We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming chateau with lots of little surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Donchery
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming chateau with lots of little surprises”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed with our very discerning mother-in-law who unusually had no complaints! The recently refurbished chateau is delightful and the rooms well appointed with quality bed linen, towels and robes. An excellent gourmet dinner was served in a lovely restaurant (adjacent to the beautifully appointed equestrian centre) and there's a choice of price points from single course to full tasting with prices that are reasonable for the quality. The extensive grounds have lots of surprises from a tennis court and mini-golf to the attractive lake and woodlands. Lots of outdoor terraces offer places to relax (or work using the free wi-fi) and, after a visit to the stables, we were treated to an impromptu dressage exhibition. Breakfast, which is served in a complex of nicely decorated traditional rooms inside the chateau, did not disappoint. Overall a very pleasant stay at well below the prices in Reims or Luxembourg both of which are convenient being only an hour away.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lewbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    62
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
86
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent 3 nights in a deluxe room, outside the main Chateau building,after 5 weeks travelling in France. The deluxe room provided us with a separate sitting area, spa bath and a separate shower - very comfortable. We arrived by train to Donchery (about 1 hours walk from the Chateau) and taxi to the Chateau (just make sure to book your taxi before arriving as the station is small). The Chateau is idyllic, well maintained, has friendly staff who are happy to speak English and go the extra mile and an excellent restaurant. Buffet breakfast in the Chateau was included in our tariff and a pleasant start to the morning. If you love horses, want to bring your horse or go for a horse ride the Chateau offers amazing facilities. We just enjoyed the food, immaculately maintained surrounds and a special time together.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I think the quality of the stay experience at this hotel depends entirely on the room you reserve/are allocated.
We booked this hotel through Booking.com and actually chose one of the more basic room types as from the photos it looked nice, and as we were only passing through for one night we thought it would do. Actually, by the time we arrived it was already dark (and bucketing down) and the room we were given was pretty disappointing. There was only one towel and one pillow, and it seemed unfinished by housekeeping. The nice girl who showed us to the room seemed to be equally disappointed, and returned about 10 mins later (without request from us) with a new key and showed us to an upgraded room which was, I admit, much better. We were still outside the chateau in a new stable type wing built near the restaurant. From the website we booked we were under the impression we would be staying in the chateau itself, but it was fine. Other than that the door was broken and wouldn't lock.

We dined in the restaurant for dinner, and having dined in a few Michelin Star restaurants on our trip, we probably had been a bit spoiled by that stage. Needless to say the cuisine was less than exceptional. You could see the chef was wanting to create a Michelin Star menu, but didn't quite have the skill to pull it off. The restaurant was cold and had little atmosphere (no music) and the staff, although helpful, were a bit wooden.

Breakfast was in the chateau, and this room is quite charming and the breakfast selection, while limited, was of good quality and there was enough for you to have a decent breakfast. They did seem to run out of things quite quickly though, which was suprising considering there was only 2 other tables. There was also that nice French carry on between the staff in the kitchen, which adds a bit of authenticity to the occasion!

In terms of location, the hotel is completely out of the way and is not really near anything. The local village has no real facilities and you would probably be best to drive into Rheims. We were just using it as a stop over though and it suited us for that purpose.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We recently stayed here for a weekend and couldn't believe our luck having found this hotel. Our only regret was that we didn't spend enough time at the hotel as we went to Reims for a champagne tour. The main building and surrounding gardens were beautiful - it was really quiet and peaceful, the perfect place for a well needed rest. We stayed in one of the newly built rooms next to the restaurant and stables. They were nicely decorated, spacious and the bathrooms clean and functional - the only comment I had was on the positioning of the shower in the middle of the bath which meant water ended up everywhere. The beds were incredibly comfortable and we had the best sleep for ages. The staff were all very friendly (which makes a change from some of the other places we visited over the weekend!). The breakfast was good and we were set up on a table outside overlooking the lake and gardens on our last day. They have stables and horse riding here if you're interested and there is also a very good restaurant on site. It's about 1 hour drive from Reims if you wanted to visit the champagne houses, and the roads are very good and easy to navigate. Taxi's to Reims are pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a beautiful place to stay. Spotlessly clean, exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, nothing too much trouble for them. Very relaxing and peaceful. Restaurant a little pricey but a lovely experience .

Room Tip: Garden view lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The best hotel in the region by far. It is a small castle extraordinary hotel. Amelie the clerk was very nice and friendly. We have an issue with our tour and they attend it in a friendly manner. Food was ok but the best is the place. I'll add some pictures then you'll see how nice the hotel is.
Close to sedan where the biggest fortress was build le chateau of sedan.
You can visit the champagne region very easily. Reims is like half an hour or so.
You can get a room by 150 euros inexpensive considering what you will get.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The only disappointment was that our stay at this hotel was so short: one night only. Frankly speaking, we even wanted to change our plans and to spend another day at Chateau. Looking back I can't find any disappointing issue at all: all was fantastic from our arrival up to the sad moment when we were leaving. Nothing to say about the staff: really top friendly helpful and eager to help with all you ask them about.
The location is very nice even it seems to be far from the main routes. The hotel is 10 minutes away from Sedan and it is worth visiting. Even it is not a large city there is a lot of places of interest like the biggest castle in Europe for example. Besides, it is on the way from Belgium to Reims so it gives you a nice opportunity to relax on your way to the capital of Champagne wines. Chateau du Faucon has a lovely park very nice for walking. The main building itself is also remarkable as it is more than 400 years old and you really feel the history when walking around the rooms or having your morning tea in the main hall.
The restaurant is also a top level one. We had booked a table in advance and it was a good idea as the Chef set menu was really remarkable. We do recommend this set menu that is around Euro 70 per person with wine inclusive as it gives you a chance to try a lot: several starters, 2 main courses, a nice selection of cheeses and a desert. The breakfast is served in the main Chateau building and it was also fantastic.
They have a stable with lovely horses so you can ride them or just come to the stable and feed them. We have spent more that an hour with the horses as it was not easy to leave them so lovely they were.
What was really strange was a cost: we paid around Euro 130 for 2 of us including the breakfast. Of course, we stayed at a regular room but it was very nice and quite good for one night stay.

Room Tip: A regular room is really good and don't forget about the breakfast at the Chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirillIvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donchery
4.6 mi away
Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort
6.7 mi away
Le Dormeur du Val
Le Dormeur du Val
#4 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
#1 of 1 in Villers-Semeuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#1 of 1 in Remilly-Aillicourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.4 mi away
Le Saint-Michel
Le Saint-Michel
#2 of 8 in Sedan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kyriad Charleville Mezieres
Kyriad Charleville Mezieres
#2 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon

Property: Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon
Address: 08350 Donchery, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Ardennes > Donchery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Donchery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing