We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KGB voucher? Don't hold your breath...”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We tried to use our KGB here deal without success so can only comment on our contact with the hotel in the vain effort to book our two night/two person stay.

We emailed the hotel with a few different date combinations during March 2012 but none was available, although two others were suggested. We then called to check any dates beyond March as the email replies took a little while to arrive and were told curtly that other than the two possibilities already advised, nothing else was available (between now and July?). We could, of course, upgrade at a further £100, but a total of £200 for two nights in a remote North Yorkshire coastal village didn't seem much of a bargain, especially considering some fairly lacklustre reviews on here.

We understand that hotels are having a tough time and need to attract business any way they can, including offering deals such as this. The Cliffemount has clearly been caught out with this KGB offer - their problem not ours. But if we have one overriding comment, it's this. The snotty, unhelpful and mildly patronising attitude we experienced when simply trying to use what we had bought in good faith will prevent us from ever passing through this establishment's door. It could and should have been handled so much better.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank JohnBarra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

we booked a weekend deal for this hotel for february the 24th, sadly my mum passed away the weekend prior and it was due to be her birthday on the 24th, so I felt I neded to be with my father this weekend.
I contacted the hotel to see if we could re-schedule at a date to suit the hotel. The answer was a point blank "NO, we cannot change dates on deals", a couple of days later we tried again and spoke to the manager, with the same result "NO". We would have taken any available date, surely they must have had some availability at this time of year. The hotel looked great, we love the area, so were really looking forward to our stay, we usually stay in Sandsend.
If this is the level of service all the good work promoting the hotel is wasted, sorry but we wont recommend you to freinds and colleagues, because we were not given chance to try you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Kastania_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pheasant1, Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear M_Sando_12

Although with sypathise with your circumstances, you really tried to change your booking at approx 11:15am on the day of arrival( the check in starts at 3:00pm) . Due to KGB being oversubscribed (at KGB's fault) terms and conditions have to be adhered. We will accommmodate every voucher sold however flexibility is required. Had we known of your circumstances earlier we would have attemted to help were possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here as part of a KGB deal at the beginning of February 2012. We had a lot of trouble getting a date and ended up having to take time off work to get a Sunday and Monday night which was not ideal. Staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival and the owner talked to us on departure - he (and his wife) could have scored more points if they had spoken to us earlier. He turned out to be one of the chef team too and told us more about the forthcoming events and that they only cooked lobster caught in the bay.

The food was really good - we had breakfast and dinner twice and enjoyed all of it.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and had a partial sea view. We were clearly in a KGB deal room as the hotel was virtually empty and many of the other rooms had balconies overlooking the bay. Again, a lost opportunity to score a few more points and deliver exceptional value with an upgrade!

At full price you have a lot of places to choose to stay but I suspect that many of the special event evenings will be great fun and great value.

Room Tip: If you are on a deal you may get a room with less of a sea view and no balcony - ask for an upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Been before and thought what a great place went back and wouldn't go again. Only comment I can make is average. Raved about it last time we went. Couldn't wait to leave this time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forget_itelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of a KGB deal.

Firstly, when I bought the voucher I phoned the hotel to check on availabilty. It seems a lot of people had been doing the same thing however, because the woman I spoke to was quite short with me and we ended up having an argument. Not a good start really!

However, we managed to get a booking, wasn't the best time (Middle of Feb) but we went along to try it out. After the argument I was expecting the worst.

I couldn't have been more wrong, the place was lovely and we had a great time. The view from the room was one of the best I have ever seen from a hotel room before.

The staff were great, very friendly. We didn't stay for evening meals, but the breakfasts were lovely.

I would recommend this place. Shame about the phone call, but she was probably a bit stressed, so I'll let her off!

Thanks for the nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Our party comprised two couples staying for two nights. We were welcomed & shown to our rooms. The rooms had spectacular views across the bay. The staff were very friendly & courteous. We enjoyed a relaxing stay, toured the area, visited Whitby.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurgmanRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The views are very good across the bay but that's it ,how on earth it got 2 rosettes for food I will never understand,the rooms are ordinary,clean ,that's it nothing inspiring in the decor and for the price it should be better, as for the food ,the fox and hounds goldsborough and ditto Whitby knock it into a cocked hat, I also think it would benefit from the lady owner being a little more welcoming and spend less time looking down her nose.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Belladwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pheasant1, Owner at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us but your comments are purely your view of us and obiously not shared by many other people

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,095 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,066 reviews
9.4 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range: £108 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing