We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to be something it isn't”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yeldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Trying to be something it isn't”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We had a lovely room overlooking the bay. The room was comfortable and spacious, lovely bathroom and everything spotless. We were offered a special deal of £149 for one night bnb and £25 allowance each towards dinner. The price without dinner was £100!
Management of this place are trying to make it into some high class, fine dining establishment... they need to stop, they are just coming accross as slightly pompous and Fawlty Towers! Just concentrate on having a lovely house in a fantastic setting and try to provide warm, friendly Yorkshire service.

Room Tip: Sea view essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pheasant1, Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Linda

We are sorry that you feel this way. We pride ourselves in a casual and relaxed service during the day. However we are very proud of our restaurant and the fact that we have been awarded 2 AA Rosettes for 3 years running which in essence means that the evening service is slightly more formal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    129
    55
    43
    23
See reviews for
57
361
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We managed to use our KGB voucher for a 2 night weekend stay for £99 at the beginning of March, but I think it must have been because we booked last July!
We knew that the check in time was 3pm, but we arrived at 1pm to hand in our voucher and to see where we would be staying - unfortunately the restaurant manager made us feel quite unwelcome and he spoke about us to the receptionist in the room behind the desk as if we weren't there. The receptionist on the other hand was very friendly and offered to look after our bags etc, but our less than warm welcome meant we didn't hang around to buy lunch.
We asked about the possibility of upgrading our room and the cost was quoted as £99 for the 2 nights, so the same price that we had paid for 2 nights in total! If the upgrade price had been set at a sensible £40, we would have paid it, so by not applying common sense, the hotel kept their empty superior room and a possible positive review, and lost £40. Also, on Saturday evening our group of 6 were undecided about having dinner in the hotel - we asked to see the menus, but there was no attempt to persuade us to eat in. If they had seized the opportunity and offered us a complimentary bottle of wine as an incentive, we would have eaten there, and the hotel would have gained 6 food covers and the associated bar spend. Enough of the marketing lesson, on to the hotel!
Beautifully decorated bar and restaurant, stunning views, but as far as the food is concerned I can only comment on the breakfast whch was very good (although there were no pastries or muffins). There is not much around there in the way of restaurants or pubs, so you do really have to drive to Whitby for a good meal - it takes 10 - 15 minutes and is approx £40 return in a taxi. Our room at the hotel was quite small (what can you expect with KGB?!) and overlooked the car park but it was clean and well equipped. My only gripe was that there was no plug near a mirror so drying/styling your hair was a bit of a challenge!
All in all, good value for £99 for 2 nights, but definately not worth the rate they normally charge!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view...but you'll have to pay for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pheasant1, Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your comments however we feel that some of them are unjustified and exaggerated.
We must point out that the KGB offer was oversold by KGB therefore causing problems with availabilities. We actually stopped it last July. We will accommodate every voucher however flexibility is required.
With regards to your suggestion of £40.00 for upgrade to a premier room, the price quoted by our duty manager was still substantially lower than our standard price (the difference between the value of your voucher and the standard price we charge) so we don't really understand what is the issue.
Regarding your comments of Free bottle of wine and you would have dined with us, again we want people to dine with us because they want to experience excellent 2 Rosette rated food and not for what they can get free(you were already on excellent promotional offer of only £99.00 for a Bed and Breakfast rate for 2 nights stay!!).
After investigating all your comments we are happy how the issues at check in and check out were handled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We tried to use our KGB here deal without success so can only comment on our contact with the hotel in the vain effort to book our two night/two person stay.

We emailed the hotel with a few different date combinations during March 2012 but none was available, although two others were suggested. We then called to check any dates beyond March as the email replies took a little while to arrive and were told curtly that other than the two possibilities already advised, nothing else was available (between now and July?). We could, of course, upgrade at a further £100, but a total of £200 for two nights in a remote North Yorkshire coastal village didn't seem much of a bargain, especially considering some fairly lacklustre reviews on here.

We understand that hotels are having a tough time and need to attract business any way they can, including offering deals such as this. The Cliffemount has clearly been caught out with this KGB offer - their problem not ours. But if we have one overriding comment, it's this. The snotty, unhelpful and mildly patronising attitude we experienced when simply trying to use what we had bought in good faith will prevent us from ever passing through this establishment's door. It could and should have been handled so much better.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank JohnBarra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

we booked a weekend deal for this hotel for february the 24th, sadly my mum passed away the weekend prior and it was due to be her birthday on the 24th, so I felt I neded to be with my father this weekend.
I contacted the hotel to see if we could re-schedule at a date to suit the hotel. The answer was a point blank "NO, we cannot change dates on deals", a couple of days later we tried again and spoke to the manager, with the same result "NO". We would have taken any available date, surely they must have had some availability at this time of year. The hotel looked great, we love the area, so were really looking forward to our stay, we usually stay in Sandsend.
If this is the level of service all the good work promoting the hotel is wasted, sorry but we wont recommend you to freinds and colleagues, because we were not given chance to try you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kastania_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pheasant1, Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear M_Sando_12

Although with sypathise with your circumstances, you really tried to change your booking at approx 11:15am on the day of arrival( the check in starts at 3:00pm) . Due to KGB being oversubscribed (at KGB's fault) terms and conditions have to be adhered. We will accommmodate every voucher sold however flexibility is required. Had we known of your circumstances earlier we would have attemted to help were possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here as part of a KGB deal at the beginning of February 2012. We had a lot of trouble getting a date and ended up having to take time off work to get a Sunday and Monday night which was not ideal. Staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival and the owner talked to us on departure - he (and his wife) could have scored more points if they had spoken to us earlier. He turned out to be one of the chef team too and told us more about the forthcoming events and that they only cooked lobster caught in the bay.

The food was really good - we had breakfast and dinner twice and enjoyed all of it.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and had a partial sea view. We were clearly in a KGB deal room as the hotel was virtually empty and many of the other rooms had balconies overlooking the bay. Again, a lost opportunity to score a few more points and deliver exceptional value with an upgrade!

At full price you have a lot of places to choose to stay but I suspect that many of the special event evenings will be great fun and great value.

Room Tip: If you are on a deal you may get a room with less of a sea view and no balcony - ask for an upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Been before and thought what a great place went back and wouldn't go again. Only comment I can make is average. Raved about it last time we went. Couldn't wait to leave this time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forget_itelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of a KGB deal.

Firstly, when I bought the voucher I phoned the hotel to check on availabilty. It seems a lot of people had been doing the same thing however, because the woman I spoke to was quite short with me and we ended up having an argument. Not a good start really!

However, we managed to get a booking, wasn't the best time (Middle of Feb) but we went along to try it out. After the argument I was expecting the worst.

I couldn't have been more wrong, the place was lovely and we had a great time. The view from the room was one of the best I have ever seen from a hotel room before.

The staff were great, very friendly. We didn't stay for evening meals, but the breakfasts were lovely.

I would recommend this place. Shame about the phone call, but she was probably a bit stressed, so I'll let her off!

Thanks for the nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,999 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
184 reviews
13.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,188 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Property: Cliffemount Hotel
Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing