here now everytime i travel up this way from now on.Great food,nice staff and the rooms are the best ive stopped in for a while.im a happy man and will be booking in here very soon..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevevtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The best thing about this hotel are the staff ... all very friendly and anxious to help in whatever way they could, but the room left a lot to be desired. We booked a superior room, and they assured me that the room assigned to us was, in fact, one of their four superior rooms. When we questioned the fact that we could not locate a telephone, we were told that NONE of the rooms were equipped with a telephone!! The light over the sink did not work and the cold tap couldn't be turned off completely.....the shower worked at the same time as the taps!!! No door on the wardrobe. Basically, it's an old hotel (maybe forty years or so it seems to me) that just never kept apace with the times ... and what was that horrible dribble of a stain on the inside of the lift doors ... one can only imagine.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bricana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here Tuesday night and the staff were very friendly, the room was comfortable and warm enough, loads of hot water, plenty of tea & coffee & a lift to all floors so I could take my tools into my room easily (I never leave them in my van but in some places it is a nightmare getting them to the room). I had a good nights sleep and breakfast was really nice with plenty of choice. I would definately stay here again but this time I would try and arrive in time to sample the restaurant.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank miniman747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby Ravensworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Room was actually nicely fitted out, bit damp behind curtains because of condensation but did not affect the stay at all, it was cheap, and clean (what I wanted in this case) staff were friendly if a little absent on check in and on return later in evening and morning. Bathroom was dated but again clean, bath was deep with plenty of hot water. Television was tricky to work. Breakfast wasn't great but it was value for money. Bed was HUGE and comfortable. All in all very good and I would recommend highly if you are looking for a short stay budget hotel near Durham, which was exactly what I went for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Usually stay here when I'm in the area, The rooms I've had are invariably clean and in good repair. Only gripe would be about the road noise, but I'm a light sleeper. The Thai restaurant is exceptionally good, the bar food looked popular as I passed through. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6648John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

looks great from the outside,then you see your room and it all becomes clear that you've made a bad choice! its a knocking shop used by teens and folks having affairs. not a nice place to stay,shame as the bar and eating area is really very nice.

Room Tip: ground floor, faster to get out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton-le-Spring
1.4 mi away
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
7.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: 101 Durham Road | East Rainton, Houghton-le-Spring DH5 9QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Houghton-le-Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houghton-le-Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated between the A1(m) and A19 between Sunderland and Durham on the A690. It has a well-appointed Thai restaurant - the longest established in the North East. The bedrooms have wifi connectivity and sky TV. All bedrooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Houghton-Le-Spring, Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing