We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Midweek break”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Midweek break”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Just had a couple of days away at this hotel the room we had was a see view which was wonderful. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was little expensive but was good the next day we walked to Whitby 2 to 3 hour walk and stayed for the day and got the bus back (£3.80) which stops 100 yards from the hotel. Overall a peaceful couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ding1Bradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    128
    55
    43
    23
See reviews for
57
360
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

A good, quality hotel which was good value for money. (We stayed for two nights bed and breakfast, midweek). The double room was adequate and contained all the essentials. It's about 8 miles in to Whitby going through Sandsend and approx 8 miles to Saltburn-by- the Sea in the other direction. Redcar is also nearby - approx 15 -20 miles away.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1 and it was very hot in there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

stayed here recently with my partner and our 3 dogs. Staff were helpful and hotel was clean throughout, however having stayed at other hotels where pets are allowed, we did feel it was overpriced for the size and standard of the room. A king size bed would have been better and maybe justified the £130 per night charge. The bathrobes provided had holes in them and belt loop missing, not a major crisis but when you're paying for these little extras it's attention to small details that counts!
Judging by the guest info print out we received upon arrival we got the feeling this establishment may drop its pets allowed policy which would be a shame as so many other hoteliers seem to manage this service extremely well, providing both guest and pet with a high standard of accommodation for the money they've paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxMaxine68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I am just back from staying a night here with my husband. Hotel is really nice with a lovely relaxing ambiance. Our room was very comfortable and overlooked the bay The staff are really nice and friendly and the foods was excellent. I only wish we had booked up for another night. We will just need to go back another time instead.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a room as you get a lovely view across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jockmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clydebank
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have just returned from a lovely, two night stay at the Cliffemount Hotel. The hotel is situated on a cliff top overlooking Runswick Bay and I was lucky enough to have a bedroom with a balcony which afforded absolutely stunning views across the Bay and out to sea - just amazing! I would deffinitely recommend paying that little bit extra for the balcony with sea views. Our bedroom (Kettleness) was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice but we were out walking most of the time and didn't eat dinner in the hotel.so can't comment. For all those whoi love walking, there is a clearly defined Coastal walk (part of the Cleveland Way) which I would remommend as views are awesome!! We walked from Runswick to Whitby - amazing!! Overall, the ambience of the hotel and the vicinity are excellent and I would return and hope for sunny weather so I could enjoy the views even more!! Well done Cliffemount - a wee gem!!

Room Tip: Go for the Bay view rooms with balcony - views are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponsettia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel i March, unfortunately the weather was doing its' worst and we had snow, freezing temperatures and bitterly cold winds.
Perched on the cliff overlooking Runswick Bay the hotel is in a beautiful position. Our room overlooked the bay and had a small balcony where, if the weather had been better, it would have been lovely to sit with a drink, listening to the sea and having a wonderful panorama.
The hotel itself is very nicely decorated with a bar and restaurant, very friendly owners and beautiful food.
I would definitely like to go again, but this time it would be in warmer weather. Some lovely walks in the surrounding area and not too far from Whitby (approx 7 miles)

Room Tip: We paid a little bit extra to get a larger, sea facing room and it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Cliffemount is a rare gem hidden away in glorious Runswick Bay. Away from the mayhem and excitement of Whitby it is a peaceful, stunning retreat you have to experience to appreciate. Beautifully situated looking out to sea and bay with dominating views and fabulous food you wont want to leave.
Its one of those places that literally takes your breath away... heals and restores. So, as a antidote to Whitby buzz taking the time to venture to this quiet breathtaking spot is worth every moment.

Room Tip: Virtually all the rooms afford the stunning views off cliff to Bay and Sea... Topmans is one of my f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
184 reviews
13.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,187 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Property: Cliffemount Hotel
Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing