We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Les Riceys
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, beautiful location, very clean comfortable rooms full of character. The restaurant is superb offering good quality fresh cuisine at a very reasonable price. We were welcomed very warmly and made to feel very much at home. The champagne produced on site is exceptional and very good value.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was lovelyt
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineExcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    81
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
129
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beerzel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Small charming hotel. Nice, clean, big rooms, but no airco. Restaurant is situated in a former cellar. Very nice cuisine. Very friendly staff. Nice walks. In the center of the village, next to the church (bells start at 7 am ;))

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

You feel welcomed by the staff, the restaurant, situated in the "Cave" has a real comfortable atmosphe (nice and warm when cold and cool and fresh while outside hot and/or humid) Rooms are outstanding! Breakfast on first floor with view on church! The owner makes also his own Champagne and do not forget to take some with you!. We vist France a lot and when on our way we will stop over and book room no.2.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan-Ernst d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The reviews on the Marius had been so positive that it was almost inevitable that we would be somewhat disappointed. Overall the accommodation was spacious and clean but the welcome was uninterested verging on surly from a receptionist who was also having to run the bar. We had to wait over ten minutes before we could get her attention. Then, the food; simply it was overpriced and underwhelming.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul_shapira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The Hotel Le Marius (*** from us) is beautiful old house, perfectly restored, spotlessly clean and efficiently run. Individual, comfortable rooms, although the traffic noise, as noted by other reviewers, prohibits the opening of windows. A fairly friendly welcome by local standards, but bring your school French with you (the helpful multilingual website suggests linguistic reserves which a short email contact proves to be absent - written questions in English were answered in French). There was a mishap with our bill, which the desk clerk couldn't sort out, however a brief call to the owner sorted things out amicably.

Then there is the Restaurant Le Marius (*/** from us)... Why did I expect fresh food in the restaurant? Perhaps it was our very positive culinary experiences last year in "Le Magny" on the other side of town, a serious bourgeois restaurant (with a rather dowdy hotel attached), where apart from some service minor issues, we Ate like God In France; wonderful meals prepared with honest, market/butcher/river-fresh ingredients. Perhaps it was the last tatters of my romantic illusions about France as the bastion of home cooking. What neither of us were expecting - even given the moderate but by no means cheap prices - was a meal so comprehensively sourced from the deep freezer, restored to room temperature by Monsieur Microwave and prepared with such a limited repertoire of artless tricks (the sweetened balsamic goop from a squeeze bottle, the stale won-ton like deep-fried pastry sheets featured in most of the starters at surrounding tables, in our case used to imprison a slice of marinated salmon topped with avocado mousse). Things got off to a bad staff with frankly rancid puff pastry tidbits, which I would have sent back in a comparable restaurant back home. Amazing that in an age when every upmarket supermarket seels edible microwave meals, restaurants like this can get away with plating similar or inferior concoctions and charging real money for them...

Unfortunately the harassed lady running the show was trying to keep up with taking all orders and serving all drinks herself, while the sole assistant was only permitted to run in and out of the kitchen bringing plates (and, dropping a huge stack of them on the tiled floor, which understandably slowed things up before we could order). The foie gras was almost inedibly salty (and served artlessly as a slab surrounded by more salt crystals and an unpleasantly vinegary onion relish straight out of a commercial jar). Our main courses (deep-frozen scallops and deep-frozen cod) were decently sauced but distinctly overcooked, adding to the general stringiness of the fish. The sorbets were mid-range commercial products; the cheese board big but (by French standards) simply not very good (neither the local Camembert-style round cheese nor the Époisses was remotely "comme il faut", despite the proclamations of the senior waitress). All in all, the service was even worse than the food.

One really annoying and unnecessarily mean point is the champagne list. This may sound snobby, but remember: Les Riceys is a village whose economy is solely based on champagne, and there are dozens of small producers. Most tourists come expecting to drink inexpensive champagne or perhaps the unique, super-dry (and frankly not very nice) Rosé des Riceys. While there were at least 10 examples of the latter on offer, all champagnes came from one sole producer, and - judging by the two different kinds we tried as an apéritif - they are among the least inspiring we have yet tried from the region. Guess who has a majority interest in the producer the hotel has chosen? This may be a sound commercial decision, but it confirmed our impression of Le Marius as a commercially soundly-run business with no gastronomic aspirations or depth.

The owner's brand-new Porsche Cayenne, proudly parked opposite the front door, proves that his wine and food concept pleases the majority of his guests - his success and hard work obviously deserves and receives recognition and respect. Next year, however, we'll be back at Le Magny, where the only posh cars in sight belong to the hotel guests, and locals eat in the restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Muzakhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saddleworth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel late August. There is a small courtyard for parking at a charge - I wouldn't bother again as there is parking by the church and it is safe. The vendage was on so it was very interesting watching the tractors full of grapes, and itinerant workers calling at the hotel bar for a drink. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious.The hotel was quiet at night. It's a useful stopping off place when travelling. The restaurant is in a cave- like building next door. The staff were friendly and service good. The meal was good - not exceptional but better than a lot of hotel meals we are getting in France at the moment, and prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucysaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A beautiful ancient house, perfectly restored, spotlessly clean and evidently well run. Individual, comfortable rooms, although the traffic noise, as noted by other reviewers, prohibits the opening of windows. A fairly friendly welcome by local standards, but bring your school French with you (the helpful multilingual website suggests linguistic reserves which a short email contact proves to be absent - written questions in English were answered in French).

Why did I expect fresh food in the restaurant? Perhaps it was our very positive culinary experiences last year in "Le Magny" on the other side of town, a serious bourgeois restaurant with a not-quite-so-nice hotel attached, some service issues, but honest, market/butcher/river-fresh ingredients. Perhaps it was the last tatters of my romantic illusions about France as the bastion of home cooking. What neither of us were expecting - even given the moderate but by no means cheap prices - was a meal so comprehensively sourced from the deep freezer, restored to room temperature by Monsieur Microwave and prepared with such a limited repertoire of artless tricks (the sweetened balsamic goop from a squeeze bottle, the stale won-ton like deep-fried pastry sheets featured in most of the starters at surrounding tables, in our case used to imprison a slice of marinated salmon topped with avocado mousse). Things got off to a bad staff with frankly rancid puff pastry tidbits, which I would have sent back in a comparable restaurant back home. Unfortunately the harassed lady running the show was trying to keep up with taking all orders and serving all drinks herself, while the sole assistant was only permitted to run in and out of the kitchen bringing plates (and, dropping a huge stack of them on the tiled floor, which understandably slowed things up before we could order). The foie gras was almost inedibly salty (and served artlessly as a slab surrounded by more salt crystals and an unpleasantly vinegary onion relish straight out of a commercial jar). Our main courses (deep-frozen scallops and deep-frozen cod) were decently sauced but distinctly overcooked, adding to the general stringiness of the fish. The sorbets were mid-range commercial products; the cheese board big but (by French standards) simply not very good (neither the local Camembert-style round cheese nor the Époisses was remotely "comme il faut", despite the proclamations of the senior waitress).

Perhaps the biggest disappointment of all was the champagne list. This may sound snobby, but remember: Les Riceys is a village whose economy is solely based on champagne, and there are dozens of small producers; most tourists come expecting to drink inexpensive champagne or perhaps the unique, super-dry (and frankly not very nice) Rosé des Riceys. While there were at least 10 examples of the latter on offer, all champagnes came from one sole producer, and - judging by the two different kinds we tried as an apéritif - they are among the least inspiring we have yet tried from the region. This may be a sound commercial decision, but it confirmed our impression of Le Marius as a well-run business with no gastronomic depth. The owner's brand-new Porsche Cayenne, proudly parked opposite the front door, proves that his concept pleases the majority of his guests - his success and hard work obviously deserves and receives recognition and respect. Next year, however, we'll be back at Le Magny, where the only posh cars in sight belong to the hotel guests, and locals eat in the restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzakhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Riceys
12.2 mi away
Le Val Moret
Le Val Moret
#1 of 1 in Magnant
421 reviews
18.1 mi away
Le Chateau De Courban & Spa
13.4 mi away
Hotel Sylvia
Hotel Sylvia
#1 of 1 in Chatillon-sur-Seine
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel de la Poste
22.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
#1 of 3 in Bar Sur Aube
99 reviews
22.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Golf & Spa De La Foret D'Orient
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius
Address: 2 Place de l Eglise, 10340 Les Riceys, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Les Riceys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Les Riceys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing