We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a Saturday night didn't get off to a good start no notification of my reservation not what you want after I long journey. The room itself was large a bit dated everything chipped. Bathroom was horrible cold tap leaked at the top when you used. Couldn't get cold tap on in bathroom for an am shower took me about 10 mins. No bin at all. Hair dryer didn't work. This room was cheap and clean but would rather stay premiere inn or travel lodge for the same money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank 9san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlee_limratana, Manager at Highfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hello and thank you for your review. Hopefully I can address some of the points raised in your review.

The room reserved was our basic twin room at £50 a night which for £25 per person on a Saturday night provides great value for money, even in comparison with a premier inn, where a twin room on the same night would cost £70 to £80.

The bathroom, although clean I would agree is dated however is due to be refinished in the next few weeks. We have completed a number of our other bathrooms with great results and I am sure you would also be impressed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Heaven only knows what some people expect for the money they pay. All I can say is what great value for money with friendly and helpful staff. Ok if one was really picky, perhaps the en suite could do with a face lift but it was very clean just like the room. Food was really tasty and it's a long time since I have had a steak I could eat without chewing for hours.
We'll done Highfield, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: A busy road is quite close so if you need perfect quiet, let the staff know for a room the 'quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0ny_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had some of our employees stay here for4 nights in the week, they were very impressed with the accommodation the rooms were clean and tidy and very close to the nearby village.
I have a tight budget for booking the rooms and this was very good for the amount we paid. Would definitely book them again here

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Very reasonable prices, staff are great and the room was very nice. I was here on business and will definatly be staying here again. Easy access off the a1 and lots of on site parking. Bar and Thai restaurant below but I was late arriving so didnt get chance to try tgem out.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Visiting relatives newly moved to the area,this looked ideal for one night and hosting six for dinner. As it was late December wasnt worried about being close to main road,in fact after a 200 mile drive that was a bonus!
Very warm reception from the owner's son at 3.45 and were pleased to be offered a free upgrade to the Bridal Suite,which was on the main road side but with a great view and little noise through the double glazing! However it was FREEZING! Contacted reception and were told heating came on at 4.30. In December! Was told the heating would be activated immediately and was offered electric heater from reception to keep us alive. When heat did come on it only reached halfway up the radiators,which obviously needed bleeding.The room was a good size,stylish six foot bed,with a jacuzzi type bath in the large,interestingly tiled bathroom. Two further drawbacks,no toilet roll holder so contortions were needed to access the items behind you and a kettle with a very short cable which meant crawling about on the deck under the worktop to plug it in!
Now the good bit. We obviously went down (good lift) to the lovely warm attractive bar well before our guests arrived,drank real ale (now on) etc and chatted to the friendly bar staff and the lady owner. We had already established that we could order from the bar menu in the Thai restaurant if anyone wanted to.
Staff were very helpfull and efficient,especially when finding the best lit table as one of the party is visually impaired,the food was very good the drink prices very reasonable(Muscadet sur lie £16)
and although the party were still seated long after the other diners had left,there was no pressure to move.
Funny business at breakfast, writing out your order on printed forms but that was adequate also.
Will stay again

Room Tip: I surpose the main road side could be noisy if windows were open in warm weather(could happen) but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

stayed 3 nights room was clean breakfast was not hot and portions small also ate at the thai restaurant again portions very small and not cheap food was ok staff very helpfull and friendly has a bar but it was very quiet the few locals that came in were very friendly

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 588mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed here on a business trip, chose hotel due to how near it was to the venue. Its a very basic hotel one of my colleagues was checked into the same room as another who had already left all his things in there. Glad this was the case an not a complete stranger being checked in to the same room!

Room was next to the main road which was very noisy all night (could invest in some double glazing) Ironing board is affixed to the wall right next to the TV and massively awkward to use. Shower leaked all over the floor and straight through to the carpet when use (Not just in my room either) which soaked everything in the bathroom.
Bed was terrible I didn't sleep at all! I felt like finding a homeless person and asking them if they wanted to swap for the night.

Thai restaurant downstairs - My colleagues said the Thai menu was nice. I ate from the bar menu and had steak and chips with mushroom sauce and salad, what I got was a piece of meat that im not quiet sure what animal it came from, Chips and mushroom gravy with salad. Needless to say I didn't dare eat it.

If you have a better option elsewhere, go for it

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allayupma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlee141, Manager at Highfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello and thank you for your review. The mix up was mainly due to the guest reservation though booking.com being reserved under the same name for all rooms however the issue was resolved straight away, and in no case could a guest outside of your party have checked in to their room. All of our rooms do have double glazing and if you had wanted a stand alone ironing board then one is available at reception.

I have since checked the issue with the shower and there was a slight leak at the side of the shower head which has since been replaced.

The room which you and your colleagues paid for was £36.00 per night which included large, king sized bed & 32" flat screen tv's. To be perfectly honest if you can find a better value for money room, I would also say go for it as I believe in term of price, amenities & quality we are the most competitive in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton-le-Spring
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#14 of 18 in Durham
230 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.9 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: 101 Durham Road | East Rainton, Houghton-le-Spring DH5 9QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Houghton-le-Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houghton-le-Spring
Price Range: £48 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated between the A1(m) and A19 between Sunderland and Durham on the A690. It has a well-appointed Thai restaurant - the longest established in the North East. The bedrooms have wifi connectivity and sky TV. All bedrooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Houghton-Le-Spring, Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing