We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
140
40
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
40
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding guinea fowl shetland ponies course meal en route channel tunnel pre dinner drinks who speaks excellent english wonderful stay excellent wine rural setting opened the door very special place booked dinner small village a real treat sense of humour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night to break our journey.
Very friendly welcome .
The chateau is shabby chic but pleasant to stay in, rooms were huge, comfortable but a little dated.
A good experience to stop in a chateau , as long as you don’t expect it to be 5 star.
Great evening meal cooked by the owner, good value incurred wine.
Overall, defo worth staying& would stay again

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank maxotis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Before booking the hotel, I read the other reviews and was reassured by them. I booked the hotel months in advance of our journey down through France for one night for two families. We booked the “Opal Suite” and “Family Room Rubis”. Norbert asked if we would like to dine at the chateau the evening of our arrival and we confirmed this.

After a long and much delayed journey down, we arrived at the Chateau around 6pm to be greeted by Norbert & his family.

First impressions of the Chateau were pleasing. It is a tradition French Chateau in quite rural setting.

Norbert showed us to our rooms which, whilst spacious are a little basic and smelled a little dusty. The website whilst showing the best of the Chateau does basically reflect what you will receive albeit that it needs a little TLC.

The main problem was that after checking in, we were looking forward to a nice drink and a relaxing evening meal. Unfortunately, Norbert then asked, “Where are you dinning tonight?” a strange question given we had a confirmed booking and had been travelling for over 8 hours at this point. A little perplexed, we said “here”. Norbert then said “did you not get the email?, we can’t do dinner, you can try Abberville or Saint Valery Sur Somme” which was 30 mins away. Prior to travel we had not received any such email, if we had we would have booked elsewhere.

I did check my emails at the restaurant in Saint Valery Sur Somme, and Norbert had sent an email earlier that day, some 3 hours after we had commenced our journey. We initially thought it was because we were the only other people staying at the Chateau as it was empty when we arrived. It wasn’t it was just that everybody else had gone out for dinner.

Continental breakfast was nice. However, get there early or your will miss out on the yogurts.

It was unforgivable to send an email the morning of travel as Norbert must have known we would probably not have received it and the excuse given was quote: “unfortunately i won't be cooking tonight ,won't be back in time”, Seriously!!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SKIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

If you expect a 5-star luxury chateau you’ll almost certainly be disappointed.

But if you are looking for a family-run bed & breakfast in a charming chateau this is your place.

The chateau is situated on 6 hectare of land with lots of animals (mostly horses, goats and cats ... though you’ll also might find the odd donkey and calf)! And yes, this does mean that the light-sleeper will be woken up by a rooster!

The 7 rooms rooms are spacious with all the amenities you need (except perhaps that English tv-station).

All-in-all a most pleasant place for a few nights!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 588jurgenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Strongly recommended by friends and we now know why. A truly charming and authentic chateau, very comfortable rooms with original features, lovely animals in the rear (pets) and horses. Norbert-Andre, our host, was most helpful, especially after I had left a bag and he called my secretary in London to be put through to me-driving through the countryside a few miles away. He cooked a delicious dinner of goats cheese and tomatoes followed by pintarde. Definitely a place to return to after or before the Calais crossing. A great way to start or end a French trip.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Tom1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

From reading others reviews, I wonder if we were staying in the right place. The owner greeted us upon entry, check in was easy and the room was clean. There is a tremendous amount of potential, but the property is in sore need of attention. There was no option of the owner making dinner or having drinks, it was suggested that we try a restaurant 30 minutes away - which was good. Breakfast was very basic. One croissant, plastic cup of yogurt and coffee. Seems like Norbert was off his game the night we stayed......

Room tip: Stayed in citron room.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Patrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews