We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I paid £41 for a single room with breakfast. Hotel is very basic and run down next to a busy main road. The room is ok but my bathroom was filthy. Shower needs a good deep clean and the sink was totally cracked in more than one place. I ate in the Thai restaurant. The food was ok but portions very small. For an hour I was the only person in the restaurant.

Ok if all you need is a bed for the night to break your travelling.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RH_from_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlee141, Manager at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. As you did state you choose our basic room package. We do have other rooms which are available for extra includeing our double and superior rooms. Our bathrooms are going to refurbishment as we speak however a busy summer has slowed down progress.

If you are in the area again I would love to show you one of these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    100
    34
    19
    7
See reviews for
65
90
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I visited recently with a friend to have lunch in the Thai restaurant. The welcome was friendly from the lady in the deserted bar.
Drinks were obtained and we were informed that we could go into the restaurant when we were ready.
On entering the large restaurant we realised we were the only two people there! The place was empty.
We chose our starters & main courses which arrived in a timely manner. Very small portions however.
The BBQ chicken I had was 75% meat - 25% skin & gristle. Not great at all. When I mentioned this to the waitress she told me that "Thai people eat everything..." It's a pity I'm not from Thailand. I've eaten Thai food on many occasions and have never been served chicken skin before. Most unappetising.
Maybe there's a reason that the restaurant remained empty during our entire visit?
Disappointing.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlee141, Manager at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello and thank you for your review and dining with us under the groupon deal we ran a few weeks ago. Our chicken in cooked in the skin so as not to dry out. It is also possibly the tastiest part of the dish infused with our marinate. I'm sorry that this dish wasn't too your taste and if your in the area again I maybe able to recommend something more to your liking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Highfield the night before she started at Durham university - I hadn't managed to get a room in the City itself and in the event, this was a good location as it is easy to find with plenty of parking and just 10 minutes drive away. This is not a typical hotel as most of the ground floor is taken up with a large (and evidently popular) bar and restaurant. The room itself was roomy and of a good standard although the bathroom was a little tired. A couple of small niggles - the room was also very warm but as we were on the ground floor and close to a road, we didn't want to open the window (I suspect that the central heating kicked in without taking the unseasonal warm weather into account) - also, the bathroom could do with a towel rail. Breakfast is buffet style and very good. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would happily return although if on my own, would not feel comfortable eating in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the main road and not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlee141, Manager at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Our bathrooms have undergone refurbishments at the start of the year and we will continue to do so toward the festive season. Please with your daughter all the best with University and hopefully we will see you when visiting the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Found this hotel after searching Tripadvisor, The hotel staff are excellent, the room was more than adequate being a good size and with superb views from the balcony, I would not fault the hotel. The Thai restaurant was a little dissappointing ordered the banquet for two, was told that one of the starters was no longer available so we were offered an alternative from the otherstarters, however when the starters came the alternative was not there, two of the staff seem to know what is going on but the Oriental waitress who had a very limited command of English did not seem to know what had been ordered, when the main courses came,one of the four dishes,, a chicken in Oyster sauce seemed to be missing the chicken and we gave up trying to explain. In generalthe food was good,just let down by the waiting staff. Breakfast was fair,though very limited choice. I would certainly stay at this hotel again, maybe go for a bar snack next time.

Room Tip: ask for one with a balcony on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlee141, Manager at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. I am please you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future! We have recently recruited a few new members of staff who I belive had just started on the night of your visit. I appreciate this is no excuse for poor service as our service is something we pride our selves upon however I can assure the same would not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for 1 x Saturday night in August.

The staff seemed pleasant enough and given the amount we had paid for our stay we were happy with our room which seemed clean & comfortable, if not a little dated.

We were shattered after a busy day so we opted to eat dinner in the hotel's Thai restaurant which was really good, we then had a drink in the bar before taking an early night.

We were awoken at 2am by someone attempting to enter our room but thought it was just another resident who had perhaps had a little too much liquer and would realise that he was at the wrong room. Sure enough the guy went away, only to return a few minutes later with the night porter who promptly opened our room door with the master key and let the drunken fellow into our room!!
When myself & my wife shouted out in shock the guy left our room quite quickly.
I'm just amazed that the night porter let him into our room without the checking the guys name against the resident records.

I have to say that when we complained the following day the reception staff were professional and totally apologetic and offered compensation but I guess you stay in a hotel for a peaceful nights sleep hence the poor review.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlee141, Owner at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. I can only apologise for the intrusion on the morning of your stay. As you said the night porter did accompany the guest however it is unacceptable that you were disturbed especially at this hour. We have since up into place procedures which ensure this mistake will not happen again and are in the process of upgrading our lock system at the moment to RFID cards with a dead bolt system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on August 31st, and had a few issues at check in, some my fault, others the hotels.

I am not going to list the issues I had, because this morning I've received a delightful call from the manager apologising for the time we had. The manager has assured me they have taken my points on board and are taking measures to sort them out for their next visitors.

This hotels staff are extremely helpful, polite and friendly. They not only made all of the bad things a little better but they have gone out if their way to be courteous and call me to explain the issues raised.

I would give this hotel another go, maybe it was just a bad weekend and an unlucky one at that.

Thank you Highfield Hotel for restoring my faith in customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Clean functional hotel, good size rooms and nice Thai resto (though portions are small) - the only down side is there is no real ale in the bar - staff are very helpful and friendly (although the locals told me the lady owner could be a bit moody I saw no evidence of this).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton-le-Spring
2.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
5.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
4.9 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: 101 Durham Road | East Rainton, Houghton-le-Spring DH5 9QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Houghton-le-Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houghton-le-Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated between the A1(m) and A19 between Sunderland and Durham on the A690. It has a well-appointed Thai restaurant - the longest established in the North East. The bedrooms have wifi connectivity and sky TV. All bedrooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Houghton-Le-Spring, Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing