We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French country hotel”
Review of Manoir Bel Air

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Dye-sur-Loire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manoir Bel Air
paris
Level Contributor
246 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
“French country hotel”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Manoir Bel Air is a the sort of French country hotel you always dream of finding but rarely do. It's in a lovely setting, backing right onto the Loire on the edge of a small village, but well enough off the road to be silent. It's surrounded by pleasant gardens, and has roomy common areas where you can sit and read.Our rooms were nothing special but comfortable and roomy. To my amazement, I switched on my laptop and instantly it connected to free wi-fi. Breakfast is substantial by French country hotel standards, with fruit, cereal and yogurt in addition to the usual croissants and coffee.The hotel is minutes away from Chambord, and well located for Cheverny and Blois. Chenonceau and Amboise are further, but still within an hour's drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    32
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
34
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

An impressive entrance. Our bikes were safely stored away at the back of the hotel. Our room was pleasant with views over The Loire. A lovely bright dining room. The evening meal was excellent. Large portions. The lamb was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarnac, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A pleasant surprise - excellent accomodation, very good food and impeccable service.

We stayed just the one night as we were passing through the area. Located only a few minutes from the A10 autoroute, the location is superb with excellent views of the Loire river - re-inforced by the possibility to stroll or cycle for miles just above the riverbank. It is also well situated for visiting some of the local chateaus, notably Chambord and Cheverny.

A choice of rooms - the one we selected had all mod cons and an excellent bath/shower room and was tastefully furnished.

Aperitifs on the terrace overlooking the Loire river in the evening was a real pleasure.

The dining options were more than acceptable - we took their 34 € dinner menu and were delighted with what we received. The wine list was impressive but also included many good wines at reasonable prices.

We'll return when we are next in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the choices they have cheaper rooms and more expensive rooms - see their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stumbled across Manoir Bel Air, at lunch time, while visiting local chateaus. It is a Grand hotel overlooking the Loire river, with beautiful grounds and an outstanding restaurant. The menu, posted at their entrance, presents a Fine dining experience in the country side of France. They have a fantastic and reasonably priced wine selection and as we settled on our wine, we were given some fresh bread and a complementary bowl of delicious asparagus soup. My next choice was a mixed salad and when it arrived I could hardly believe this was the salad. It had fresh greens, warm poached apple and a exquisite foie gras. I followed with sliced roasted duck, served with mashed potatoes assembled on top of stewed meat, it was heavenly! I finished with cheese and was presented a tray of about 15 cheeses to choose from, I tried a few local ones and was not disappointed. This was an incredible meal from start to finish and an experience I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This latest business trip was my 3rd visit to Manoir Bel Air and yet again all was just perfect - peaceful setting by the Loire river , comfortable room with a river view and food that simply excites the taste buds,

I look forward to my next visit.............

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed 2 nites, The last of our 7 nites breakaway from Rouen. We come to it by chance. Very accessible from the main road.The reception is manned by a no fussed lady. Take it or leave it style. The elderly sweet guy in the evening is more cheerful. I think he's the owner. We have the choice of two room, chose the one on the 2nd floor, with a huge bathtub, queen size bed.94 euros a nite. Wonderful view of the Loire River. We booked for dinner for our two nite stay. Definitely worth the money. The portion is big, better be hungry when you come down for dinner.Don't want to waste the exquisitely prepared and delicious 3 course dinner service.The wine list is great too. The waiters are attentive and speaks very good English. 30-36 euro per person. Locals comes here too.
The surroundings of the hotel are so relaxing. The Loire River is next door. We had a long walk one morning. Visit the little town. Very friendly lady at the grocery shop. The church nearby is open for visit. Wonderful. Wish we can stay longer. Don't be put off by the lady at the reception. She refilled my hot water flask without fuss and had a little chat with my fiancee.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My partner and I stopped after a long drive at this lovely looking hotel. We were looking forward to some good French wine on the terrace and a well cooked evening meal. The receptionist made us feel so unwelcome that we decided to walk out and seek a more friendly atmosphere which we found in Beaugency.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mojo203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Dye-sur-Loire
2.6 mi away
La Maison d'a Cote
La Maison d'a Cote
#1 of 1 in Montlivault
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant du Grand Saint-Michel
10.5 mi away
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel du Cygne
Hotel du Cygne
#1 of 2 in Bracieux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel le Verger
Hotel le Verger
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-Nouan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel La Bonnheure
Hotel La Bonnheure
#2 of 2 in Bracieux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Bel Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Bel Air

Property: Manoir Bel Air
Address: Saint-Dye-sur-Loire, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Saint-Dye-sur-Loire
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Dye-sur-Loire
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Manoir Bel Air Hotel Saint-Dye-Sur-Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing