We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT FOOD, EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, UK.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD, EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We decided to eat here on our last night of a week's holiday in Runswick Bay after we had stopped by for a coffee & cake earlier in the week. The hotel is modern and nicely decorated, with an open fire in the bar and the restaurant overlooks the cliff and has great sea views. I had scallops followed by the pork belly and my partner had the garlic soup followed by the steak. Throughout the whole meal the service was attentive and without fault, though the restaurant was quiet. The food was nicely presented and cooked to our liking and although possibly expensive for the area, is on a par as to what you would pay for a similar fine dining meal where we live in Berkshire. The only critiicism I could level is that the cheese course was served cold and I like mine at room temperature. Overall I think the food, the surroundings, and the service warrant the cost and would be happy to eat there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    129
    55
    43
    23
See reviews for
57
361
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed here on Sunday and Monday 22nd and 23rd April with a KGB deals voucher,service from the start was excellent,very polite man on reception showed us to the room which was faultless,above expectation after what we paid (£99)
Breakfast was varied and very good,well cooked and hot and the waiter that looked after us couldnt been any more helpful,didnt eat in the restaurant as i am quite fussy when it comes to food but spoke to another couple who said it was excellent,hotel itself was very quiet at night and we were not disturbed at all,i cannot understand the negative comments but then again we are not all the same,we fully intend to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDDLESBROUGH
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Cliffemount (April 20th) when there was a Jazz evening organized. Our stay was most memorable. The music was excellent and the evening meal was superb.During all of our stay the staff were most helpful and attentive. Our room had a sea view and was home from home. We would certainly recommend this hotel for an enjoyable relaxing stay. We will most definitely be returning

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I too became a bit sceptical about the Cliffemount Hotel due to the bad reviews I had read , I booked the break as soon as voucher became available in July 2011( £99 (for 2 nights for 2 people) for April this year as something to look forward to , and was not disappointed , the hotel is in a nice quiet location , we were NOT asked to upgrade room , and was given a 2nd floor room ( no 1 ) which although is not very big it was very clean, comfortable and more than adequate for a 2 night stay , room has 2 windows which over a flat roof but has a fantastic view of the bay !! we had a warm welcome on arrival , and could not fault any of the staff throughout our break ,as we found them all very friendly , we ate in the restaurant on the first night,(with prices on a par with any restaurant / Hotel) , the meal was all beautifully presented with excellent service as was breakfast and could not fault it .. the staff are all very smart , we learnt on departure that the hotel is to have regular themed nights , in May they are to have a dinner with auction etc for a local charity , with barbecue nights during the summer etc, all in all my opinion is that this is a little gem of a hotel overlooking a bay in a quiet bit of England not been yet spoilt that is determined to do its best not to be hit by recession or the big named / themed hotels ,and I wish them all the success they deserve

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshiretraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked a 2 night weekend break at the hotel which is situated in a fantastic location overlooking Runswick Bay. Our room was nicely decorated, comfortable and spacious with a view to die for. However, minor details let it down a bit, such as badly fixed bathroom fittings, and although all the usual complimentary items were provided there wasn't any nice little extra's that can make a big difference. The Jazz and 3 course dinner event arranged by the hotel was very enjoyable with excellent food and music to match. We dined at the hotel the following evening and had another superb meal. We found the hotel staff friendly and efficient. Overall a very enjoyable, relaxing break in a beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the bay but if you are tall avoid the rooms in the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tykehikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just had 2 nights at the hotel on a KGB deal. Was a bit sceptical after reading bad reviews but these were totally unfounded, can't believe they were staying in the same hotel. All the staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. The food was so good we ate there both nights with the added bonus of a band playing on the 2nd night. The location was ideal for walking the Cleveland Way and visiting surrounding areas of Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay and Staithes. I don't think our room was one of the best but it was certainly value for money at £99 for 2 nights and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Although we booked with KGB deals and were concerned about previous comments on Trip Advisor - we stayed for 2 nights & found the staff extremely polite (at all levels!), good service levels, excellent location, comfortable beds, good food, etc.... Excellence North Yorkshire hospitality!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,999 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
185 reviews
13.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,188 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Property: Cliffemount Hotel
Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing