We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD. QUIET. DELICIOUS.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Courcelles
Certificate of Excellence
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
“GOOD. QUIET. DELICIOUS.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

For some reason, we always overlooked Chateau de Courcelles for a quick breakaway out of town (Paris). Probably seemed a little remote or lost, with not much to see around, despite decent price tags for a Relais & Chateaux member.

We are sorry we just did that for well over 20 years, as we had an exquisite time ! OK, there is just a little room for improvement, but it seems that the new GM is taking charge. At a certain level, value is in details. Each detail counts.

For our party of four, we had booked 2 packages 'Amour de Champagne', at a cost of 670 euros per package, inclusive of Junior SUite accommodation, flowers to take away, welcome amenity, one bottle of Champagne, and 6-course taster menu with wines. Seemes like good value. ANd proced out to be good value.

RESERVATION : easy process, that we did over the phone, with an extremely amicable attendant. We could choose the rooms we wanted. They even called back, to ask if we wanted to improve, within the same class.

LOCATION : admittedly in the middle of nowhere. Understand very quiet. Yet anything is within a short and easy drive. Plenty to see, visit, and keep you busy for some days : Reims, Soissons, Laon, WW1 sites. The chateau sits close to the main road, which you can't see nor hear. And it is about a 90-minute drive from Paris, on a road that won't be stuck on a sunday night, unlike A4 or A13.

CHECK-IN : the drive through the grounds take you to the back courtyard. We stopped, reversed, parked, stopped, stepped out, unloaded the car. Still no one to help us. We dragged our bags to a smallish check-in counter. That's only there that someone acknowledged our luggage, adking if you could use some help. Well, at that point, we were done. While bellman carries our stuff to the rooms, we were given a tour of the chateau and grounds.

ROOM 18 & 19 : those 2 Junior Suites, on the upper floor of the stables, would easily qualify as suites in their own rights in many, many place I have experienced. they both feature a separate living room, a bed room, decent if not huge bathroom, ample closet space. And full beams on the ceiling. Opulent style of decoration, matching the chateau's architecture. Certainly nowhere close to modern, but why would anyone seek for contemporary designer's style in that kind of building is beyond my grasp. Everything worked perfectly. I could have used a stronger, and problably newer matress, through. Separate shower stall in the bathroom, rare enough to be mentionned in that kind of hotel. Molton Brown amenities.

GROUNDS : enjoying a glorious weather, as we did, vastly contributed to making this week-end a hit. Enjoying the grounds is part of the fun. Large, shaded body of water to walk. Nice infinity pool to lounge by. Lovely gardens.

DINNER : we had a lovely table in the newer addition. As we enjoyed a lengthy glass of Champagne (or 4) al fesco before dinner, we were last to sit for dinner and the 6-course set menu with wine pairings. I particularly dislike long dinners. That one was quick enough, but we never felt rushed. Food was delicious, with especially fine langoustines and a fabulous John Dory, with a spectacular mint + anchovy dressing. Food was plentiful, and we left the table stuffed.

BREAKFAST : buffet, with side orders of egg dishes included. ALthough that was included in our package, we found the 20 euro face value a bargain. Food is fresh, delicious, replenished. Come on guys, 10 euros buy you coffee a croissant and juice on a TGV train !

SERVICE : good overall, with the odd glitches. The lack of bellman upon check-in was one. An order of water before dinner never came. No towels at the pool. No pool service as such. On the other hand, some special requests were met quickly and gracefully : a shoe horn, a fan to be set up in one of the rooms getting warm, ... Some of the staff seem a little uncomfortable with guests in a high end hotel. Relax, guys ! Side note : I would feel uncomfortable myself, dealing with anyone, if I had to wear the ridiculous, generally oversized, and bordering humiliating uniform, that has been forced upon them. Mr. Potdevin, please do something, whatever that might be, to ease that burden ... !

OVERALL EXPERIENCE : reading some of the reviews, I feared that Chateau de Courcelles might be faded or worn. This is an old place, of which modern amenities should not be expected. But the the upkeep is generally good, and certainly improving. Some details, like old shades on chandeliers, that I pointed to the GM when we came to talk, were already in the process of being fixed. This new GM, very recently hired, seems to be an asset to the place, aware of the value (details, details, details) that should be delivered to provide an awesome experience.

Thanks for a lovely time, and keep up !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudPotdevin, Directeur général at Chateau de Courcelles, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
First of all I must thank you for the quality and detail of your feedback on your stay at Château de Courcelles. All teams work daily to give entire satisfaction to the guests.
Your comments are valuable to help us in this way.
On behalf of the entire team, I wish you a beautiful summer and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Château de Courcelles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    104
    32
    17
    13
See reviews for
52
279
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in room 2 on our way back to the channel ports. This was the most modest room on offer and it cost 245 euros for the night. It measured approx 7 metres by 3 metres, so that's over 10 euros a square metre! It was opulently decorated in keeping with the style of the hotel but very very cramped, which made it feel a bit odd...fewer lavish drapes and mirrored doors would probably make it seem less claustrophobic. When my husband was sitting at the table by the window we could not fully open the bathroom door. The bathroom was so small that the second bathrobe had to be placed on top of the cistern because there was nowhere else it could go. Despite assurances to the contrary, no wifi was available in the room.
That's enough about the space however!
The chateau is a most elegant building and the grounds are lovely. We actually found an otter playing near the canal.
What saves this place is the food, but here again a word of caution. At first we were given a menu with no prices on. Insist on being given a menu with the prices because otherwise you will never know that two of the starters on offer cost 70 Euros each, which is more for one course than the delicious 60 Euro five course fixed price prestige menu costs for the whole lot! Needless to say once we knew this we had the 60 euro prestige menu and it was very, very good, as was the service in the restaurant.
Now I know you don't stay in a place like this to count the cost but giving people a menu without the prices struck us as being a little bit, um, forgetful at best.
Breakfast costs 20 Euros ( here I go again) and despite the lovely surroundings a self service buffet is not really worth this much, although do sample the little home made vanilla pots which sit alongside the shop bought yogurts. They are delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed at the Chateaux a number of times and find the grounds, the quiet, the chateaux itself and certainly the menu wonderful. This is a very convenient stop on your way to Charles De Gaule Airport.

The grounds are extensive and relaxing with a pool. The dining room is exceptional and compliments the outstanding food. The tasting menu is always very good and and the wine steward is excellent at matching the wines with the meal.

We began staying here 12 years ago and have noticed over the years that the interior is looking a little warn. The rooms are large and comfortable but need some refreshing. Regardless, all the other aspects of this property keep pulling us back and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor overlooking the pool is our favorite ( Room 7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredB911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudPotdevin, Directeur général at Chateau de Courcelles, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your confidence in all these years as well as taking the time to write us through our partner trip advisor. Thank you for your comments that help us improve. We plan for this winter some renovations in the rooms. The team joins me to wish you a great summer and we hope to welcome you soon at the Château de Courcelles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited on a Groupon voucher, & I can only compliment this beautiful Chateau on its lovely food, wine & comfortable rooms. Sitting on the patio outside having a lovely breakfast thinking this is just magic! We have been fortunate to stay in some lovely hotels & this is up there with some of the best. Yes, you will need deep pockets for the wine list but HEY, your're on holiday!
We really hope to return, & hopefully drink some more Champagne!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDJEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudPotdevin, Directeur général at Chateau de Courcelles, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all, i'd really like to thank you for your confidence in choosing le Château de Courcelles. All the team and I are very pleased to read your comments. We will be very happy to welcome you again, and let you discover some more Champagne from our wines list with more than 250 producers.
The team joins me in wishing you a nice weekend. Arnaud Potdevin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris - France
Level Contributor
231 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is our third stay at this quaint castle and we will not hesitate to come back again. It's true that some maintenance could be done in the bathrooms, but it's not a bother to us.
We like the quietness of the place, the charm of the bedrooms, we tried another one this time.
But above all, we love the cuisine !! The food we have there is absolutely delicious every time we go.
We now make a trip to this castle once a year, and it is a habit I'm not willing to give up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrekkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudPotdevin, Directeur général at Chateau de Courcelles, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Let me first of all thank you for your confidence in choosing the Château de Courcelles.
We have noted your comments on the bathroom, and I wanted to inform you that we will undertake renovations in the next few months. Also thank you for your comments on the food and your compliments will be sent to teams. We look forward to welcomming you to the Château de Courcelles. Sincerely yours. Arnaud Potdevin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I would rather have pitched a tent next to the M25. It was bad, really bad. I was driving down through France in January with a business colleague, we knew it would be quiet but it was dead!! We knew the restaurant closed at approx. 10pm and we had been delayed so phoned ahead from the car to inform them our arrival time of 11:10pm and to arrange for a platter of sandwiches, we were informed this was not possible, ok can we have an assortment of cheese, cold meats, salad and a bottle of house red. Possibly we will see what can be done came the fairly unhelpful sounding response. Our approach to the hotel made us a little apprehensive, there was not a single sign of life in any of the surrounding villages we had passed through, when we arrived at the entrance the gates were closed, in their day I'm sure the looked impressive and slightly imposing, now sadly they looked crooked and decrepit. after pressing several buttons by the gate, nothing, there was one light on over the sign, it looked like this was the Adams Family French holiday home. Eventually we resorted to phoning the hotel, oh yes you need a code!!!! Well when we phoned 40 minutes previously do you not think it might have been a good idea to give us the code???? Ah the long sweeping driveway, Impressive views in the daylight I'm sure, you would also be able to see the b****y great pot holes!!! We were in a Ferrari for gods sake, by now I was not in a good mood and we hadn't even stepped foot in the building. When we did get inside everywhere was in darkness apart from the tiny reception desk at the bottom of the stairs we were taken up to a twin room, we had booked two singles!! The food was waiting in the room but I needed to go back to the car as I went out the woman who had checked us in informed me she would be locking the doors in 5 minutes and I couldn't go out again until the morning!! I went back upstairs and told me friend, however the expression on his face told me it was about to get worse, our dinner we had been looking forward to seeing as we hadn't eaten since lunch, was two plates of salad leaves, a couple of bread rolls, and a sauce boat of dressing!!! (They tried to charge us 40 euros each for this). The room we were in need refurbishing, the hotel seems run down and very poorly maintained. We escaped at first light, I could go on but if this doesn't tell you enough.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

It is a truely amazing place. Sublime food, perfect service, wonderful rooms and absolute gem. I would unreservedly recommend this beautiful chateu to anyone and everyone. The house champagne is fantastic too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courcelles-sur-Vesle
8.2 mi away
Chateau de Fere
Chateau de Fere
#1 of 1 in Fere-en-Tardenois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
23.8 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
22.8 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
20.5 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
21.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Courcelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Courcelles

Property: Chateau de Courcelles
Address: 8 rue du Chateau, 02220 Courcelles-sur-Vesle, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Courcelles-sur-Vesle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Courcelles 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 17th-century chateau, set amongst manicured gardens, offers guests fine dining and an outdoor swimming pool. It is located in the village of Courcelles-sur-Vesle, in the heart of the Picardy region, a 30-minute drive from Reims.With high ceilings and ornate furnishings, guest rooms offer views of the surrounding gardens. Each room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi access and complimentary toiletries in the en suite bathroom.A French fine dining experience can be enjoyed in the historic dining room with wooden beams, or in the conservatory with views of the gardens. Chateau de Courcelles boasts a wine cellar with 1000 wine references, as well as 250 types of champagne.In addition to relaxing in the sauna. There is also a tennis court on site and an option of 3 jogging routes within the chateau's gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Courcelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Courcelles Hotel Courcelles-Sur-Vesle
Chateau De Courcelles Sur Vesles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing