We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beauty of France”
Review of Chateau de Behen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Behen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Behen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

A gem of a place to stay.
Lovely setting, beautiful characterful house and engaging and friendly owners.
The evening meal was generous, well cooked and enjoyable made all the better by the candelabras.
Certainly worth another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Another trip to Chateau de Behen, this time a birthday present for me. Yes, I enjoyed it that much last time - and yes, it would be a welcome present again. We were in Emeraude on this visit, on the top floor. It was very quiet (if one ignores Vivaldi, the visiting donkey... whom I am assured is leaving once he has performed his duty, clearly eagerly awaited by Vivaldi. On the plus side, a visit this time next year should see a little donkey!) and beautifully decorated, once again with plenty of space for our daughter to have her own "room", even though this wasn't actually a suite.
The food I think is better than it was last year - desserts still excellent, and the main courses really good. Freya enjoyed the children's dinner for two nights, and then managed the "big" dinner on our final night there, with much patience from the family, who clearly enjoy having children around and are very patient and kind with them.
The riding remains excellent - truly wonderfully trained horses, far better than almost anywhere else where riding is open to the public. And, once again, Frou-Frou the (quiet) donkey was a huge hit with the younger children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FounderBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Had a wonderful weekend stay at Chateau Behen celebrating my fathers 80th Birthday. As always, Norbert, Hubert and Mark looked after us all very well and we shall be back shortly.
The Chateau was looking great and Norbert prepared a tasty dinner for the party.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent two nights here and really loved the place and we I am sure will be back again.

The Chateau was bought by the Family in I think 1956 and the children (three brothers) have been spending a lot of time and effort restoring the house and buildings to their former glory.

The Bedroom was very elegant and stylish and the bathroom full of Marble and up to any top hotel standards.

We ate at the Chateau for both evenings for a cost of 41 euros each including wine, Norbert our host is a very good cook and we were both very full of food and wine and cheese etc by the time we went to bed each night.

They have an Equestrian Centre on the property and truly love all the horses they have there.

We went riding with Norbert and his brother on the Saturday which was supposed to be for an hour and a half but ended up at three and a half hours (ouch)! it was a lovely ride through beautiful varied scenery and lots of fast trotting as well as walking and a bit of cantering.

They have many other animals and fowl there which include Black Swans, Miniature Goats, Black Sheep, Rare Breed Chickens, Peacocks,Guinea Pigs, Rabbits, Rare Breed miniature horses, Horses, Rare Breed Boulognaise horses, a Donkey, A dog, A cat, Sorry if I forgot any!

The County side around there is very pretty and not too far from Calais and also close to the Bay of the Somme so handy for all sorts of visits.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room but they also have some larger rooms which will take a couple of little o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarzanhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have just returned from another wonderful weekend at the Chateau. As always, Norbert and his partner Christine are excellent hosts making all visitors, whether they be first time visitor or returing guests, to feel extremely welcomed and special.

The food cooked by Norbert is excellent and dinner is served in the candlelit dining room with plenty of good wine also available.

It was our wedding anniversary weekend and Norbert and Christine made Saturday evening very special for us.

We also enjoy the company of Norbert's brother Hubert who is very friendly and good at giving advice on where to visit and places of interest.

We look forward to our weekend breaks at the Chateau. To us it feels like going to the very special home of very special people and we hope to be able to continue to do so for many years to come.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Even though we arrived very late, due to the unprecedented snow blizzards and freezing weather, we received a warm welcome with drinks by a glowing log fire. A wonderful regional home cooked dinner was served in the cosy music room by candlelight making us feel relaxed especially after such a horrendous journey!
We stayed in the Opale suite, which has a beautiful circular sitting room and a large very tastefully decorated and comfortable bedroom.
When it was time to leave Norbert made sure we had sufficient provisions for our potentially difficult journey to Calais due to the deep snow.
Norbert-Andre is passionate about his chateau and this showed in the quality of the rooms, service and food.
We relished our relaxing stay at Chateau Behen and would gladly return for longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights with Norbert and were the only people staying. Imagine our amazement on the first evening to have supper in a private dining room, totally candlelit and to be served what has to be one of the best meals we have ever eaten in France.

We spent one day visiting the Somme and paying our respects to those young men of all nationalities who gave their lives for us. A very moving experience, particularly the High Wood, where 8000 bodies still remain undistrubed.

The chateau is privately owned and run so don't expect typical four star accommodation but you can expect a very warm welcome, a true taste of France and a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wings033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Behen
5.0 mi away
Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France
10.2 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
477 reviews
20.0 mi away
Le Fiacre
Le Fiacre
#1 of 2 in Quend
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hotel Athena Friville
Hotel Athena Friville
#1 of 1 in Friville-Escarbotin
127 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Domaine du Val
Le Domaine du Val
#1 of 1 in Grand-Laviers
165 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Abbeville
Ibis Budget Abbeville
#1 of 1 in Vauchelles-les-Quesnoy
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Behen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Behen

Address: 8 rue du Chateau, 80870 Behen, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Behen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Behen
Price Range: £110 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de Behen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing