We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Cartwright Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cartwright Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Cartwright and certainly won't be the last. We were given an upgrade on the Travelzoo offer and given a large room. Only a small restaurant but the food is excellent, and the staff are very helpful and nice....especially Gary who runs the restaurant.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

An excellent mini break with a great standard of room and outstanding level of customer service. The staff could not have done more for us. The meals were fantastic and the small bar maintained the friendly quality. I would recommend that all visit and whilst here go and visit Bletchley Park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19Kath78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our best 3 day break ever. We booked through Travelzoo and for £99 each had fantastic evening meal on two evenings and excellent breakfast on two mornings. Rooms were very good - including the beds which were very comfortable. The staff were outstanding - nothing was too much trouble. Our offer included tickets to Bletchley Park which was a brilliant place to visit. We are hoping to return.

Room Tip: Executive twin cost extra £30 and included two large easy chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa2823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at the Cartwright hotel for a friends wedding at nearby Aynho house.
Really friendly, helpful service, great setting and a quiet, spacious, comfortable room.
Only minor criticism was that breakfast was only "ok". The cooked but was decent (though the sausage was too herby to be a good breakfast banger!) let down a touch by too few continental options- small choice of cereals and juices, not really and fruits or pastries or anything.
Minor quibbles though! Lovely place and would go again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ma0nps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Food here is good, service OK, but on 2 separate occasions they have tried to charge us for all courses individually rather than 2 courses for £14, which is the advertised offer.

The first time, my mum didn't notice, the second time when my dad was with my gran, they tried to charge an additional £6, but he picked them up on it. It starts to feel like it's deliberate.

Check your bill and if they get it wrong, I wouldn't tip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Pose83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

we had a lovely 2 night break with friends on a special deal which included breakfast, dinner and a ticket to Gaydon Motor Museum staying at The Cartwright Hotel. The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. We stayed in room 10, although very clean and comfy I found the layout of the dressing area was a little awkward and I could not sit at the dressing table, make a cup of tea or open the wardrobe at the same time, not a complaint just a minor criticism.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NANAWYLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for my husband's birthday treat and took advantage of its location to visit Oxford and Blenheim Palace. Our room was lovely, very comfortable and spacious. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make our visit enjoyable. The restaurant food was excellent and reasonably priced so if you stay there go for bed, breakfast and evening meal.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aynho
3.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
558 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
668 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
236 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middle Aston House
Middle Aston House
#32 of 45 in Oxford
109 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartwright Hotel

Address: 1-5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Aynho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Price Range: £83 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cartwright Hotel has 21 fully re-furbished en-suite bedrooms - each individually designed, beautifully furnished, with flat screen digital TV, hospitality trays, and free WIFI. The restaurant is popular with local diners as well as hotel residents and offers a delightful a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. The Apricot Room is ideal for functions, hosting up to 60 people, fully air-conditioned and able to host wedding receptions, private dining, and conferencing. The Cartwright is ideally situated for visits to Bicester Village Designer Shopping Village, Silverstone, Blenheim Palace, many other Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartwright Hotel Aynho, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing