We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliffemount Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$142
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$187
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hudsons(Whitby)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
284
147
58
46
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
284
147
58
46
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrunswick baybalcony roompremier roomsea viewcleveland waynorth yorkshire coastcliff topbeer gardenevening mealsmall hotelkipperslovely hotelhotel restaurantfish and chipssmoked salmonopen firerelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We returned to the Cliffemount for our first wedding anniversary, having celebrated our Civil Partnership here, and the whole team was amazing! Everyone takes such good care of you, you never want for anything. The food was incredible (and sizeable - no complaints here!) as always, and three nights felt like three weeks, we were so relaxed. So many people mention it, but the views are incredible, and worth the cost of the room on their own. The rooms are furnished to a high standard, and everything about it is calming. Just being able to fill a bath in 30seconds for an amazing relaxing soak is worth it! We love the dressing gowns as well. It's a nice touch, and makes relaxing on the balcony with a glass of in the evening a little bit special. We will keep coming back, because you never fail to meet our expectations. I don't know how more people haven't found you, but you are an absolute diamond in the rough!

Room Tip: Always go for a balcony room if you can, although Topmans gives a good view too. The food is phenomenal, and although some may consider it pricey, you get what you pay for - and this is worth every penny! Treat yourself to three courses. You won't be sorry.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marthapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just wanted to say a big thank you to Mark, Chef and all at the Cliffemount Hotel. We both were very surprised at the quality of the hotel, food and of the staff's attentiveness. The rooms are tastefully decorated and of a good size. The food is outstanding and well worth the price (which is not expensive) and the views from the hotel are to die for even on a cold wet, very windy day. Shall definitely be staying here again. Debby & Sid May x

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEBSIDMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Booked on a KGB Deal originally for 7th & 8th May but unfortunately due to a car accident on 4th May we were unable to make these date. After contacting the hotel they stated that the dates could not be changed. We were not happy with the reply so we contacted them again later in the day & this time they stated that if we sent a request by E- Mail they could see what they could do. The reply was that if we paid another £20 they could offer a room on 19th & 20th May. Under the circumstances I thought that this was rather mean but accepted as we did wish to loose the holiday. When booking in the owner/manager asked for my credit card for the extra £20 & no mention was made of how we were after the accident. We were then showed up TWO flights of stairs to room 8 which was in the loft area with a sloping ceiling & my partner bumped her head a number of times. Apart from this the room was clean & comfortable with a nice bathroom & shower. The breakfasts were no more than adequate & were advertised as a full Yorkshire, but had no black pudding or beans. We also felt guilty asking for more tea & toast. The meals on an evening seemed very expensive therefore we ate elsewhere. The best part was the location with the most stunning of views over the whole of Runswick Bay. Staithes is also only a few minutes away. I would have given an extra mark if the attitude of the management had been more sympathetic.

Room Tip: Avoid room 8 if you do not want a bumped head.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have just returned from another wonderful stay at the Cliffemount. The staff were very welcoming and remembered me from my previous stay, they were friendly, efficient and professional. The food was really exciting and the "taster menu" was fantastic, again only fresh and local sourced food was served.

My room had a balcony and the views were spectacular, the bed really comfy and the bathroom was lovely, I stayed in one day because of the weather but I enjoyed that as much as going out.

The owners Carole and Ian Rae are happy to help in anyway I.e if you want an earlier breakfast or any problem you may have they are happy to help. Overall I love this hotel a cosy comfy place to stay with the added bonus of the views

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Rectangular plates do not entitle you to double the price and halve the standards.3 tables seated at 8.oopm on a Saturday night should have been the first red flag.Having politely informed the maitre d' of my overcooked steak we(and the entire restaurant plus bar)could hear the "chef" bellow his disagreement like a Marseilles docker.Said maitre d',clearly scared,returns with "chef"'s findings.Time to peel out and cut your losses.It' a shame,really,because the view from the dining room is spectacular,but if they can't even cook a steak properly you could be overlooking the Grand Canyon and still be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank DomBHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews