We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding”
Review of The Copt Hill

The Copt Hill
Price range: US$3 - US$40
Cuisines: French, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a classic British Restaurant with incredible views from the dining area, serving only genuine locally sourced and homemade food. We have created a new menu which will be updated seasonally to take advantage of the amazing local produce we have available in the north east, and there will always be special dishes available to tempt your taste bud. We also have special menus available during the week: Monday to Saturday we offer daily three course specials from £6.95, Monday Evening is Pie night for only £7.95, Tuesday from 5 pm we host a French evening £30 for two people, Thursday is our grill night £7.50 Per person For more information about our specials check out our website or Facebook page "The Copt Hill" Don't worry if you aren't visiting us for food you can always take advantage and relax in our comfortable Bar / Lounge with a drink alongside our traditional coal fire. Or sit outside in our large Beer Garden enjoying the sun and great views! Our large function room is ideal for special occasions, weddings, birthdays, corporate events and any other gathering you have in mind. We can create a great menu for your event from a small bespoke buffet to a sumptuous 5 course meal. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We chose the cornfield suite for our wedding reception and cannot fault anything at all. the food was incredible the service excellent and the staff helped to make our wedding very special. highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNDJ2014, Owner at The Copt Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi
Im pleased we made your special day extra special, Thanks for your great comments hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 329 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Called in on speck yesterday for lunch, 28 March 2014.
Staff and management very welcoming.
3 Course meal £5.95, excellent, value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DotGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNDJ2014, Owner at The Copt Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi
Thanks for your great review, hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Tracey organised a diamond wedding anniversary for her great parents and my in-laws last Saturday, 22/03/14. Nothing was to much trouble for the new owners and management. The buffet was excellent and catered for three coeliac guests as well as 65 others. Everything was first rate and the management listened to our needs and provided a setting for an excellent experience. Parents, family and guests were full of praise for the venue. Highly recommend to any one who wants to hold a party. Tracey, granddaughter Poppy and I visit on a weekly basis and the food now has become second to none. The duck and braised brisket of beef, along with the lemon tart and cinder toffee, are a delight to the taste buds. Excellent in every way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sharpleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNDJ2014, Owner at The Copt Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi
Thanks for your great comments I'm pleased we could provide a great experience for you and your guests after all that's what we are here for and we look forward to seeing you all soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Having booked for 12.30 and got sat down on time, we ordered drinks and then waited for someone to take our food order which was quite a while. After receiving tickets for carvery we went to queue but was asked to sit back down until queue had eased, ater 55 minutes we sat down to our meal. Then ensued a member of staff, not sure who, belittling another member of staff for giving away a table to someone by saying find out who done this and ask them if they want to go to the job centre- very unprofessional and embarrassing to everyone around not just the diners who had been brought though for food then removed from dining area to stand in the entrance once again. A waitress then asked if we were finished while standing over a member of our party who was obviously still eating her food. We got the bill, paid it, only to be short changed. This was sadly not the afternoon we had planned for my father in laws 83rd birthday. Ps. The sprouts were rock hard, please avoid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank swano67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNDJ2014, Owner at The Copt Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Swano67

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I would like to apologise for that we have not afforded you the service you would wish for on this occasion. The "job centre" comment you overheard was a joke that had been running within the team since Friday, however, can easily by misunderstood by customers not privy to the joke, we have taken this on board and addressed it with our team. I apologise for the wait you had, we are working hard to maximise the customer dining experience on Sundays as we sit 107 guests at a time and wish to minimise the queuing time. I have addressed all the service issues with my manager and his service team and they will be used as part of our on going training and development programme. Once again thank you for choosing the Copt Hill and for your review I certainly hope you will give us a chance to show you we can offer the service and meal you wish to receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

it first time we had been to the Copt Hill for a few of months. I have to say , it was the best carvery I have had for a long time! Succulent meat, fresh home made Yorkshire Puddings and freshly cooked veg and you could taste the difference! Makes a change from the usual microwaved offerings! Will not be leaving it so long before we go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveW789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNDJ2014, Owner at The Copt Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi
Thanks for your great review and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Copt Hill also viewed

Chester-le-Street, Durham
 
Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Copt Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing