We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Cliffemount Hotel enjoys a spectacular spot perched on the cliff top overlooking the magnificent cove of Runswick Bay. It must surely have one of the best views on the Yorkshire coast. The hotel is a fine quality 3-star establishment. Our ground floor room had its own small balcony/terrace, adjacent to the hotel’s pretty garden, with stunning views across the bay. We had a comfortable room, with good quality furniture and comfortable beds, though there’s no internet access, or even a shared computer, for guests. The pleasant restaurant also overlooks the garden and bay. Here, credit must be paid to the chef not only for an imaginative menu, but for hearty and delicious portions, attractively presented. In fact, I would say that even if you’re not staying at the hotel, it’s worthwhile to book for an evening meal. The excellent choice at breakfast was plentiful, and it was very high quality, cooked-to-order. Efficient and friendly staff throughout. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

We recognise that this place had been oversubscribed with KGB deals but quite frankly that is not our problem and does not merit the appalling service received. Uncomfortable beds, expensive drinks, pompous bad attitude, terrible breakfasts, a no can do approach to guests. We were stuck up in a rabbit hutch of a room and because of lack of availability when booking given twin beds for the first night with the agreement of a double bed for our second night, something which was later reneged on. Couldn’t wait to leave and the only redeeming feature this place had to offer was the spectacular view, something that is provided by nature and nothing to do with customer service and the graciousness of the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Frankie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaceksliwinski, Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Sir

I must stress that you review is unjustified and exaggerated.

- The KGB offer is oversuscribed at the fault of the Voucher Provider and every costumer is entilted to fill a complain to KGB. It is also only Cliffemount good will gesture that we will still accommodate all voucher holders although flexibility is required. Every additional voucher owner is told of those circumstances. You decided to come after learning all availabilities and booked a twin room - only one available room on that date.
- You booked a twin room(room number 8) for 2 night stay as it says in your confirmation which we still have in our system with no possibility of relocating you for the second night as all other rooms were booked.
- It is only upon your arrival that you enquired about a possibility of relocating you for the second night. We only refused as all other rooms were occupied, so obviously we couldn't do nothing about it. I must stress again that your enquiry and confirmation state that you book a twin room!!
- Room 8 and every other standard room has exactly same funishing as other rooms. Room 8 is actually very popular and offered as a starndard twin room to our constumers.
- Your bill shows that you never purchased any drinks from the bar at the duration of your stay. Also, you didn't dine in our restaurant or ordered any other service so I am puzzled why do you try to influence Tripadisor followers?
- No further complaints were made on any on both nights of your stay, breakfast service or quality or the check out. You only enquired once more about possibility of us moving you to a different room. We are only learning about all other issues from the Tripadvisor.


I must stress that we couldn't relocate you as we didn't have any room available to offer. No complaints were made while seeing us during any time of your stay or the check out. You never experienced any other service besides breakfast and check out. I am sorry that reviews like that can influence real travellers while all of additional KGB Voucher holders are told about all circumstances(latest good reviews) before arriving at the hotel. Unfortunetaly it is quite clear that you complain about Cliffemount while being dissatisfied with your voucher provider.

Kind regards - JS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

we stayed overnight and had a Taster Menu which was all locally sourced and beautifully cooked and presented.The attention to detail was impressive and the service was excellant.
There is a lunchtime menu and some more themed events coming up
20th April Jazz night an 15th July Lobster Barbecue -count me in!

Room Tip: a balcony room overlooking Runswick bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Beautiful weather, fantastic views across the bay from our room, for our two day break.
The food was great and the staff very attentive.

I too had read some negative reviews but they certainly did not apply to our stay.

All in all a relaxing break in wonderful surroundings - the hotel, staff and food being the icing
on the cake!!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the bay would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcandbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Cliffemount feeling totally relaxed and well rested.The position of the hotel on the east coast of yorkshire is perfect for those who want to get away from the frenzied pace of everyday life.The staff are very welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and requests are done there and then, NOT "in a minute". The room we had was very spacious, clean and comfortable and the bathroom was equally as good, just watch the hot water though as it is very hot,which my husband loved for his shaves.
The lovely sunny dining room looks over the bay and for breakfast is a great way to start your day, as is the excellent food served up for the first meal of the day, good selection on offer and the poached eggs are fantastic!!
We ate in the restaurant just once , but only because we wanted to go exploring the area further afield. That too was a good experience, with as always attentive staff and good quality food.The bar we frequented a little more , especially as they kept a very good pint of Black Sheep, according to my husbands taste buds!
The hotel is well positioned for those who want to go walking along the stunning cliff tops and yet equally as accessible is the seaside resort of Whitby and if you still want more then the hotel has a good selection of brochures and ideas as to where you can go.
Overall an excellant hotel to stay in and no doubt one which we shall be returning to.

Room Tip: A seaview would be the icing on the cake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calamityjane1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

after reading a particulaly negative review of this hotel before we were leaving to travel up last sunday we were a bit worried. . . the people that wanted upgrade. . . free bottle of wine etc etc. . . .but what a treat we had instore!!! We too had booked with a kgb voucher and although we had a perfectly good room we decided to upgrade anyway as just couldnt resist the fabulous views that came with the cliff top rooms. . . . just dont know what some people expect/want!!!!! its these peoples livlihoods who need to earn a wage from it after all!! if i thought something was a rip off i would be the first to say as i like value for money as much as the next person. . . . so, ignore the negative reviews. . . .we thought it was an absolute gem. . . .wonderful staff and lovely food, (even though at first view of the menu we thought it was a little expensive). . . .thanku all at the cliffemount . . .. colin and lynda xx

Room Tip: if u can afford to go that little extra definately go for an upgrade. . .if not the standard rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loops29red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My friend and i have just had a fantastic 2 night stay at the hotel. A stunning location above the bay with extremelly friendly polite helpfull staff. The hotel was spotless and our room was warm and comfortable. We couldnt have found a better hotel. Your staff are a credit to your team. We were also shown round other rooms with balconys and stunning sea views all of which were very tastfully decorated to a high standard. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,162 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
574 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
650 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range: £72 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing