We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab find! We'll be back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Firs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Firs
Ranked #1 of 1 Runswick B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab find! We'll be back...”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My boyfriend stumbled across the firs searching for a place to stay for my 40th birthday weekend that would accommodate two lively but loving Labradors...we'd struggled in the past with places that claimed to be "dog friendly" , who knew we had 2 large dogs which then turned out to have pokey rooms and no doggy friendly facilities (a simple hose pipe makes all the difference after a day at the beach!) but the Firs was all Mandy claimed it to be
Paul spoke to Mandy on the phone to reassure himself that they were in fact dog friendly and we weren't disappointed, we were welcomed with open arms and showed to our lovely room which had ample space for the dogs to curl up on a blanket.
We asked whether Mandy knew of any dog friendly pubs where we could eat later and as they do change their minds regularly she offered to ring round and check, what a lovely thing to do,
Next morning having missed breakfast we led the doggies out to the car where Mandy accosted us and demanded we eat something before we leave,, she said good morning to the dogs who were rather pleased to see her and she then led us to our saved table! Expecting tea and toast we were presented with a wonderful full English brekkie with the best bacon I've had in ages!

What a wonderful hostess, the staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble!

We will be back and can wholeheartedly recommend the firs to you

Room Tip: Just call and let Mandy know what you need...simple as that
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calker71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    18
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

At Runswick Bay we luckily found The Firs where we and our dog,Nellie, always get a wonderful welcome. If you want to stay in a clean,comfortable,spacious room and be treated to generous portions of well cooked food , go to The Firs - we have enjoyed 5 visits.

Room Tip: Excellent rooms on the ground floor for the disabled/less mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Superb food and lovely warm welcome. Felt like home. Homemade jams for breakfast are a must. Great location as part of the Cleveland Way.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stepht47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed here with our 6 month old baby during a glorious sunny week in august.
We had a lovely time, the hotel was even better than we expected & offered very good value for money. Its location made it very easy to get to sandsend, whitby (about 20-30 mins by car), saltburn, robinhoods bay & scarborough. We will definitely stay here again!

Runswick is a small village with a couple of pubs & a small cove/ sandy beach.
The firs is at the top & flat part of the village, it is a very very steep walk to the beach either down the road, or down the winding slightly more gentle foot path (if it were a ski slope it would be a red run).
It has a private car park (that did get full at weekend & if someone didn't park properly was a tight squeeze), this is a must in runswick. We were surprised that the original building was quite old, which meant it had lovely proportions.

We needed a room that was large enough to take a travel cot & were given a very large room on the ground floor opposite reception that had a 4poster bed, double sofa, flat screen TV, freestanding wardrobe, dressing table, chest, cupboard with a fridge. The bathroom was small compared to the room, with a shower but it was big enough to bath a baby in.
The bed was amazingly comfy with really good quality bedding, we all slept very well & there was very little noise.
We had to provide our own travel cot & high chair (we took a bumbo) which we new about when we booked, Mandy let us have the same table at breakfast so we left the bumbo in the dining room for the week.

We were given a very warm welcome by Mandy & she was around if you needed anything & was happy to give advice about the local area. She did lovely little touches that you just don't get in big / commercial places. The whole place was spotless clean.
Breakfast was great, there was plenty of choice & the full English/ eggs/ kippers were cooked to order, the produce was from Yorkshire.
We also had an evening meal here which was very tasty, big portions so make sure you’re hungry.

The firs caters for many different groups, there were young families, people from Europe, disabled guests, couples & a small dog.
You get a door key for the side door so can come & go as you please.

Room Tip: Speak to mandy about your needs & she'll advise you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

we found this wonderful place by accident and what a find it was!!. we stayed 2 nights with our dog and have to say it was great. i have never written a review before but i have to write about this place! from the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was perfect!.the room was on the ground floor and was a good size which was good because the dog had plenty of room! we had a wet room too which was also big and had all the things you need like shampoo,soap shower gel etc, breakfast was huge and we didnt need anything to eat till supper time! the room was spotless,and a nice touch is the home made cake that is waiting for you each day yummy!! The staff are super and nothing was too much trouble,they chilled our beer and it was waiting for us when we got in the evening!! the location is spot on for runswick bay and its a nice walk down to the beach although the walk back is steep but you can drive down too and park at the bottom. there is also a nice walk for the dog if you go down ellerby lane and just after the houses look for a gap in the hedges ( on the right hand side up 3 steps) and follow the path, it takes you down a disused railway line and will take you to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppiecat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This guest house is a real gem! There was nothing to complain about. The staff were friendly, the facilities were superb and the food were spot on. Nothing was too much trouble here. Runswick Bay was beautiful, bit of a very steep hill but well worth the walk. This hotel was chosen as they accepted dogs. The B&B never smelt of dog. We would defiantly come back here again and has to be the best shirt break we have had as a family. The one downside was the Bank Holiday wasn't long enough as we would have liked another day!! Thankyou to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meltonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Super B&B. Provided parking for our bikes. Brilliant staff.
Please note the evening meals are wonderful. They are a little bit more expensive than the pubs, but good quantities, plenty of fresh vegetables, loads of meat, best Yorkshire puddings I ever remember having out. (Mine are good too, but got to own up these were better) Nothing is too much trouble.

Note no alcohol license, but you are welcome to bring your own

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doing_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
0.2 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
495 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Captain Cook Inn
Captain Cook Inn
#1 of 6 in Staithes
227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ellerby Country Inn
Ellerby Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ellerby
211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cleveland Corner
Cleveland Corner
#4 of 6 in Staithes
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Firs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firs

Property: The Firs
Address: 26 Hinderwell Lane, Runswick TS13 5HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Firs 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Firs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Firs Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing