We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B with a great breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Firs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Firs
Ranked #1 of 1 Runswick B&B and Inns
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good B&B with a great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Very welcoming B&B at the top of Runswick Bay...just a 10min stroll/climb to/from the beach.
Ground floor family room - ensuite - good, spacious. Sofa, TV, toiletries...
Breakfast - a short window for breakfast (8.30 - 9.15) but the quality - excellent.
B&B £42pp per night.
Free parking onsite.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    17
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We booked a short weekend break at the last minute and so were very suprised to find the quality of the accomodation on offer at this very pleasant guest house. We recieved a very warm welcome from Mandy and her team who couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Firs is a large guesthouse set in a quiet street. We were greeted by Mandy who helpfully offered to dry our wet boots by her Aga. A young man carried our bags upstairs to an attractive room with a pleasant outlook. Here we found slices of homemade coconut cake and even some boiled sweets. The bedroom had an en suite with a spa bath and a selection of toiletries. We ate dinner at the Runswick Bay Hotel which was very poor and we wished we had opted for Mandy’s dining room where you were given a three course meal for a set price. One of the other guests who ate there said it was ‘lovely’. The wifi wasn’t working which was a disappointment but in the morning I was able to access the Internet in the guest sitting room.
We spent a comfortable night except that the central heating was never switched on. This meant the need for extra (heavy) blankets on the bed and a chilly start to the day.
Breakfast was excellent – one of the best I’ve had on our Cleveland Way walk. The varied menu made for a refreshing change from the usual B & B offerings and it catered well for vegetarians. Porridge was served with cream and honey and there was also fruit salad and a big bowl of yoghurt. The hot breakfast was beautifically cooked to our specifications. The young waitress was extremely obliging and happy to accommodate our varied needs. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at the Firs B&B for one night in August 2012.
On arrival we were asked to choose our starters and the mains but were given no indication of what the price would be at that point.
On receiving the bill the following morning asking for £25.50 pp, only having had 2 courses myself..(a bowl of soup,and a lamb dinner,(which were nice)but i was shocked to say the very least.
I think that this should be reviewed for people who haven't got so bigger appetite,and you shouldn't be expected to pay for 4 courses, when you have only had 2,it should state on the menu that this is a 'set' price,and not itemized.
I am by no means one of these 'fussy' people either, but just expect to get what i pay for.
As far as the room,and other facilities go,i can't really fault them.
I wouldn't say that Mandy was around whenever needed either,it was actually one of the assistants that i had the dispute with over this price as Mandy wasn't around.
All in all ,clean,presentable rooms,but poor value for money regarding the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wadey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We had expected to find a choice of B & B's on the road between Whitby and Staithes but there were very few. We asked at one which was fully booked and the owner directed us to Runswick Bay as she said there were several there. We stopped at The Firs and although it was only 12.30 we were shown room 8 on the ground floor and there was no problem in leaving our luggage, making a cup of tea and then going out for the afternoon. We were told we could decide whether we wanted an evening meal when we got back but we didn't arrive back till about 5 and Mandy prefers to know earlier in the day - but we still got our choice from the 4 starters, 4 main courses plus about 5 desserts. The room was comfortable, the shower-room modern and clean, and it was nice to have a sofa to sit on rather than just the bed or an uncomfortable upright chair as in a lot of places. The food was well cooked and plentiful, and our only suggestion would be the option of a two course meal rather than the offered 3 courses at £25.50. The Firs is a good compromise between B & B in a private house and an expensive hotel, our B & B room rate was, I think, £84 per night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davids_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I booked to stay at The Firs on the 4th August for two nights, after which I saw the review below and my heart sunk. However, I have to be honest and say that The Firs is one of the best bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed in. The bedrooms were large and spacious, with enough room for me, my partner and two large Labrador dogs to relax after a day at the beach and large enough to sleep comfortably. The bed was very comfy. The wet room was marvellous with no drainage problems as indicated in the previous review and plenty of space to put toiletries.

Fortunately whilst staying at The Firs me and my partner got to sample the wonderful delight that is Mandy's cooking. We had an evening meal that was freshly cooked to order using local ingredients, how often can you say that these days? The evening meal cost £25.50 for three courses and coffee, which for a freshly cooked four course meal using only the finest local ingredients I would say that it is great value for money, and Mandy certainly gives "Yorkshire portions" so make sure you bring your appetite.

The breakfast is one of the best I have ever had; there was a wide variety of choice when it came to breakfast ranging from fresh fruit salad and yogurt to smoked haddock. Breakfast was superb, I couldn’t fault it. The small homemade touches such as the cake in the bedrooms and homemade bread and jams at breakfast just add a little something extra.

It cost £42.00 per person per night to stay at The Firs which I believe to be great value for money.


Overall I would recommend The Firs to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We had a twin bedded room on the ground floor with wet room attached. Room was very clean beds hard and uncomfortable, TV old fashioned and couldnt be watched in bed as it was on a level with the back of the bed, small floor area with no where to put suitcases not enough surfaces to put toiletries in the wet room, the empty double rooms opposite seemed much bigger After a shower the floor was awash as it didnt drain away properly we had to walk around with towels everywhere. Dinner was expensive and poor. I choose roast lamb and what came was a shredded mess of meat in very greasy gravy,Breakfast next morning was equally bad I got an inedible egg and asked for another one which came swimming in fat, totally off putting. We did express our dissatisfaction at the size of our room and were told it met with tourist board requirements, the landlady could have given us one of the empty room to make our stay more comfortable. The total cost for two nights bed and breakfast with dinner on the first night £218 which we thought was very expensive. We considered moving but felt that as we had complained the landlady would do something for us. All in all an experience that has sadly put us off guest houses J Chester

Room Tip: Twin room very small for two individuals
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
0.2 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Captain Cook Inn
Captain Cook Inn
#1 of 6 in Staithes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ellerby Country Inn
Ellerby Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ellerby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Firs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firs

Property: The Firs
Address: 26 Hinderwell Lane, Runswick TS13 5HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Firs 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Firs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Firs Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing