We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful service and beautiful food”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful service and beautiful food”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

As always, our food was cooked to perfection with delicate spices and attention to detail. Service was friendly and attentive without being pushy.
The setting and ambience all add to the experience.
Would highly recommend this restaurant.
We have never had a less than amazing meal here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    102
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
66
91
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Ideally suited for park and ride, visiting Durham or Newcastle area
Staff were very friendly ,polite and went out of their way to make stay enjoyable.
Room was clean and quiet at back. Lifts available , quiet hallways.
Breakfast was choice and sufficient.
Dinner in Thai style was delicious and ate there both nights as food was fresh and choice of menus, Thai or pub style too.
Family owned and staff chatty and looked happy at work.
Excellent value for money and would stay there when next in area.

Room Tip: Rooms at back away from busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretTMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here recently as was an ideal location for visiting Durham University on their open day. l think that most b and b and hotels took advantage of the demand for overnight accommodation apart from here. Normal prices for a family room and a really comfortable room it was. Well presented with tea/coffee making in the rooms, and all being en-suite and although very near a main road you would not have known it. As a previous review has mentioned not everything was in order but nothing that would put anybody off from staying here.
We didnt eat here the evening we stayed as we ventured into Sunderland but there seemed to be plenty of people eating in the restaurant. But we did have breakfast in the morning which was very nice with adequate choice of cooked or otherwise. We opted for the cooked breakfast which was nicely cooked, hot and presented in a good area of the room, so it was not in anybodys way.
All in all, a good place to stay and l forgot to mention ....it is also ideally located for the park and ride into Durham. If we were in the area again and needed a place to stay would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALCIE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Working up North for a couple of days I did a search for accommodation and found the Highfield at half the price of anything in the area at £35 a night. What's the snag? There is none! I did arrive on one of the hottest days of the year and enjoyed a pint sat in the sun. No real ale but plenty for the lager drinker and the John Smiths I had was as good as I've had. The rooms are well decorated, nice hot bath, the shower is one that links to the bath taps so the secret is to get the temperature sorted running into the bath then change to the shower setting. I didn't eat there but what I saw looked palatable with bar snacks and the Thai restaurant on site. Plenty of parking with free wifi that didn't need a password. Was impressed that a fan was put in the room as well. Will definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Booked this after being tempted by the Thai meal, followed by bed and breakfast at the adjoining hotel. For £99 I have to say this was well worth it.

The place itself has the hotel on the upper two floors with the ground floor split into a Thai restaurant and an adjoining bar.

The bedroom was clean and well prepared. The odd thing here and there not brilliant but nothing to spoil the stay unless you are one of those contributors who oozes negativity and puts photos of even the slightest thing wrong in this site.

The meal was very nice and served by friendly and very efficient staff. Likewise the breakfast the next morning. A good choice and although I have had bigger breakfasts it was still more than adequate.

A big plus is the very reasonable bar prices for before / after you meal, no different to standard pub prices which I think is rare for a hotel these days.

So all in all very pleasant hassle free night. The place its self is borderline in need of a modernisation so dont book here if you like things shiny and new or you'll end up dissappointed, I certainly wouldnt refer to this place as dated and tired as some have.

The staff were all very friendly also as a plus point

Room Tip: If the view from your room is important then request a room facing the A690 ie front facing which gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrubberphobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel was recommended by a colleague. An ideal business traveller's hotel, this is my second visit to the Highfield (wished I'd found it before) and sadly probably my last as the company I visit has closed. This hotel ticks all the boxes - Good parking, choice of either Thai or Bar food (if you're here for a week you may not want Thai every night) and offers good value for money with more charm than a chain. Friendly helpful, welcoming staff and a bar that bustles. There's the obligatory widescreen television in the bar but the programmes shown are a balance so you don't suffer constant sport (read football) or constant pop music. I had found the Thai restaurant rather disappointing on my last visit but I'm a real Thai food fan so I decided to give it another go. This time I was visiting mid-week and what a difference. The staff were welcoming and the food was everything I'd hope for - Spicy, fragrant - Very good. I do wonder whether the chef had run out of essential ingredients from a busy Saturday when I last dined here on a Sunday. The restaurant seems to do special deals on price (seem to remember early starter meals so worth checking, you don't want to miss out by a few minutes). Sadly, probably my last visit here but went out an a high, many thanks to all at the staff at the Highfield!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold_Worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed here on the second half of a weekend after our first choice was double booked......turned out much better then the other one, but that was really the only plus point. Other than the very friendly staff on reception, we didn't find many positive things.
The large bed (two singles pushed together) was very hard & uncomfortable, the decor in the room dated & the breakfast..........well what can I say! Not worth the extra £10.
Coffee was just awful, orange juice warm and cooked breakfast was pretty tasteless. The black pudding was stodgy, the poached egg well overdone & the tomatoes out a tin!
Cheap and cheerful stay - stay only if you want a base - 30 minute bus ride from Durham - and don't bother with breakfast.

Room Tip: Probably best with a twin room - twin beds pushed together is NOT a large kingsize or double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonD1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlee141, Manager at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for your review, hopefully i can address some points raised in your post. The two singles are zip and link beds. Like many hotels we use this system to increase flexability which inturn allows us to keep our prices down. I will note that the extra £10 for breakfast is based upon two persons which we belive represents excelent value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton-le-Spring
2.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
5.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
4.9 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: 101 Durham Road | East Rainton, Houghton-le-Spring DH5 9QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Houghton-le-Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houghton-le-Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated between the A1(m) and A19 between Sunderland and Durham on the A690. It has a well-appointed Thai restaurant - the longest established in the North East. The bedrooms have wifi connectivity and sky TV. All bedrooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Houghton-Le-Spring, Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing