We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best guest house in best place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Firs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Firs
Ranked #1 of 1 Runswick B&B and Inns
West Witton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best guest house in best place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent guest house, made to feel most welcome by the owner. Nothing is too much trouble and even our dog is welcomed, even give a sausage! Runswick Bay is a delightful place unspoilt and allows dogs on the beach. We had a special birthday celebration at the Firs last year with twenty four of us having free run of the place . Can't recommend it too much

Room Tip: All needs catered for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    18
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while walking the Cleveland Way and it is only 200 yards off the path. This is quite a large B&B offering reasonable accommodation en suite. The owner is helpful. It would be difficult to have an early start as breakfast seemed to be from 8.30am. Though in our room free national UK calls were advertised which would be good as there is poor mobile phone reception in Runswick Bay the room phone did not work for this. There are a couple of places nearby to get your evening meal.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for a Scooter Rally in Whitby. Its a very quite B & B, superb breakfast. Staff are all family and very friendly. Great choice of drinks in room and dogs more than welcome. But be warned they have resident cats.

Room Tip: We had room 3 at front of property. Very steep stairs to first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 767barny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stopped at The Firs on my walk along The Cleveland Way and it was lovely to relax here after a long day of walking. My room was on the ground floor which made a change from other places I had stayed. Very comfortable double bed for just me, everything I could want with a piece of cake too and herbal teas as well at the usual coffee and tea. I enjoyed smoked mackerel for breakfast, good to be offered an alternative to the usual sausage and bacon. There was also a plate of different breads, toasted home made bread, muffin, crumpet and croissant. I admit I put some of these in my ruck sack for later together with a helping of home made jam. The wifi worked well in the delightful lounge area and I would recommend the guest house, with all its facilities and very warm welcome.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor, useful if you don't like stairs, I think it was room 3 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarbrough
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for a short break at the Seaside, with the local moors a bonus, we loved it. Great breakfast with homemade bread, good value evening meal and clean well equiped room. No complaints at all, free car parking, pleasant staff. We will be back soon. Thank you. Angela Bangle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at The Firs after deciding last minute to pay a trip to the Yorkshire coast.
It's a great B&B, located outside of whitby, so the village is not too busy and peaceful.
Upon arrival, the owner was very welcoming and the room we were given was very clean and had lovely little touches such as homemade cake.
Breakfast the next day was very good, ample amounts of food and great service. Due to the standard of food we decided to have an evening meal. This cost £25.50 per person for three courses and then coffee. The food was great and again more than enough. Typical Yorkshire portions!

We found there was a lot to do and see in Whitby and the surrounding areas.

We would certainly stay again!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My boyfriend and i despite ordering a room on the first floor (quiet ), were shown a room on the ground floor as we arrived later ..5.30 Presumedly they had given ours away ? it was quiet noisy by reception, which was very tired and in need of a good cheering up ..( which gives the wrong impression from the start ) room pleasant and clean , but tired .

Despite being polite enough , the owners was aloof and unaproachable like she just wanted the money realy ..and god help us if we complained , which we did about the room being cold .

The halls were lovely and warm , when my boyfriend complained the room was cold , which it was ., the owner revealed a themometer from near a radiator and retorted , its over 23 degrees ! which it would be next to the radiator ...!!! and let us have a small compact heater . she said that the radiators didn't come on till it dropped below 5 degrees , i predicted , having worked in a few hotels myself , ( and no , im realistic in my opinions ! ) that we would be boiling the next morning as the radiators would be too hot ...hey prestow they were ! strange thought i !!!!!!!!

At breakfast which was very busy , we sat by the window ..a woman appearing in a onesy sleeping suit , on the veranda and picked up the dog dirt from her dog .. : O

The breakfast , was i must say a yorkshire feast ..too much realy ..was very nice and hot ..the homemade bread , delitious and credit where credit due that was nice ..BUT DINNER AT 25.50 FOR 2 COURSES EACH EXTORTIONATE ! so we never bothered .
The homemade jam of necterine and honey popped and smoked when i opened the lid it had been there that long and was mouldy .but the strawerry was very nice ..the waitress brought wrong drink and meal ..but we just eat it the next day ..for fear a poisoned spider would drop from above the bed that night if we dared complain ! or mention .

We stayed two nights , i think i wouldnt stay again or recommed because we both felt uncomfortable and as long as they got the money they werent bothered .. that they done the minimum they could get away with realy ..

Thats why i say complacent ! because i truely feel you need to feel welcomed somewhere , and we didnt feel that ..i appreciate in this business you may get messed about by people ..but because there isnt any other place in town there not that bothered if you call again or not ..u have to stay there if the Runswick arms is full ..please see review of runswick arms for food !

Her mother was realy nice , but i feel her daughter lets it down ...

Room Tip: first floor rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trishawheeler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
0.2 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Captain Cook Inn
Captain Cook Inn
#1 of 6 in Staithes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ellerby Country Inn
Ellerby Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ellerby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cleveland Corner
Cleveland Corner
#4 of 6 in Staithes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Firs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firs

Property: The Firs
Address: 26 Hinderwell Lane, Runswick TS13 5HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Firs 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Firs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Firs Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing