We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stayed one night, but it was lovely”
Review of Hotel Le Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Rivage
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gien
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just stayed for one night, as we came to Gien for one purpose only, for the Gien Porcelian. Found this hotel, after spending lot's of money at the factory.
The hotel is very quite, looks over the Loire River. Our room was lovely, with two bathrooms, really a suite, all very nice. The hotel hasn't got a lift, that's why it's only 3 star, but everything else is four to five. The restaurant for breakfast was very pleasant and breakfast was nice.
If I ever to to Gien again I will be staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Rivage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have been staying here for almost 30 years, in this lovley little town on the Loire. The hotel changed hands several year ago and - sadly -it is now just bed & breakfast - but the faded glory of past triumphs linger- and you couldn't find a better spot on this east side of the Loire valley. Rooms are spotlessly clean and nicely maintained, they will need a makeover sometime soon but they are very comfortable and welcoming. We had a larger room overlooking the Loire with seperate bathroom/shower room and WC. The room was lovley and spacious and the secure parking is a nice touch too.

Room Tip: spend a few more euros and upgrade to one of the larger rooms overlooking the river
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Great location overlooking the wide and calmly flowing Loire, just a stones throw from the picturesque bridge. The hotel was perhaps at its peak a few years ago but the room I had was spacious, quiet, well maintained and clean, slightly drab but never the less more than good enough. Breakfast was fine with a lady ensuring that everything went well and the staff at reception were friendly and efficient. Parking was good and secure. This hotel is recomended

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank CecilGgibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed two nights here - towards the beginning of a cycle trip and two weeks later towards the end. Both times the welcome could not have been bettered, our rooms were of a good size with great views over the Loire and the bathrooms similarly large. The breakfasts were excellent.

Room Tip: Book a room at the front to enjoy the views over the Loire. The efficient double glazing completely...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodfansofBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Our room on the third floor (132) was very nice in two parts, the first one with a sofa and a table and the other part with a comfortable double bed. Cost 100 euro per night. No elevator. Nice view overlooking the Loire river.
The wireless internet didn't work everywhere in the room. You had to sit in one corner or outside in the hall. Breakfast was not included, cost 10 euro per person. We had breakfast one day and it was okey. Helpful staff in the reception who managed a little English as well.
Free parking opposite the hotel but also private parking at the yard.
A nice and clean hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meta888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I can't see how the other hotels can be a match a to Le Rivage. Nice building with excellent view overlooking Loire. We got a suite that was very nice. Clean, good beds, nice staff. Breakfast cost extra but was also nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ebbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here, the 1st time being about 7 years ago. The hotel has been well maintained and it has nice sized rooms. I stayed in a deluxe room which was significantly larger than the standard room my friend stayed in. The restaurant that had been in the hotel has now closed. There is free secure parking in the back of the hotel. Gien is a nice palace to stop for a night on a driving tour. There is the chateau and also the world famous faience [like porcelain] factory and shop.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pfmdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gien
0.4 mi away
Anne De Beaujeu Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sanotel
Sanotel
#4 of 5 in Gien
93 reviews
5.5 mi away
Domaine des Roches
Domaine des Roches
#1 of 4 in Briare
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Gien
Ibis Styles Gien
#2 of 5 in Gien
133 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel le Cerf
Hotel le Cerf
#2 of 4 in Briare
96 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Burgevin
Hotel Burgevin
#1 of 4 in Sully-sur-Loire
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Rivage

Address: 1 quai de Nice, 45500 Gien, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Gien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gien
Price Range: £52 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Rivage 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is ideally situated along the Loire where you can walk or catch some rays in the park opposite our hotel. The center, its shops and restaurants are 5 minutes from our hotel and the famous hunting museum and famous pottery of Gien, many pieces are on display in the reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rivage Hotel Gien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing