We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure....”
Review of Manoir Bel Air

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Dye-sur-Loire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manoir Bel Air
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure....”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is probably the best hotel we have stayed in during our trips to France. This was our 5th visit to the hotel in 19 years and the best so far. The attention to detail is fantastic and the food is just brilliant - try the 34 euro menu, I defy anyone to find better value.
Madame and Monsieur Abel are quite reserved and appear not to speak English, but respond well when you converse with them - they are perfectionists and don't go in for small talk, and that's fine.
Put this together with the most beautiful location, terrace restaurant and a stone's throw to the chateaux of the Loire, perfection.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinWilliams62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    34
    11
    12
    4
See reviews for
26
39
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Manoir Bel Air is a the sort of French country hotel you always dream of finding but rarely do. It's in a lovely setting, backing right onto the Loire on the edge of a small village, but well enough off the road to be silent. It's surrounded by pleasant gardens, and has roomy common areas where you can sit and read. Our daughter was able to go down and play totally safely by the river's edge, and we took walks up and down the bike path that runs along the Loire. Our rooms were nothing special but comfortable and roomy. To my amazement, I switched on my laptop and instantly it connected to free wi-fi. Breakfast is substantial by French country hotel standards, with fruit, cereal and yogurt in addition to the usual croissants and coffee. Dinner is superb. The restaurant is clearly well regarded by locals because it was quite full. The 34-euro menu was one of the best value gourmet meals I've ever had in France. The hotel is minutes away from Chambord, and well located for Cheverny and Blois. Chenonceau and Amboise are further, but still within an hour's drive. The owners are a bit reserved. I can see how some reviewers found them frosty, but the younger staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2010

A paradox to this wonderful hotel is the frosty reception. But in the evening we sat on the hotel's terrace and found the waiter and waitress in their restaurant, friendly and providing everyone with outstanding service. The excellent food is mouth-watering and beautifully presented. The hotel and its grounds are magnificent. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a wonderful view of the River Loire. The breakfast room has a view of the river too and the breakfast is average. All in all a quiet, calming, pleasing and relaxing hotel despite the unwelcoming reception.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malea088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay in one of the older rooms. The house and property are beautiful and the room was large. The bathroom was clean and the bed comfortable enough. We were there for a friend's wedding and it was very loud on Saturday night. If there was anyone there trying to sleep at 2am I would have felt bad for them.

One commentor said that the staff was unfriendly and implied it was because they were 2 men in 1 room. They weren't friendly to my husband and I, but I think that was because I barely speak French and she barely spoke English. It wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank arak42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Beautifull building, with style. The personel at reception we're unfriendly when they saw two men booked a double room. We stayed in room 38 with view on the river loire. the room was dark, old but clean. As was the bathroom ensuite which had not been modernised since the 80s. Biggest problem for me however was the bed. Exactly as tall as me 1,9 meters with a foodboard. The matras however was ok.
We stayed for dinner. The restaurant is very beautifully located and overlooking the river on 3 sides. The interior is chique. Gastronomically every thing was just fine but not well proportionned we skipped part of our dessert (of a 3 course meal).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glawen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2006

Absolutely charming and great value.. My wife and I first stayed here 25 years ago and re-visited with our daughter on our way to a holiday in the Tarn.

We remembered clean but old fashioned rooms and great food. Now (under new ownership), the rooms are bright, airy and well cared for with excellent bathrooms and facilities. And, the food is even better than we remembered.

Hotel is situated on the banks of the Loire in a small village 3 miles from the chateau at Chambord and about 10 miles from the town of Blois. Our rooms overlooked the river and there is a large terrace to relax on and enjoy coffee or aperitifs. The welcome from the owners wife was pleasant but cool in a very French way, but he was charming and personally took the order at dinner.

Choice on the cheapest menu (€28) was excellent and the food was of very good quality with large portions and an amazing cheeseboard with about 8 different goats cheese.

Breakfast (€7) was really good with wonderful breads and both regular and chocolate croissants with super jam served in a large pot - no prepacked factory glup !

On paying the bill, I noticed that they hadn't charged for two short calls to London, but when pointing this out, they said that there would be no charge - now that doesn't happen very often.

This hotel deserves your business - either as an overnighter at start or end of a driving holiday or maybe for a few days as a short break visiting the chateau of the area.

  • Liked — Clean, well cared for
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mentioning
  • Tips/Secrets — Well worth visiting - great value and marvellous food
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mixers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Dye-sur-Loire
2.6 mi away
La Maison d'a Cote
La Maison d'a Cote
#1 of 1 in Montlivault
223 reviews
10.5 mi away
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
417 reviews
2.0 mi away
L'Oree de Chambord
L'Oree de Chambord
#1 of 1 in Maslives
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel le Verger
Hotel le Verger
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-Nouan
80 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant du Grand Saint-Michel
8.7 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Bel Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Bel Air

Property: Manoir Bel Air
Address: Saint-Dye-sur-Loire, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Saint-Dye-sur-Loire
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Dye-sur-Loire
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Manoir Bel Air Hotel Saint-Dye-Sur-Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing