We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Behen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau de Behen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Behen
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

A unique family run establishment set in a wonderful animal friendly park... Hard working clever proprieter who cooks superbly and generously. Our third visit and will return again. Needn't say more than that!

Room Tip: We always stay in Opale a spacious suite with modern bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Su3S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    31
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We simply cannot thunder on past the turning for Béhen! This was our fourth visit and we are already planning when we can go again. M. Cuvelier is a warm and generous host; his expansive but never dominant presence generates and sustains the sense of well- being which prevails in this delightful comfortably appointed château . Children love the animals , and for the interested adult , there is plenty of history to be discovered in the grounds. Who says 'la France profonde n'existe plus' ? You have only to venture off the main roads to find many a jewel of a spot in Picardy not to mention the salt marshes of the nearby Bay of the Somme. The whole area merits at least a long weekend; Château de Béhen provides a wonderful base and after a day exploring, the pleasure of M. Cuvelier's excellent table ( and cellar) can await the guest if he would but ask at breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizzieverychoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I recently stayed here for three nights with my Mum and twelve year old niece. We used it as a base to explore the Somme region and wanted to include a traditional French experience. We were superbly hosted and thoroughly enjoyed the stay here. My niece enjoyed the horse riding too! We stayed in the Ruby family room which was lovely and spacious and beautifully decorated. Although the Chateau is a little out of the way, meaning you have to drive to any ammenities and restuarants it is in a wonderful location and very peaceful. We visited the Somme battlefields, Albert, Amiens (fabulous light show at the cathedral at night), the Bay of the Somme and St Catherines. Highly recommended and would like to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRBubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The rave reviews here prompted me to book a room (Suite Saphir) for an overnight stay en route further into France after arriving in Calais.

The house is beautiful and our suite spacious and comfortable, but it is the welcome and service from Norbert and Christine that makes this place special. They are enthusiastic and attentive hosts, delighting in their home and in allowing others to enjoy it.

Dinner was delicious, and very good value, given that pre-dinner drinks and wine were included (€41 per adult). Our children ate with us, but Norbert offered to cook for and serve them earlier if that had been our preference.

We will return, I'm sure. This would be a marvellous place for a get-together with a group of friends or family!

Room Tip: Suite Saphir is perfect for families - two bedrooms (one king; one twin), two bathrooms and a separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buchanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is an idyllic place to stay. The château is nicely restored and the rooms are classical and comfortable without being precious and with lots of space and countryside views. The setting is handy for exploring the Baie de Somme and Abbeville as well as being set in a small village in open countryside. Eating at the château is an exceptional treat. It is not just the candlelight dinner or the spacious dining room but also the quality of the food and wine (inclusive) which makes this such a treat. Breakfast is good as well! Add in a friendly, generous host who can talk knowledgeably about the area and this place really is a delight. Access from the Channel ports is a doddle as well and you really do think you're in France. If your batteries need recharging or you just want a treat, the château is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

An excellent find! Set in the most peaceful countryside this chateau is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The rooms are spacious, each with a luxurious bathroom. We enjoyed a delicious meal, cooked by Norbet our host, and delicious wines to accompany it. Breakfast was at whatever time we chose to have it, with delicious fresh croissants, bread and cheeses. I will definitely return to this hotel and hopefully take my family who I know will love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davisoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at the Chateau on our way back to the Channel Tunnel and it was a memorable conclusion to our holiday. We were made immediately welcome by Norbert and shown to our suite which had a living room, a huge bedroom and separate ensuite and toilet with modern fittings. Once settled in, we were offered pre-dinner drinks before a nice meal prepared by the family and accompanied by a choice of wine. All in all a memorable experience in a genuine chateau.

Room Tip: We had the Opale Suite which is huge and runs from the front to the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAl54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Behen
5.0 mi away
Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France
10.2 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Domaine du Val
Le Domaine du Val
#1 of 1 in Grand-Laviers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Les Pilotes
Hotel Les Pilotes
#3 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
#2 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
20.0 mi away
Le Fiacre
Le Fiacre
#1 of 2 in Quend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Behen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Behen

Property: Chateau de Behen
Address: 8 rue du Chateau, 80870 Behen, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Behen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Behen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Behen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing