We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel , excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
kent
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel , excellent food”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend at this hotel recently and had a lovely time. We took the discovery package which was quite expensive but the food was absolutely superb. Our room was on the ground floor and had a small terrace opposite the pool. It was spacious and clean, with tea/coffee stuff and a mini bar ( which we chilled our recently bought champagne in!). Included in the package is a visit and tasting at LANOIS champagne house. The visit is interesting but it's all in french which is hard work , if like me your French was learnt at school some while ago. The tasting however made up for this and the champagne was plentiful at this point.
The gastronomic meal was great as was all the food, and breakfast had a good choice and good coffee.
The pool is covered which was good as when we were there the weather wasn't good, and it's surrounded by a small grassy area where you can sit out.
The village where the hotel is has very little to offer, and unless you have come to sample the champagne there isn't much in the area.We did however go to taste, and buy champagne, and my comment would be to stay away from the big champagne houses and try the smaller more local producers. We met some lovely people and bought good champagne from them at a considerably cheaper price.
Whatever you do, this hotel has good accomodation, friendly staff, and excellent food even if the price is a little above average.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    93
    37
    8
    4
See reviews for
32
98
2
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Surprisingly large and busy hotel in an totally bland and boring part of France. ( That is apart from growing grapes for Champange!) The variation of flowers, paintings, wallpaper and ornaments is bewildering but intertaining,
The room we had was clean and airy, having a mini balcony overlooking the garden, carpark and other rooms/balconys. Far away a view of a range of wineyards. Fridge with soft drinks, coffee making tray, towling robe for the gym/swiming pool and free internet. Beds were fine, pillows of the teddy bear stuffing stuff variety.
Restaurant food is good, but fairly expensive, the wine list is a huge book, the cheese trolly a dream. One complaint is the over eagerness to be special and the permanently milling around the room of the serving staff. Quite distracting. It would greatly inhance the good food to alocate 2/3 tables to one waiter. Not all of them trying to be the one to remove something from your table. Maybe for that purpose they keep the wine seperate? I like it at hand on the table, so I can serve myself if and when I want.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumofHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Went here for dinner on a trip to Champagne last week. It is really a classic posh french restaurant which for me, all too often, means high prices, average service and mediocre food.
Good points - it has a great wine list. We had a bottle of Doyard Blanc de Blancs and a 2005 Fugue de Nenin, the second wine from Ch. Nenin. Both were superb.

Bad points - it would have been nice if the champagne flutes weren't chipped and I had to call the waitress over to ask the sommelier to refill our glasses. Why he couldn't have left the bottle on the table is beyond me!
The food was good but not historic, we had the menu at 44euros which included Cote du boeuf, which I asked for, 'a point'. It was overcooked and the potato Dauphinoise was cold. In all it cost us 200 euros which is a lot of money.
My summary is it is ok but no more. Expectations are bound to be high when you spend 200 euros and it simply didn't deliver.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonnyR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This was the first hotel we stayed at out of Paris as part of our three-week group tour around France and it seemed quite out of the way from anything, apart from the champagne houses.
When our driver drew up outside it looked like a tiny two-storey hotel but once inside it went on and on and opened out like the Tardis!
Most of our group stayed in the motel-like addition at the back of the property (a chilly night-air walk back after dinner) in long, plainly furnished rooms which had the flurorescent lighting I dislike so much. I remember thinking that I wasn't particularly impressed but then I went to dinner. Oh boy! Five course and every single one was amazing....Of all the hotels we stayed at, this had the best breakfast facilities for sure.
It was here that I learnt my first lesson of travelling - ALWAYS have a label on your suitcase as it took ages for my case to be delivered even after I described the bag, and even more so with such a long way from the bus to our room.
It was also the only hotel that we were given a double and a single bed for me and my mother.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitrequisites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nearby
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Located in a quiet village close to the Mont-Aimé (a shallow hill) and the Côte des Blancs, not far from Epernay, it has large rooms, a restaurant, a swimming pool and a Champagne bar. Well, what else do you need then? First of all the rooms are a little passé and so is the whole hotel. The decor is rather kitsch (try to ignore the statues if you can). The indoor swimming pool, not extremely big, is also a little worn-out and it's deep only on one half, good for the kids but maybe not for you. The restaurant is a little pricey, mainly because of the inconsistent food quality and service level. You've got to be lucky. The Champagne bar is alright, enough choice both from big brands and small local producers. There's free Wi-Fi and a decent breakfast (not included in the room rate), whoopee! Not enough to make it a very good 4* hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waggadouggou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The hotel is located in a beautiful area, however aprox 15km from Epernay, which was the purpose of our trip.

We were greeted by a friendly member of staff who even came in the car with us, to show us where the secure car park was located.

The rooms are functional, a little dated (80's), and are able to sleep at least 4, with tea & coffee making facilities & free wifi. The only negative point was that the bedding was sheets and blankets - no my favourite type of bedding.

We decided to check out the hotels restaurant and have an appertif beforehand, which of course was Champagne, and it was delicious. We really would have preferred a light snack, but the menu looked inviting, and very comprehensive.

The food & service was good, but the highlight for us was the amazing wine list, that was truly a bible of wines & Champagnes!

The downside to our trip was the room was a little expensive for the time of the year, 110€, with no breakfast - I believe that the hotel runs packages, including meals and Champagne, which would be well worth looking into.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Chose this hotel for its champagne package - well it is in the middle of the champagne region.

The hotel did not let us down, excellent food, a champagne list to die for and very professiona//attentive service.

We would happily go again.

The only slight downside was the trek from the reception area to our room in the new extension, but with all the food and wine some extra exercise was required.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergeres-les-Vertus
6.9 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,161 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
13.3 mi away
Logis Auberge des Moissons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
454 reviews
9.8 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#10 of 14 in Epernay
197 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel D'angleterre
Hotel D'angleterre
#2 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Mont-Aime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Mont-Aime

Property: Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
Address: 4 rue de Vertus, 51130 Bergeres-les-Vertus, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Bergeres-les-Vertus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bergeres-les-Vertus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie du Mont-Aime 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Champenois vineyard, a charming hostelery in a delightful little village, at the foot in the Mont Aime.Christine et Jean Sciancalepore offer cosiness and comfort allied to good food : 43 pretty rooms overlooking the terrases or gardens, an elegant dining-room decorated with floxers end its Atrium, original recipes, continental breakfast served in an attrative setting by the edge of the swimming-pool, sauna... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostellerie du Mont-Aime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Mont-Aime Hotel Bergeres-Les-Vertus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing