We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Happy Birthdays in a Week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Two Happy Birthdays in a Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have had two birthdays this week, my daughter and her partner. We went last Saturday for her partners birthday. Four generations of. My family were there. We had two babies who were seated in immacculate high chairs. We chose from their two meals for just under a tenner. These were by no means small portions. Some of us plummed for the English and some the Thai. Yesterday we were once again celebrating and decided to go again to the Highfield. We were. Definitely not disappointed once again. At this rate I think we will be going more often as this is cheaper than McDonalds and much better meals. These portions are filling for even my 19stone inlaw. I am definitely going to become a regular visitor.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpyoldwoman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    98
    34
    19
    7
See reviews for
64
84
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Good food, good choice of menu. Well priced for food and drinks. good atmosphere.
staff were friendly and at hand when needed anything. Sat in bar area after meal and had a few drinks, very relaxing.
will be back soon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Exceptional and helpful staff.
facilities always clean with fantastic food both at breakfast and in the Art of Siam Thai restaurant.
The hotel is situated in an excellent location with easy access to both the A1M and A19 linking to all shopping and tourist attractions in the north east.
Certainly recommend the Highfeld Hotel for any type of stay.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel have a fantastic view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here last Saturday night and was very impressed! The staff were friendly without being fake, the bed was comfortable and the room lovely. We had breakfast brought up to our room which was a lovely touch. Will definitely stay here again when back in the north-east visiting family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My parents, sister and I stayed here for 5 nights, using it as a base whilst visiting relatives. We had two twin rooms overlooking a690 which could be a little noisy at times but certainly didn't spoil our stay. Despite being above a bar and restaurant there was no disturbance and my parents do like to turn in early and are very light sleepers! Breakfast was very nice, choices of cereal as well as cooked breakfast - tea, coffee and juice. Our rooms were clean and comfortable with en suite bathrooms, lovely soft white towels :) But for me personally the best thing about the Highfield Hotel was the staff.......always smiling and never too busy to chat. Every member of staff was charming and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely return. It may be a little basic for some but you can't beat that 'northern hospitality'

Room Tip: Maybe less traffic noise at the back :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACQUELINEW110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for the 2nd time we loved it so much the last time we brought my wifes 2 sisters and there husbands we all had a great time and we all thought the food in the Thai restaurant which is part of the hotel was fantastic will definitely be back again wonderful advert for fine food and friendly service

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Booked on booking.com and liked that it was reasonably priced and didn't charge my credit card until the day of our stay. We were there as we were going to see 1D at the Stadium of Light. I believe the hotel is about 8 miles from the stadium. It was a filthy, rainy day and after driving most of it, I didn't feel like driving anymore. The lady at the desk told us that a bus just outside the hotel would take us into Sunderland and that there were buses put on after the concert to bring us back. So that's exactly what we did and it worked out just fine. The staff are second to none; friendly, polite, accommodating and generally nice people. That in itself is one reason to return. Our room was spacious to say the least. My daughter and I shared the king sized bed and slept very well. For some reason I didn't book the breakfast option and in the morning went down and asked if we could eat breakfast. It was 8.45 am and they were getting ready to finish up breakfast but accommodated us anyway. We were not made to feel rushed and my cooked breakfast was lovely. Another family came in at 9.15 am and they too were welcomed in. My only criticism (constructive) would be: clean the fan in the bathroom (far too much dust on it) and include literature in the rooms about the hotel (breakfast, lunch and dinner times, menu, etc.) and information about the surrounding area. That would be lovely. In all though, thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Our room faced the A1 but had a lovely view. When the window is closed it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton-le-Spring
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.4 mi away
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: 101 Durham Road | East Rainton, Houghton-le-Spring DH5 9QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Houghton-le-Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houghton-le-Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated between the A1(m) and A19 between Sunderland and Durham on the A690. It has a well-appointed Thai restaurant - the longest established in the North East. The bedrooms have wifi connectivity and sky TV. All bedrooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Houghton-Le-Spring, Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing