We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliffemount Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hudsons(Whitby)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
284
147
58
46
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
284
147
58
46
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrunswick baybalcony roompremier roomsea viewcleveland waynorth yorkshire coastcliff topbeer gardenevening mealsmall hotelkipperslovely hotelhotel restaurantfish and chipssmoked salmonopen firerelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I was a bit sceptical about the Cliffemount Hotel due to the bad reviews I had read and not being able to use the KGB voucher I had purchased last year for £99 (for 2 nights for 2 people) unless I paid an additional £99 to upgrade to a better room, due to unavailability of the standard rooms. But it turned out to be a really nice place with friendly staff and a great breakfast! We eventually used the voucher for a 1 night stay in a standard room that was small but really clean and had everything we needed. The views of the bay from our window were amazing and the location was great for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKAManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We've stayed here several times over the years but it's now top dollar for a very decent but average hotel. The food is now on a par with London prices, £30 for a sirlion steak with trimmings and £20 for basic pasta with a salad? £165 per night b&b isn't good value for money and I doubt we'll be staying again. The location, staff and breakfasts are great but not much else going for it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Cliffemount Hotel enjoys a spectacular spot perched on the cliff top overlooking the magnificent cove of Runswick Bay. It must surely have one of the best views on the Yorkshire coast. The hotel is a fine quality 3-star establishment. Our ground floor room had its own small balcony/terrace, adjacent to the hotel’s pretty garden, with stunning views across the bay. We had a comfortable room, with good quality furniture and comfortable beds, though there’s no internet access, or even a shared computer, for guests. The pleasant restaurant also overlooks the garden and bay. Here, credit must be paid to the chef not only for an imaginative menu, but for hearty and delicious portions, attractively presented. In fact, I would say that even if you’re not staying at the hotel, it’s worthwhile to book for an evening meal. The excellent choice at breakfast was plentiful, and it was very high quality, cooked-to-order. Efficient and friendly staff throughout. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We recognise that this place had been oversubscribed with KGB deals but quite frankly that is not our problem and does not merit the appalling service received. Uncomfortable beds, expensive drinks, pompous bad attitude, terrible breakfasts, a no can do approach to guests. We were stuck up in a rabbit hutch of a room and because of lack of availability when booking given twin beds for the first night with the agreement of a double bed for our second night, something which was later reneged on. Couldn’t wait to leave and the only redeeming feature this place had to offer was the spectacular view, something that is provided by nature and nothing to do with customer service and the graciousness of the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Frankie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaceksliwinski, Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Sir

I must stress that you review is unjustified and exaggerated.

- The KGB offer is oversuscribed at the fault of the Voucher Provider and every costumer is entilted to fill a complain to KGB. It is also only Cliffemount good will gesture that we will still accommodate all voucher holders although flexibility is required. Every additional voucher owner is told of those circumstances. You decided to come after learning all availabilities and booked a twin room - only one available room on that date.
- You booked a twin room(room number 8) for 2 night stay as it says in your confirmation which we still have in our system with no possibility of relocating you for the second night as all other rooms were booked.
- It is only upon your arrival that you enquired about a possibility of relocating you for the second night. We only refused as all other rooms were occupied, so obviously we couldn't do nothing about it. I must stress again that your enquiry and confirmation state that you book a twin room!!
- Room 8 and every other standard room has exactly same funishing as other rooms. Room 8 is actually very popular and offered as a starndard twin room to our constumers.
- Your bill shows that you never purchased any drinks from the bar at the duration of your stay. Also, you didn't dine in our restaurant or ordered any other service so I am puzzled why do you try to influence Tripadisor followers?
- No further complaints were made on any on both nights of your stay, breakfast service or quality or the check out. You only enquired once more about possibility of us moving you to a different room. We are only learning about all other issues from the Tripadvisor.


I must stress that we couldn't relocate you as we didn't have any room available to offer. No complaints were made while seeing us during any time of your stay or the check out. You never experienced any other service besides breakfast and check out. I am sorry that reviews like that can influence real travellers while all of additional KGB Voucher holders are told about all circumstances(latest good reviews) before arriving at the hotel. Unfortunetaly it is quite clear that you complain about Cliffemount while being dissatisfied with your voucher provider.

Kind regards - JS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

we stayed overnight and had a Taster Menu which was all locally sourced and beautifully cooked and presented.The attention to detail was impressive and the service was excellant.
There is a lunchtime menu and some more themed events coming up
20th April Jazz night an 15th July Lobster Barbecue -count me in!

Room Tip: a balcony room overlooking Runswick bay
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews