We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A superb stopover”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Tucked away in a little village, this hotel is large, catering well for business groups but equally comfortable for individuals on a short stopover. The car park has very easy access to the room which had a small balcony. The bathroom was functional rather than stylish but had the welcome feature of plenty of places to put your stuff. There is an indoor swimming pool, with the offer of bathrobe and sandals available from reception. The highlight, though, was the food. Several choices of menu. None of them cheap but this is Champagne district after all. We had the 60 euro choice of 2 main courses and it was all superb. Highly recommended as a stopover for anyone making their way down this side of France.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    92
    37
    8
    4
See reviews for
31
96
2
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The public rooms, including both dining and breakfast rooms are attractive, and are matched by the quality of food served.

The dinner menus are rather expensive, as is wine from an absurdly long wine list. Breakfast was also good, though pre cooked bacon, ham and sausages were rather unattractive, at least to me.

The bedrooms were adequate only, reasonably comfortable but rather old, and in need of some refurbishment.

The location is good, the indoor swimming pool OK, and there is good parking.

The staff are efficient and reasonably friendly, but nothing more.

Overall this is a pretty good hotel, and I can recommend it, though it is quite expensive for what is on offer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stop after several tastings in Vertus. Quality service and food. Will definiitely return the next time we are in the area. Diverse wine list. The fixed lunch menu is a bargain. Decor is very nice. This was a nice change after many disappointing meals in Epernay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vinoturistico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had stayed in this hotel some 15 years when returning from Alsace, principally because of the fine restaurant. The rooms then we clean, tidy but not very large. Now the hotel has been expanded, the main building reorganised but the restaurant has been retained and maintains a very high standard. Rooms are spacious, well fitted and comfortable - akin to a Marriot or high end Hilton.

The staff are delightful and we would make particular mention of the sommelier on duty the evening we stayed who really made our evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WingcoNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Gillis-Waas, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel was very clean and tidy. I read some comments on the 80's look but why not? Wait another 5 years and it's "vintage". I'm not a fan of the uniform hotel-look of the big chains.

The rooms were also very clean and big. But if you are there during a heat-wave, ask for a room in the shade (e.g. in the new building, looking at the hills, not the poolside). TV had French, English, German channels and even 1 Dutch channel (thank you!). Wifi performed excellent and is free. The beds were excellent.

The reception was correct but didn't give much explanation (time of breakfast or dinner?).

Dinner was excellent so absolutely no complaints there. I turned down the winelist so I got some strange looks of the 3 sommeliers. Sorry guys, I'm not impressed with a telephone book (yes it's that huge). So I asked just 1 glass that fitted the half-pension menu and they were happy to do that (at 8 euro/glass).

Breakfast was also good but didn't change in the 4 days we stayed.

Service was efficient and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The pool was nice (about 8m x 4m) and it was cleaned every day but most of the fitness equipment was out of order.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pivertigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have stayed several times in this hotel, even as members of a large group of 80 people. The accommodation is quite complete in this hotel that has a nice swimming pool and adjacent fitness area as well. Ample parking space available. The hotel is located at walking distance of the surrounding vinyards. If one wishes to visit the Côte des Blancs or the Côte Sézannais this hotel is perfectly located. However, if you look for a more central location towards the Vallée de la Marne or the Montagne de Reims this is a bit less interesting.

The rooms offer sufficient space and are correct. Disabled persons can perfectly stay in the ground floor based rooms that are quite well accessible.

Nice and extensive breakfast is offered. Dinner can also be taken in the hotel restaurant though quality has ups and downs. For the price you pay for dinner there is better quality available in the area.

Personally I would suggest that you choose this hotel if you come to the Champagne area in groups. Individually or as a couple there a more charming (and less expensive) opportunities available.

Room Tip: Take a ground floor room in the 'back door area'. it allows you to park your car next to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umberto-Huby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading, england
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have stayed here before and it does make a convenient stopover on the way south. That said, we were rather disappointed. The room was adequate but ordinary and awkwardly placed at a distance from the main building. I suppose covering the pool extends its use but it was nicer when in the open air - perhaps a sliding roof could have been managed. We also felt that while dinner was quite good it compared badly with other less expensive places we visited later - for example my foie gras terrine was poor quality pate, not whole livers.
Overall we felt the hotel was not justified in charging such high prices for a very average experience.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not in the new annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janettat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergeres-les-Vertus
6.9 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,160 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
13.3 mi away
Logis Auberge des Moissons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
454 reviews
9.8 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#10 of 14 in Epernay
197 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel D'angleterre
Hotel D'angleterre
#2 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Mont-Aime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Mont-Aime

Property: Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
Address: 4 rue de Vertus, 51130 Bergeres-les-Vertus, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Bergeres-les-Vertus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bergeres-les-Vertus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie du Mont-Aime 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Champenois vineyard, a charming hostelery in a delightful little village, at the foot in the Mont Aime.Christine et Jean Sciancalepore offer cosiness and comfort allied to good food : 43 pretty rooms overlooking the terrases or gardens, an elegant dining-room decorated with floxers end its Atrium, original recipes, continental breakfast served in an attrative setting by the edge of the swimming-pool, sauna... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostellerie du Mont-Aime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Mont-Aime Hotel Bergeres-Les-Vertus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing