We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Chateau, nice people, great food and .... Horse Riding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Behen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau de Behen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Behen
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Chateau, nice people, great food and .... Horse Riding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent two nights here and really loved the place and we I am sure will be back again.

The Chateau was bought by the Family in I think 1956 and the children (three brothers) have been spending a lot of time and effort restoring the house and buildings to their former glory.

The Bedroom was very elegant and stylish and the bathroom full of Marble and up to any top hotel standards.

We ate at the Chateau for both evenings for a cost of 41 euros each including wine, Norbert our host is a very good cook and we were both very full of food and wine and cheese etc by the time we went to bed each night.

They have an Equestrian Centre on the property and truly love all the horses they have there.

We went riding with Norbert and his brother on the Saturday which was supposed to be for an hour and a half but ended up at three and a half hours (ouch)! it was a lovely ride through beautiful varied scenery and lots of fast trotting as well as walking and a bit of cantering.

They have many other animals and fowl there which include Black Swans, Miniature Goats, Black Sheep, Rare Breed Chickens, Peacocks,Guinea Pigs, Rabbits, Rare Breed miniature horses, Horses, Rare Breed Boulognaise horses, a Donkey, A dog, A cat, Sorry if I forgot any!

The County side around there is very pretty and not too far from Calais and also close to the Bay of the Somme so handy for all sorts of visits.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room but they also have some larger rooms which will take a couple of little o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarzanhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    31
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have just returned from another wonderful weekend at the Chateau. As always, Norbert and his partner Christine are excellent hosts making all visitors, whether they be first time visitor or returing guests, to feel extremely welcomed and special.

The food cooked by Norbert is excellent and dinner is served in the candlelit dining room with plenty of good wine also available.

It was our wedding anniversary weekend and Norbert and Christine made Saturday evening very special for us.

We also enjoy the company of Norbert's brother Hubert who is very friendly and good at giving advice on where to visit and places of interest.

We look forward to our weekend breaks at the Chateau. To us it feels like going to the very special home of very special people and we hope to be able to continue to do so for many years to come.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Even though we arrived very late, due to the unprecedented snow blizzards and freezing weather, we received a warm welcome with drinks by a glowing log fire. A wonderful regional home cooked dinner was served in the cosy music room by candlelight making us feel relaxed especially after such a horrendous journey!
We stayed in the Opale suite, which has a beautiful circular sitting room and a large very tastefully decorated and comfortable bedroom.
When it was time to leave Norbert made sure we had sufficient provisions for our potentially difficult journey to Calais due to the deep snow.
Norbert-Andre is passionate about his chateau and this showed in the quality of the rooms, service and food.
We relished our relaxing stay at Chateau Behen and would gladly return for longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights with Norbert and were the only people staying. Imagine our amazement on the first evening to have supper in a private dining room, totally candlelit and to be served what has to be one of the best meals we have ever eaten in France.

We spent one day visiting the Somme and paying our respects to those young men of all nationalities who gave their lives for us. A very moving experience, particularly the High Wood, where 8000 bodies still remain undistrubed.

The chateau is privately owned and run so don't expect typical four star accommodation but you can expect a very warm welcome, a true taste of France and a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wings033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Norbert is a excellent host - we stayed with him some time ago, and would highly recommend this Chateau. Breakfast was great and dinner in house was extremely enjoyable. This is one of those establishments that you want to keep as a secret - but too late now.
I left a yellow cashmere jumper behind and Norbert very kindly returned to me after a period of time - which I am sure that he enjoyed wearing it !!!!!!!!!!! (joking)
Would love to return to Chateau de Behen - one day

Room Tip: All rooms are very spaceous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed 4 nights in September in the spacious and comfortable Emeraude room. The bathroom was huge with both a shower and tub and 2 sinks. The fresh, buttery, flaky croissants for breakfast in the charming dining room were a welcome start to each day.

Horse riding was wonderful fun!! There is plenty of lovely countryside and farmland for hacking around the Chateau. I rode a sweet and comfortable Henson mare named Mirabelle. Riding a breed native to this area of France made the experience extra special. Equestrians will love it here because there are plenty of opportunities for long trots, canters, and gallops. Norbert and his brother Hubert were entertaining company the rides as well as friendly, welcoming hosts during our stay. My husband was able to rent a bicycle and also enjoyed exploring the area.

There's plenty to see within a short distance of the Chateau. We especially enjoyed Amiens (Notre Dame Cathedral and floating gardens), the underground city of Naours, Chateau de Rambures, and the Baie de Somme. The town of Abbeville is just minutes from Chateau de Behen and has lots of great restaurants, little shops, and even a cathedral.

I definitely recommend staying here and hope to return one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HorseCastleLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed for 1 night on our way back to the UK, found the Chateau easy to find from the Motorway. we arrived at about 4.30, the place looked deserted, door locked and no signs of life, just as we were about to give up my wife noticed someone inside, we had tried to call them on the Phone, but just got an answerphone message.

The person who opened the door was Norbert, the owner, as other reports have said, he is a Charactor, speaks good English and has a sense of humour. the Hotel / chateau / big house is set in a rural position and very peaceful, it needs a little TLC hear and there, but it is an old Building. our room was the Opal room, big with a seperate lounge room overlooking the front garden, it also had a new bathroom fitted that was very modern, in contrast to the rest of the room.

We had booked dinner for that night, but there is no menu as such, we were offered a goats cheese and veg tart to start with, then a choice of fish or Guinea Fowl for a main, cheese. all for 41 euro each, including an Aperitif and a bottle of wine. was not to happy with the limited menu, but the food was surperb. all set in a candlelit room

a good nights sleep, and plenty of hot water for an old building.

Breakfast was simple and laid out when we went down.

the only down side for us, was when we paid our bill, we knew the cost of the hotel and the meal, and on the bill of 275 euros, they had charged us 3 euro for 2 cups of coffee after our dinner the night before, a small point, but one we felt they could have included in the set price for the dinner.

would we stay again ????, not sure.

Room Tip: check out there website, we only saw 1 room, and the hotel was only using 5 rooms when we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Behen
5.0 mi away
Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France
10.2 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Domaine du Val
Le Domaine du Val
#1 of 1 in Grand-Laviers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Les Pilotes
Hotel Les Pilotes
#3 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
#2 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
20.0 mi away
Le Fiacre
Le Fiacre
#1 of 2 in Quend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Behen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Behen

Property: Chateau de Behen
Address: 8 rue du Chateau, 80870 Behen, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Behen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Behen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Behen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing