We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highfield Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallgarth Manor House(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel(Washington)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
104
121
41
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
121
41
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restauranta family run hotelpenshaw monumentdual carriagewaydurham areagood sizebar mealsspecial offerbreakfast is servedslept really wellrooms are clean and comfortablehotel staypriced hotelsky sportsbed and breakfasttravel lodgetea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Clean functional hotel, good size rooms and nice Thai resto (though portions are small) - the only down side is there is no real ale in the bar - staff are very helpful and friendly (although the locals told me the lady owner could be a bit moody I saw no evidence of this).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions, the Thai food restaurant is really good, as is the bar food in the hotel bar. Some rooms have been modernised and some are still waiting! The staff are always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There is a big carpark to the side should the one at the front of the hotel be full.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitchGunnPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

As always, our food was cooked to perfection with delicate spices and attention to detail. Service was friendly and attentive without being pushy.
The setting and ambience all add to the experience.
Would highly recommend this restaurant.
We have never had a less than amazing meal here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Ideally suited for park and ride, visiting Durham or Newcastle area
Staff were very friendly ,polite and went out of their way to make stay enjoyable.
Room was clean and quiet at back. Lifts available , quiet hallways.
Breakfast was choice and sufficient.
Dinner in Thai style was delicious and ate there both nights as food was fresh and choice of menus, Thai or pub style too.
Family owned and staff chatty and looked happy at work.
Excellent value for money and would stay there when next in area.

Room Tip: Rooms at back away from busy road
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretTMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here recently as was an ideal location for visiting Durham University on their open day. l think that most b and b and hotels took advantage of the demand for overnight accommodation apart from here. Normal prices for a family room and a really comfortable room it was. Well presented with tea/coffee making in the rooms, and all being en-suite and although very near a main road you would not have known it. As a previous review has mentioned not everything was in order but nothing that would put anybody off from staying here.
We didnt eat here the evening we stayed as we ventured into Sunderland but there seemed to be plenty of people eating in the restaurant. But we did have breakfast in the morning which was very nice with adequate choice of cooked or otherwise. We opted for the cooked breakfast which was nicely cooked, hot and presented in a good area of the room, so it was not in anybodys way.
All in all, a good place to stay and l forgot to mention ....it is also ideally located for the park and ride into Durham. If we were in the area again and needed a place to stay would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALCIE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews