We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable traditional French style hotel - best for adults”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge des Templiers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boismorand
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable traditional French style hotel - best for adults”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Auberge des Templiers is a comfortable hotel with professional and caring staff . Nice fireplace in the bar. Best for adults, for quiet and discreet retreat close to Paris. As mentioned in a previous review, it is "old school charm" .
We stopped over for Christmas night with our 3 children (14, 12 and 10) on our way to Paris. There were not other children or teens in the hotel. When the season prevents guests from using the park and the swimming pool, the hotel is not meant for kids as there is nothing organized for them. Not even a library area where they can read or watch a movie. We were even slightly surprised by the lack of special attention to children on Christmas eve.
We stayed in the "Chaumiere" part of the hotel and the rooms and bathroom were comfortable. However WIFI did not function properly in he rooms.
Diner in the restaurant was fine. It is traditional French cuisine - not light. Lobster and crab were served in heavy sauce. It is perhaps advisable to choose local venison or meat which makes a better marriage with traditional French sauces. Choice of wines is superb. Good continental buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbxct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    103
    36
    23
    7
See reviews for
49
202
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

For the one who can afford it and can appreciate the beauty of this hotel, it's worth a detour.
Beautiful antique decoration in the whole hotel including the rooms.
One of the most beautiful park we have seen within a hotel ground.
Very nice food and good wines.
That one need to pay a price for all this must be accepted as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurensV592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Excellent location south of Paris, about 4 hours from Calais.
Close to motorway, so easy to get back en route to Switzerland or Southern France.
Good, reasonably priced rooms, clean swimming pool and excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: As the hotel main building is on the main road, make sure you ask for a room in one of the buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a 'grown-up' hotel and is exactly what you expect from Relais & Chateau. Our room was comfortable, if a little dated, with a well-stocked bathroom. Good bed and pillows.
We spent a few hours by the beautiful pool, which had excellent sun-loungers and a telephone to order refreshments (which arrived in minutes)!
Dinner was sublime. We had a six course extravaganza plus various little extras sent from the Michelin Star chef. Delightful staff. Quick service.
Room service for morning tea was amongst the quickest I have experienced. The hotel was very quiet...perhaps it is more busy at weekends due to its relatively close proximity to Paris? Young and old international guests: UK, USA, French.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property as the road at the front is busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It's unfortunate that such a beautiful property did not offer the level of service that one can expect in such place. Maybe it was because we had booked one of the smaller, less expensive rooms, or did not order 500 euro wine? Service at dinner was clumsy, sommelier forgot us, we had to ask for menus and bread... The food kind of saved the day, but I'm not sure it deserves it's 1 Michelin star. Breakfast very average, considering the price (25 euros). It<s a shame because the property is fantastic and gardens are beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have spent 3 days and nights with our kids and my parents joined as well on the last day. We had big and comfortable rooms in the house located in the gardens. We have enjoyed magical moments: fantastic park / gardens - a lot of space and beautiful trees, incredible wine collection to get along with great meals, very helpful and friendly staff. The swimming pool and the tennis court are very well maintained. There are also very nice activities to do in the area. We have felt as very special guests and we will come back for a long weekend near Paris as a retreat or to see more of the castles and wines in the region. For new special moments for the 2 of us or again with kids...

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank morelki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

When the Knights Templar first claimed this sacred spot back in the 12th C, they must have known a thing or two. Set on the main road to the warm south, surrounded by luxuriant forests teeming with game, close to the as yet fledgling settlement of Paris, and boasting a climate well suited to the vine – even those knowing Knights could not have envisioned how their stock would soar. If Stephen B Stern in his “Guide to the Greatest Resorts of the World”, describes it as ‘one of the most comfortable accommodations, combined with great food and service’; if Ian Keown in “European Hideaways” calls this medieval Commanderie of the Knights of the Temple 'one of the most sumptuous watering places in all of France'; and when it has been starred by the Relais & Chateaux Chain ever since this collections conception many years back – you know you are going to be captivated. Royalty has graced its halls, princesses have shined within its walls, James Bond - aka Roger Moore - has dined off tables set below its priceless tapestries, and rumour has it that the legendary Swiss/French actor, Alain Delon, even has his own supper table! Prepare to be entranced: the noble, capable and talented owners, François and Philippe Dépée will ensure your comfort and satisfaction.

From the first moment of our arrival, the ancient half-timbered façade of this charming 17th Century French Inn, enhanced by the array of expensive vehicles parked before the old stables, gave notice of delights to come! We were offered a choice of two apartments: one a spacious suite in the newer wing, including a pretty sitting room – and the second, a large antique-decorated bedroom in the old main house. We opted for the historic aura of the latter. A bottle of complimentary, chilled champagne was brought to our room and, when white orchids and Vogue magazines are part and parcel of the décor and design, you know you are on to something special.

Our first foray was a walk through the manicured, flower-filled gardens, complete with century-old oaks, and then the sun loungers beside the shimmering pool beckoned - and we whiled away the afternoon, in the late sunshine, until the much anticipated dinner hour.

Dinner in the Michelin starred restaurant, watched over by Grands Chefs, was a sumptuous affair impeccably served and charmingly hosted. We enjoyed excellent wines, delicious cuisine and rounded it all off with dreamy, delicate soufflés.

Breakfast the next morning was another milestone and we left sadly, but determined to repeat the whole A-list experience very soon. I envy those who have still to make this find.

Room Tip: If you want a very quiet room request one further from the main road that runs past the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boismorand
10.6 mi away
Domaine des Roches
Domaine des Roches
#1 of 4 in Briare
154 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Le Rivage
Hotel Le Rivage
#1 of 5 in Gien
124 reviews
18.8 mi away
Domaine et Golf Vaugouard
Domaine et Golf Vaugouard
#1 of 1 in Fontenay Sur Loing
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hotel La Closeraie
Hotel La Closeraie
#2 of 4 in Sully-sur-Loire
123 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best Western Les Terrasses De Montargis
4.5 mi away
Le Nuage
Le Nuage
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Templiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Templiers

Property: Auberge des Templiers
Address: Les Bezards, 45290 Boismorand, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Boismorand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boismorand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge des Templiers 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former post house more than 65 years ago into one of the first Relais & Châteaux properties. The Sologne, the Loire chateaux and the vineyards of Sancerre and Pouilly surround this culinary destination full of charm and tranquillity. Facing century-old oak trees, you will be seduced by the magic of ravioli of wild mushrooms and velouté with a truffle jus or John Dory in a La Ratte potato crust and sweet red onion sauce. Prestigious wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge des Templiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Templiers Boismorand
Auberge Des Templiers France/Boismorand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing