We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, friendly staff, lovely food”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views, friendly staff, lovely food”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in feb in room 5. Enjoyed our stay very much. We travelled with our dog and he was made welcome. Very good value for money and breakfast was lovely. Had an evening meal and this was also very good. Enjoyed the quaint bar. Spectacular views, even though weather was terrible. Scenic drive to Whitby. Only downside was wifi connection not great in rooms although ok in the bar.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stiltyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    134
    57
    44
    24
See reviews for
60
369
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I bought a Living Social deal voucher for this place in October last year which expires the end of February and forgot I'd done so. When I received a reminder off LSD I rang the hotel to see if they would accept my voucher (£130) even though I hadn't redeemed it within the 30 day period. They told me they couldn't; because they were fully booked for the whole of February. I went on their web page and entered a couple of dates for which I wanted to stay there, guess what, there were lots of rooms available. It's left me with a bad taste in my mouth and I'm extremely disappointed with their actions

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank themobbstter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We have recently returned from 2 days of pure relaxation at the Cliffemount and we can honestly say that it was wonderful!! First of all the room, and I wish I had done this review earlier because I cannot remember the name, but it was an upgrade to a sea view and we were not disappointed. We even had a telescope on the balcony for an even better view of the coast, unfortunately the weather was not too kind as it was a bit misty but it did not spoil what was a beautiful view. Since coming home I have read some of the reviews about the hotel, mainly the bad reviews, now I know you cannot please all of the people all of the time but the one thing I was surprised at was the bad reviews about the food! I can honestly say that we have never eaten anywhere better, and if you look at our reviews we have eaten at a few places. The meals on both nights were fantastic, I will not bore you with what we had but I will say that all the ingredients were locally sourced and they were cooked to perfection. Anyone who complains about the food in this hotel must be really hard to please. The hotel itself is perfectly placed for you to enjoy the views, plenty parking, and a great selection of wines and spirits for you to enjoy with your meal and to relax in the lounge afterwards. The hotel is also perfectly placed if you fancied a trip to Whitby or even Scarborough. We took advantage of the dry weather and had a lovely walk down the steep hill onto the beach and a stroll along the wide beach, unfortunately you have to remember that you have to get back up that steep hill!! All in all the 2 days was well worth the trip down to Runswick Bay and we would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anybody, go and enjoy.

Room Tip: If you can try and get an upgrade to a sea view it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindznMue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Booked the Hotel in October as a Christmas present for my wife to mark our wedding anniversary on 22 January 2013. Owing to adverse national weather conditions, we were forced to cancel the trip. Notwithstanding the original booking conditions which I totally understand, we thought perhaps that the trip could be rescheduled, or alternatively a refund/part refund offered.

No discretion whatsoever by the management in this the 21st century - quite simply we lose £139 they gain the same amount for no effort whatsoever - disgusting.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Lovely stay in this hotel.Staff very helpful and made us feel instantly welcome.Room was very comfortable, modern with a superb view from the balcony. We ate twice in the evening and really enjoyed the food. A cut above! For a short weekend break it was excellent and we will return in the summer

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights & were amazed by the views over the bay from our room.
Hotel is easy to find, plenty of parking.
The room was spacious & clean. Staff were pleasant & food excellent.
We will be staying again soon I would hope.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Gray_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights in the Claymore room on a Living Social Deal.
The room was a nice size and we had a balcony (not so good in January) and a telescope!
Staff were attentive and the service was good.
The full Yorkshire Breakfast was delicious, cooked to order, with toast and marmalade.
It was in fact the best hotel breakfast that I have eaten for a while.
The only downside to our stay was the price of the Starters and Main Courses on the Evening Menu. I think more people would have been inclined to dine if the prices had been more reasonable.
Cod, salmon & dill fishcake starter with pickled fennel, curried split peas and mussels £7.50
Soup of the day £5.95
Grilled Gammon Steak, Garden Peas and Hand Cut Chips and Fried Egg £14.95
A Portion of Hand Cut Chips £3.25
Perhaps a cheaper bar meal menu instead of the formal evening menu might be an idea, for guests who really would like something informal.
We did enjoy our stay, nevertheless.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony a must...x
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,047 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
213 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,479 reviews
2.2 mi away
Captain Cook Inn
Captain Cook Inn
#1 of 6 in Staithes
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Property: Cliffemount Hotel
Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing