We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly Overated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Chandelles Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I know that reviews are very subjective, so, this is my take on this B & B.
In a lovely location, this old farm may once have seen better days, it now seems very dated with rather a slapdash approach to the every day maintenance. Our room had a very average bathroom with a toilet that didn't flush properly and a cupboard under the sink which was still full and overflowing with the previous occupants rubbish. In order to make a cup of coffee in the morning it was necessary to kneel on the floor to plug in and use the kettle and there were no spoons to stir the cups, only plastic stirrers.
The bed was extremely uncomfortable and did not enable a good nights sleep.
We had taken the last available room which happened to be the family room with a little extra room with a bunk bed for children, I suppose it was fair but it seemed a bit off to have to pay the extra that this room costs, even though we didn't use the extra facility.
The room we had was at the end of the corridor on the first floor and necessitated ducking under some low beams, which we were warned about, and made the approach very attractive. What was of more concern were the stairs/steps down to the ground, straight into the courtyard, these were in my view dangerous, especially for someone with any disability of walking or sight, and there was no warning in the particulars. The stairs are extremely narrow and very steep ( I would estimate a 6 or 7 inch tread on a 45 degree rise) very difficult with cases especially as they are also very narrow.
Breakfast was very average, without the traditional ham or cheese, just bread, croissant and juice with yoghurt, all of which is adequate but not what you might expect to get for the high price paid for the room.
This is not a B & B that we would recommend.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy1710, Propriétaire at Les Chandelles Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013
Google Translation

On ne peut pas plaire à tout le monde, vous cherchiez peut-être un hôtel **** vu l'avis détaillé de vos critiques dont certaines ne sont pas justifiées .
Renseignez vous avant toute réservation , sur le style et le genre d'hébergement que vous recherchez avant de réserver dans une chambre d'hôte en pleine campagne...

Tout d'abord nous sommes chambre d'hôte et non professionnel de l'hôtellerie , notre grande différence réside dans la qualité de l'accueil et le soin que nous apportons au confort de nos hôtes et à l'ambiance conviviale indispensable au déroulement d'un séjour agréable

La chambre a été réservé le jour même , c'était la dernière et décrite avant réservation ,c'est une grande chambre familiale de 35 m2 LA FERME ,plafond cathédrale , poutraison apparente , avec une décoration soignée sur le thème des moissons , du blé , outil ancien de la ferme , .... armoire époque Louis XIV ...grand lit 160/200 couchage ferme ( dont on nous fait généralement compliments...car nous recevons beaucoup de sportifs ... ) coin canapé avec un plateau de courtoisie y compris une BOUILLOIRE dans la chambre , vous semblez ne pas l'avoir vu...dommage mais vous avez bien trouvé celle qui est en permanence à disposition dans le salon ( point boisson chaude gratuite évidemment...)
Le wifi vous a été offert comme à tous
Concernant le petit déjeuner nous ne servons jamais de salé , c'est exact , nous sommes en France et voulons respecter notre tradition " baguette/croissants " du bon pain frais et des croissants que nous allons chercher tous les matins
.je suis étonnée de ce commentaire car au petit déjeuner , vous sembliez ravis du restaurant que je vous avais réservé du bouquet de lilas déposé dans votre chambre , du calme des lieux...et vous sembliez avoir très bien dormi!

Pour l'escalier ,c'est vrai qu'il est raide mais surement pas dangereux ... nous sommes ouverts depuis 17 ans et recevons des personnes agées , des personnes handicapées et n'avons jamais eu de problèmes ...on ne mettra pas un ascenseur dans une ferme de 1780......!

La pluie et le mauvais temps ne nous permettre pas actuellement d'avoir des extérieurs aussi fleuris et soignés qu' habituellement, toutes nos excuses...

En conclusion la chambre d'hôte n'est peut-être pas votre "cup of tea"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed for 1 night before our week in Paris, to enjoy the spectacular "sound and lights" show in Chartres. The family room (quad) was very comfortable and clean; good breakfast in the country-decorated kitchen.
Good detailed maps or GPS are helpful, since it is a small village and driving at night might be tricky. Catherine and her dog were charming.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momtripToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We discovered Les Chandelles in a book devoted to French b&b. It is an attractive little place, close to Chartres. We had a large room overlooking the courtyard. It was comfortable. Breakfast was typical for rural France - coffee and croissants, but very tasty. The lady who ran the b&b was very helpful, and directed us to a nearby restaurant for our evening meal. She also told us that it was convenient as a base to explore Paris, which is easily reached from the nearby train station. We had no opportunity to test out this assertion, but we were sufficiently impressed with all aspects of our accommodation that we will probably return and use it as a base to explore Paris. The only problem we had was in locating the place. It really is in a very rural part of the area. If travelling there by car - as we did - I would recommend getting a Michelin road map of the area

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jotheringman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at Les Chandelles for one night to break our trip further south. The welcome was outstanding, the room was very comfortable, breakfast good for a small B&B, Good value for money, and we will stay again. Catherine was very helpful, spoke english and put up with my attempts at french!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Located in a small rural village a few hours drive from Le Havre. The B&B is on the main road behind a large metal gate that leads into a large courtyard with plenty of parking. It's a restored farmhouse, the rooms are located up a steep staircase that leads to a common room that has a small kettle and a few cups. Our room was large and sympathetically restored with bunk beds in a small alcove. Breakfast a simple affair is held in the hosts kitchen. Catherine speaks good English and booked a dinner at nearby Maintanon a lively town with several bars restaurants. The only Cafe in the B&B village was closed for the Summer. There is a nice lake 5 mins drive away with a children's play area. Pleasant but a little over-priced.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kavanagh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed here for the second year in a row. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.This year we enjoyed the use of the communal kitchen area and enjoyed the company of other guests in the evenings in the communal sitting room (tried to improve our French!). Catherine is very accomodating and helpful and a good guide for the local area. She speaks excellent English and always does her best to keep her guests happy (petty complaints are inevitable, but not always justified!). We have no hesitation in recommending this accomodation. It's ideally situated for visiting Versailles and nearby cities. Also it's excellent for cycling around the beautiful countryside and royal villages. We shall return.....................

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyDFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Well located to visit Versailles and Chartres. Secluded in small, quiet village. Owner very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. Kitchen is very limited - no oven, tiny microwave, no freezer. Showers also very basic. Landscaping the same, not a place to rest outdoors. Better to be on your way to explore other areas. Wifi easy peasy to use. All rooms off a common hallway so feels a bit too much like a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Chandelles Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chandelles Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19 rue des Sablons | Chandelles, 28130 Villiers-le-Morhier, Nogent-le-Roi, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Eure-et-Loir > Nogent-le-Roi > Villiers-le-Morhier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Villiers-le-Morhier
Price Range: £74 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 35 minutes from Versailles, 20 km / 2.4 miles from Rambouillet and Chartres, at the crossroadsbetween the streets of Normany, the castles of Loire and the south of France :“ Les Chandelles” offer you in the old farm 19th century renoved, five spacious and comfortable rooms (bathroom, toilet,TV). English and Spanish (elementary) are spokenPrivate and secured parking - Independent entryDogs and cats are not allowedLes Chandelles has five bedrooms, two of which are family'rooms All rooms feature a television , wifi and full private bathroom. The rooms are situated on the first floor to the main house. They have a private entrance, so you can come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Chandelles Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Chandelles Bed & Breakfast France/Villiers-Le-Morhier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing